We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, tiny rooms”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent location, tiny rooms”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The best part about this hotel is that it is on the main street of times square, almost in the middle of central park (3 blocks away 2 min walk) and times square (5 blocks away 3 min walk). It's perfect for a tourist! Very clOse to Columbus circle, beautiful neighborhoods and tons of restaurants on the upper west side and Columbus avenue and of course broadway. Most of the staff is very helpful and prompt. lots of guides etc available. I found it bit steep on pricing but compared to other 5 stars around and for the location it's probably the cheapest and worth it. 1 thing thou - a standard king bedroom is tiny as hell and there's hardly space to walk in the room if you have more than 2 big bags. With 2 people, unless you can stand the person in your face all the time in the room, you rather upgrade to a bigger room. However, I will say most hotels in this area at this price point or even little higher are this tiny only. For a decent sized room you will land up shelling out a lot more. Rooms are very clean thou. Not a bad place to stay at all!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    2,833
    1,704
    602
    384
See reviews for
1,723
2,423
335
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A weekend stay at the Wellington Hotel exceeded all my expectations. Our suite was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. On a busy Friday afternoon at rush hour we valeted the car, checked in and were in our room within 10 minutes.

The beds were extremely comfortable and my friend and I had a great night's sleep. We enjoyed breakfast at the diner on site where the service was fast and professional and the food was very good.

Enough can't be said about the location, convenience and value. Staying at the Wellington Hotel was an excellent experience and I will definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJ611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed at the Wellington hotel on 7th avenue for 4 nights in March and thought it was excellent.
I would have gave it 5 stars but with my room having no kettle and poor wi-fi signal (after paying for it) these were the only poor points.

I requested a room high up with a good view a few weeks before I travelled and was not disappointed when we checked in as the window looked down 7th avenue towards Times Square.

2 minute walk from Central Park and the hop on-hop off bus stop just across the road all the attractions were really easy to get to.

Room was a bit dated, but always clean and fresh towels were supplied every day.

Would stay at the Wellington again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 2239 has great views down 7th avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was a little worried about staying at the "welly" (as we so fondly called it), because i had read so many bad reviews. I knew that it was a great location and price but I was expecting the rooms to be BAD. I was very wrong! This is an older "art deco" hotel and the rooms have character and were clean, had comfy beds with lovely crisp sheets, plenty of fresh towels and lots of soap, shampoo and lotion in the bathroom. Really, What more do you need? The staff at the Welly were wonderful. They were very professional, helpful and courteous. The only thing i would mention is the heating is noisy which might be a problem if you are a light sleeper. If you like to make coffee in your room, there is no coffee pot, but there's a Starbucks right across the street or room service.The Welly is not the ritz but an affordable, charming hotel in a very convenient location in NYC. Overall, I throughly enjoyed staying at the Welly and I wouldn't hesitate to to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are a few different "towers" to this hotel. The tower that has 13 floors is pretty q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in March which has been quite cold but out rooms were always very warm which has been lovely!! Even if the radiators do make huge amounts of noise and regularly woke us up ( we are from London and can sleep through pretty much anything but those things are loud!!) the bathroom was small but perfect and our room was huge! We had a massive very comfortable bed and a huge sitting area .. Which wasn't really used but the idea of large room for your money is nice!! I had requested a room on a high floor for the views however was given a room on the second floor with NO natural light. That's why I rated this place 4/5, no hotel should have rooms regardless of how large, with no natural light. There were lots of lamps in the room which just really shows they knew about the light issue ..
The girls at reception and porters were all lovely and helpful. You do have to pay for wifi access which is .. Unusual in hotels these days but luckily we were only charged once (you have to pay per device, iPhone/iPad let person seperately!)

The room was very comfortable and lovely to relax in after a long day walking around the city. Not super modern but that is part of the charm!! The staff have been lovely and the location has been superb!! Couldn't ask for a better location in NYC!!

Overall a few gripes but nothing less than 4/5 stars!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisinpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay in New York.
We are travel agents at home anyway and regularly use this hotel for our New York passengers especially those doing a pre-cruise stay.
The main selling point of this hotel is without a doubt its location, in my opinion you cannot get better, all major attractions are right on the doorstep, Central Park a 3 minute walk as you turn right out of the hotel, Times Square a 5 minute walk to the left. Radio City and Rockerfella Centre 5 minutes walk behind the hotel. Hop on/Hop off bus stop is literally across the road from the hotel also which is an added bonus.
Lets face it, your in New York, you are out sight seeing and eat out, when you get back its bed and shower and off out again, so this hotel serves a purpose. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on floor 26 but we did see the standard rooms and all are very clean and well appointed. The hotel is decorated in an older style but this to us just added to the overall atmosphere of the New York experience.
The staff at the hotel were very polite, friendly and helpful, concierge were brilliant and answered any queries we had.
Relating to previous posts regarding the lifts/elevators, we really didnt see any problems, the service probably appears slow as you are more than likely going up more floors than ever before, wouldn't say it was slow at all, in my opinion people are just finding fault for no reason.
The diner within the hotel is another added selling point, we tried a few around the hotel including this one and this was by far the cheapest and also the nicest. Try the pancakes in a morning....gorgeous! Again staff friendly and service good.
We really loved this hotel, an excellent base for a stay in New York, reasonably priced, lovely comfy beds and an excellent location....what more do you want?
Only thing that would be nice would be a tea and coffee making facility in the room but far better to get out and about and have it by the jug load in the diners.
Don't worry about booking this hotel and some of the reviews you read on here, its great....book it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view, the hotel are very accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacksmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Wellington is in a fantastic location, several good local restaurants. It is older, but great beds and fantastic bathroom showers.....you can nearly drown with water pressure....a great NYC wake up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,467 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing