We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #327 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was at Wellington hotel June 2014. Although old the rooms were clean. We were in a 2 double bed bedroom and I found it a bit small for 2 beds. Location is amazing! Front desk responded quickly to every need. Attendants are well presented and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 6,976 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel in the heart of New york is unassuming from outside. It has a very classic old world feel right from the reception. One minute you are in the midst of the hussle bussle of near by Times square, the other minute in the cosy old world charm.
Ver conveniently located for business, leisure or shopping. Walking distance from all tha major attractions mid town has to offer.
Rooms are spacious and provied host of facilities. Some rooms provide great views. I was at the top most floor and on all sides had good street or park views.
Staff is very professional and business like. wont bother you for things you are not interested.
All in all a classic wonder in the midst of busy new york.

Room Tip: Avoid newly painted rooms, the smell lingers on especially if it rains outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevRaji_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Long black hairs on bed, in bathroom.
Musty smell from incredibly old carpets.
Aircon best left alone.
Got unpleasant infection, probably from contaminated towel.
The prime location won't compensate for all the above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Check-in took less than 5 minutes, had e-mailed ahead asking for a view over 7th Ave but was told on arrival that non were available, however there would be the following morning and it was no problem if we wanted to move. However as we had SOL crown tickets booked for early the next day, decided to leave it and in any case you only have to step outside the hotel to get the buzz of New York, Central Park to the right, Times Square to the left and a subway station literally outside the door.

So our room was in the "East Wing" with a view of erm..... other windows! but as we only slept there it didn't matter, being at the back of the hotel it was quiet, clean and perfect for what we needed. OK so it was a bit tired looking, but everything worked and all the staff we came across were polite and helpful.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all as there are so many delis etc in the area and just grabbed lunch on the go from one of the street carts that took our fancy at the time. All in all a good hotel in a great location, perfect for a few nights in this amazing city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOWDIE187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My second stay at the Wellington, and the primary reason I came back was because of the LOCATION and rate. Unless you are coming to NY to STAY IN THE HOTEL MOST OF THE TIME, most any hotel at this level will do. Location is PRIME, 5 minutes either way to Central Park or Times SQ. The subway is RIGHT by the side door of the hotel, and you can pivot to most any where in Manhattan from here. It is a little older but I prefer to view it as eccentric. The wood floors in our room creaked a little bit but that kind of added to the charm, got the feel of a European hotel in London or Paris. Lobby is good and has the old world charm. If you can get a good rate, this hotel is an excellent choice for proximity to Times Sq, Broadway, Central Park
and one block from Carnegie Hall. Go ahead and book it, don't be frightened by some of the harsher reviews you might read about. Lots of places to eat nearby and the range from cheap to moderate prices. You'll like it.

Room Tip: If a suite is available at the same price, get it. They upgraded us for no additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmaFlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: staff was very friendly
Good location
Reasonable price
Room was recent size

Cons: hotel smells musty and old
Air didn't work, though they did replace the unit
Outlet plugs were so old they were barely useable, wouldn't even keep the plug plugged in
Toilet ran continuously
Cafe attached to hotel was unreasonably high, much cheaper choices nearby
Room was very outdated

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my second visit to New York, returning to the Wellington based upon one main factor- location! A five minute walk to central park one way, and a five minute walk to Times Square the other, this is the perfect base if you are intending on exploring Manhattan, plus its comfortable, clean and friendly enough for a longer stay.

We stayed for 5 nights, and were really grateful at being upgraded to a larger twin room, with 2 double beds, loads of wardrobe space and a good sized en-suite. We had a room at the side of the hotel, overlooking a street as opposed to 7th Avenue, and in relation to my last stay, this was much quieter.

The hotel provides a safe for guests, however these are kept behind the reception desk, but staff were very helpful and professional when dealing with this. Our room was cleaned and tidied everyday and considering it is located in such a buzzing part of the city, the hotel was calm and quiet- which, given that we had such a busy trip, was actually lovely!

This is a brilliant hotel to stay in if you are looking for a comfortable base during a busy trip to NYC; it isn't overly luxurious, but for somewhere to sleep and recharge the batteries, this is a good hotel and great value for money considering the fantastic location!

Room Tip: Being in such a busy location, ask for a higher room on the street side as opposed to over looking 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 469 in New York City
4,804 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,269 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £94 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing