We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Came to NYC to get married and chose the Hotel Wellington based on its location. We had read the reviews and read the rooms were small. That is an understatement. The bathrooms are so small you have to squeeze between the toilet and sink to get in the tub.
Next, the cable/satellite was poor. It's sad when you're in a restaurant and the television service is so poor you can barely make out the station.
But, worst of all, customer service. The night we were married we went back to our hotel room with a bottle of champagne. We had to ask for an ice bucket because they didn't have one in the room. We only had one glass, went down to get one and was told house keeping would bring them. They did. But, after pouring champagne in the glasses we had a knock on the door! It was house keeping demanding we give the glasses back!!!! She told us, "you need to give them back". Seriously?!?! I ended up closing the door on her. Called down to the front desk and got "Jim" the manager. He did apologize but then said, "this is so stupid it's funny". I said, no. We just got married! He told me to have a nice night. I said, after that? You kinda ruined it! No apology. Nothing. Will never stay there again. Ever!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valhorsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    2,839
    1,709
    602
    384
See reviews for
1,731
2,424
335
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very pleasantly surprised with Wellington!
Location could not be beat. Halfway between Times Square and Central Park. PERFECT!
Room was average for NYC, small, but clean and comfortable.
Staff was excellent.

I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in great location every where close to the park,times square,FAO,restaurants etc.Wellington has a huge rooms for families but unfortunately with broken furnitures,very dirty and terribly dirty windows.Some of the Concierge stuff are very rude (count his tips earn for the whole day in front of hotel guests)and not helpful with the language despite plenty of stairs.I booked my stay with Expedia and the photos were much nicer than is in real.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haidik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from 5 days sightseeing in New York and our first trip to the USA.
We had been recommended a suite and this was perfect considering we had 2 teenage daughters to consider. Clean rooms,comfy beds and maid service was excellent. Concierge was great fun and saved us loads of time with his advice.
Heating pipes gave a knocking noise which needs sorting out as it could drive you batty because it goes on even if you turn the radiator off. I knew it was the same because you could hear the same noise in the staircase. Glad my earplugs are always packed for such cases. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After being sent to New York for ten days with work with just a week's notice I needed something cheap, convenient and respectable. In this the Wellington ticks all boxes.

The staff were at typical US friendly but on occasions went beyond the call. This is nice when you are somewhere for a while. The location is perfect and there is a good breakfast diner in the ground floor.

The entrance hall is grand and the rooms have that feel. They are tired though. Many years of tarting up without a gutting. You pay for what you get though and there are no complaints. It is spotless. I was by myself being on work and the room was small. No problem for me but might be challenging for a couple in a longer stay.

There is the possibility I will be back to New York in May and I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel..amazing views,fantastic service and lovely rooms. The staff are very helpful and polite and we would definitely stay here again. Our room had a brilliant view of Times Square and it is so near everything

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As anyone who reads my reviews knows, I'm an avid user of Priceline to book hotel stays, and this property was my most recent win. That said the hotel was not the worst but fart from the best that I've stayed in in NYC. The experience was not worth the amount I paid.

The room was small, but liveable, with a great view. However, it was clean. The air conditioning / heating unit was extraordinarily loud; enough to be disturbing, though it had very little effect in making the room comfortable. The alternative - opening the rooms 3 windows. Not that it bothered me too much, but the cable connection completely died out twice during our stay.

The location of the room was great and near many - but very expensive restaurants. Though this is what you expect in many Midtown NYC areas. It's also very near the the N,Q, R train which was useful to my partner and I.

You're probably reading this thinking that it doesn't sound too bad...which it wasn't, but what ultimately prevented me from giving this hotel a 3-4 rating, was the service. I can't say that I met one great example of customer service. I found all of the desk agents to fall in a range from stoic to downright rude. At one point, my key didn't work and the agent told me that it had to be because I was trying to enter the wrong room...turns out the agent before him had made my key for the wrong room. Everyone's tone was rude and unfriendly. The nicest person I met - the Valet that hailed a cab upon my leaving.

I hope that Priceline never gives me this hotel again, but more importantly I'd say...DON"T PAY FULL PRICE TO COME HERE. It's not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a corner or with a view. It'll help make up for the poor service and loud unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisla2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,093 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,562 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,814 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 468 in New York City
9,339 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 468 in New York City
6,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing