We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip to NYC”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip to NYC”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I traveled to NYC last week for a bachelorette party. There were 11 women, myself included, and we chose the Wellington. The stay was perfect! Check in was a breeze, they upgraded our rooms to newly renovated suites and everyone there was very friendly! The noise level was not bad. The only issue I saw was the elevators were tiny and very slow. Other than that it was great! The location was AMAZING!! When you walk out of the hotel...to the left was Central Park and the right was Times Square. Couldn't have asked for a better location. I will definitely be staying here again!!

Room Tip: At check in ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    2,873
    1,737
    608
    389
See reviews for
1,770
2,448
343
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You don't want to set your bare foot on the floor of your room in that hotel as it;s very dirty. You're afraid of using the bathroom as you are afraid to get infection that's how dirty it is. You see that it's not right from the moment you enter the hotel, but you see how really bad it is when you enter your room. The condition is so bad that it dos not matter how they try to clean it (if they try at all) -- it can't be cleaned to be clean, as the carpet is very old and everything else is very old and dirty. Stay away from that hotel as far as you can!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alloverNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Basic hotel but in a great location to explore the sites of the city, Times Square is just a short walk, Central Park is very near, and radio city is also very walkable.
A hotel which is has history but just adds to the interest of the area.
Fantastic value for money especially being so close to everywhere we wanted to go.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lakden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Cant fault this hotel at all, first time to New York and is in an ideal place, 2 minutes from Central park and Times square. Subway right at the door. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed on the 23rd floor, was for my 40th birthday and they upgraded us from a room to a suite and gave me a goody bag with wine, photo frame, keyring and bottle opener, very thoughtful. Had read on here before going about the noise, the heating did come on quite noisy early in the morning, but we were so tired it didn't bother us at all. Didn't need to wait long for the lift and the room was cleaned every day. The Park café was great too, we had breakfast one day and dinner one day, very generous portions with reasonable prices. Had room service the last day. Loved every minute and planning to go back next year. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in amongst it all and easy access to all the sights and shopping.

Room Tip: My boyfriend emailed the hotel before we went to tell them it was for my birthday and could we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moline, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent the weekend in Manhattan with a friend and was very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is located close to Central Park, next to Carnegie Hall, and on the same avenue as Times Square. We used the Greyline Hop on Hop Off tours that picked up and dropped off nearby. The rooms are small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, but I am told that is not unusual for New York City. The staff was very friendly and there is Greek restaurant in the building. There is also a very nice diner in the building where we ate breakfast. The only complaint is a rattle in the bathroom pipes every morning, I didn't need an alarm clock! We will most likely stay at the Wellington on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great hotel, with wonderful location, near everything that matters. Price is fair and facilities include comfortable room, great bathroom and fast internet connection. Definetely would recommend. Although I stayed there before I had my child, my memory is that room was comfortable enough to have a crib.

Room Tip: No need to pay for breakfast. Nearby restaurants are much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roanoke
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed there over spring break with a group of teachers. The rooms are small but clean. My roommate asked me if I heard the construction going on outside at 12 am and I didn't, slept through all that noise. No noisy neighbors overall pretty quiet inside the hotel. The bell hop to room service excellent. Room was cleaned daily. It is located in the middle of everything you need to explore from walking, subway access and taxi service. It

Room Tip: There is some clanging of the pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracemae59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,629 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,063 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing