We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but OK”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tired but OK”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I'm echoing the comments of other travellers. The hotel is OK - not great, not terrible, just OK. It is old and could really do with a re-furb.

My room was tiny but it had a king-size bed forced into it. The bed was very comfortable and given I wasn't spending a lot of time in the room, it was OK for me on my own. Had there been two of us in the room we would have struggled for space. The bathroom was OK - shower in the bath which was slightly temperamental ... but hey, a freezing cold blast of water does wake you up!

I felt the hotel needed a really good spring clean - there wasn't any obvious signs of dirt, just a lot of wear and tear and a bit of dust around bedside cabinets etc.

Yes, its very reasonable for its location - you're very close to Central Park and right on top of the subway. It's also very close to 5th Avenue for the shops.

Would I rush back? Probably not but you can't ignore the cheap rates which does make it an OK option.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ScaryMaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    2,815
    1,693
    598
    381
See reviews for
1,706
2,410
335
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 7 nights, both in our early 30's (oh god that's just depressed me!)

Fantastic location, was close to all the action of Times Sq and the beautiful open spaces of Central Park. Staff at the Hotel were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help especially the door staff who helped us out immensely.

The Room we stayed in was a fair size with a good size bathroom, the view was of an office block but even that to me was great as I just love NY, plus we didn't spend much time in the room at all.

All in all a fantastic experience and I'd book again in a heartbeat if I had the pennies!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Got the hotel at a great price ! Yes the rooms are somewhat dated but everything was very clean. Small fridge and microwave was in the room. New flat screen tv. Great location with Subway below. Staff were very quick at check-in. If they did renovate the room to more modern standards you would probably pay more and considering the little amount of time we spent in the room the great price is what I like. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboyaircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagoner, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

lets just get this out of the way...the bathrooms are very small and not FULL FIGURE friendly. yes a very great location, blocks from times square and central park, plenty of locations for shopping and eating but after your day is done the hotel does not offer anything relaxing! no pop vending machines, you cant get your own ice, cant control your temperature in your room. its either scorching hot or ice cold. when we came to check in in the evening time...wow the staff was SO rude and nasty....like we were inconviencing them by checking in at their hotel! we originally started off in a standard two beds room and the minute we walked in serious claustrophobia set in! the space in this room was HORRIBLE! the bath tub drain did not drain....so while u are taking a shower you are rushing because you don't want the tub to over flow. it was so hot in the room...we ended up opening the window to cool us down. we were told by the night staff that no food places deliver....which was a complete lie! by the time we got in our room we were too tired to complain. next morning...the staff was like night and day...very nice and upgraded us to a suite. which was better room wise but again...if you are full figured do not try to use the toilet! the rooms in general are all very old and in fact in the suite...there are holes in the ground (large ones) that are covered up by carpet....so beware when walking around in your room. the blinds (or if that is what they really are) are so DIRTY and broken. you would think that charging over $200 a night you would take time to clean and fix your blinds. in conclusion, yes location is great but before choosing this hotel PLEASE do your research!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great older Hotel, room was clean, it was little street noise even at the 10th floor( garbage pickup night). Nice central location, walking distance to most places.
Cons, they charged to print boarding pass.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I thought this hotel was great. Yes the rooms are small, it's NYC. It's an older hotel, but well maintained for its age. It's got character. Just what we were looking for NYC experience. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Check in and out easy. Very clean, comfortable beds, lots of hot water, close to everything! I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beachydix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our second time at this hotel. I emailed the hotel a week before asking for a high floor with a nice view, That was just what we got. The room was basic, But you don't come to New York to sit in your room. The only gripe is the bathroom very small... The room was cleaned to a high standard every day & didn't hear any noises from the heating. The café attached to the hotel has very good food, but a few times we couldn't wait in the cue of ten for a seat....Some people have mentioned the prices in the café...I thought it was very reasonable compared to some places .....don't forget your in New York. Would I go back YES.

Room Tip: High floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alltradewindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,961 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,977 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,851 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,212 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing