We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and comfortable rooms”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #328 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from 5 days sightseeing in New York and our first trip to the USA.
We had been recommended a suite and this was perfect considering we had 2 teenage daughters to consider. Clean rooms,comfy beds and maid service was excellent. Concierge was great fun and saved us loads of time with his advice.
Heating pipes gave a knocking noise which needs sorting out as it could drive you batty because it goes on even if you turn the radiator off. I knew it was the same because you could hear the same noise in the staircase. Glad my earplugs are always packed for such cases. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,308 - 2,314 of 7,140 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After being sent to New York for ten days with work with just a week's notice I needed something cheap, convenient and respectable. In this the Wellington ticks all boxes.

The staff were at typical US friendly but on occasions went beyond the call. This is nice when you are somewhere for a while. The location is perfect and there is a good breakfast diner in the ground floor.

The entrance hall is grand and the rooms have that feel. They are tired though. Many years of tarting up without a gutting. You pay for what you get though and there are no complaints. It is spotless. I was by myself being on work and the room was small. No problem for me but might be challenging for a couple in a longer stay.

There is the possibility I will be back to New York in May and I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel..amazing views,fantastic service and lovely rooms. The staff are very helpful and polite and we would definitely stay here again. Our room had a brilliant view of Times Square and it is so near everything

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As anyone who reads my reviews knows, I'm an avid user of Priceline to book hotel stays, and this property was my most recent win. That said the hotel was not the worst but fart from the best that I've stayed in in NYC. The experience was not worth the amount I paid.

The room was small, but liveable, with a great view. However, it was clean. The air conditioning / heating unit was extraordinarily loud; enough to be disturbing, though it had very little effect in making the room comfortable. The alternative - opening the rooms 3 windows. Not that it bothered me too much, but the cable connection completely died out twice during our stay.

The location of the room was great and near many - but very expensive restaurants. Though this is what you expect in many Midtown NYC areas. It's also very near the the N,Q, R train which was useful to my partner and I.

You're probably reading this thinking that it doesn't sound too bad...which it wasn't, but what ultimately prevented me from giving this hotel a 3-4 rating, was the service. I can't say that I met one great example of customer service. I found all of the desk agents to fall in a range from stoic to downright rude. At one point, my key didn't work and the agent told me that it had to be because I was trying to enter the wrong room...turns out the agent before him had made my key for the wrong room. Everyone's tone was rude and unfriendly. The nicest person I met - the Valet that hailed a cab upon my leaving.

I hope that Priceline never gives me this hotel again, but more importantly I'd say...DON"T PAY FULL PRICE TO COME HERE. It's not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a corner or with a view. It'll help make up for the poor service and loud unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisla2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just stayed there with my daughter. Location was great!! About 10 min walk to times square and a few minutes from central park. Carnegie deli across the street (diagonal). Room was small but very clean. Only complaint about the room was you couldn't control the heat, it was always on. Thankfully we were able to open 3 windows a little bit. A small coffee maker would have been great but otherwise we were very comfortable. It was quiet and our room service came quickly and was delicious. They kept out bags while we went out to see the sites before check in and even after we checked out. The doormen were extremely pleasant as was the staff at reception. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book in advance thru hotels.com and save 20%. Request a higher floor with a view and you are likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a budget friendly hotel...One reviewer mentioned no coffee, tea in room, well our room had a kitchenette. I travel with my Dad a lot and we were pleasantly surprised that the bedrooms were separate...It' NOT the Waldorf people...it's a great place to stay allowing one to have extra money for show tickets, dining, etc. We ate in the Diner @ the Wellington several times and the food is wonderful, hearty servings too! We like a kitchenette because we like to drink coffee on our own dine instead of the $3.50/cup with NO refills that are commonplace in NYC...We also like too keep juice and snacks in our rooms too...The location is great and there is a subway stop just around the corner....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodlollipop75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel itself is located perfectly in the city of New York. It's easy to get to all the main places to see within New York. The hotel was clean and the rooms are spacious and lovely. The staff at the hotel are friendly and welcoming and extremely helpful. There was only one negative aspect of the Wellington hotel and that was the fact that wifi was not free and was fairly expensive, in this day and age I feel wifi is something that should be free or if not, then reasonable. Apart from that I would recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,931 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#355 of 471 in New York City
4,496 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £54 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing