We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location location”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed twice now at this Hotel, once on business and another time with family of 4. This hotel is priced very competitively considering it's location is just minutes away from Times squire and Central Park, although the hotel decor looks tied and good do with a revamp, don't let that put you off. Great location, and great price. Greek restaurant below is also worth a visit if you like Mediterranean food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skimpyAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    2,834
    1,706
    602
    384
See reviews for
1,726
2,423
335
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here recently as part of a group trip. Our group (a theatre school group from the Western US) was primarily in NYC so that we could experience Broadway, etc. The location of the Wellington was ideal. We also really appreciated that we could have breakfast in our room since the room had a fridge and Electric Kettle. Room size was surprisingly large for NYC. Plenty of elevator space. Shower took a while to warm up but then had great water pressure. Shower liner was too short for our tub so we ended up flooding the floor pretty regularly - oops.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Before setting off for New York I contacted the hotel to see if we could get a room on a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise. Whilst they didn't promise anything when we arrived we found we had a room on the 27th floor! The views from the room were great.
The room was clean and tidy, room service was good although the blind we reported as faulty was never fixed.
The hotelnis in an excellent location, just 10 minutes walk from Times Square in one direction and 5 minutes from Central Park in the other.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 nights, in the oldest part of the hotel. There are stairs that you must use to get to the old elevators. The both elevators had issues, sometimes the door would not open once you were at your floor - we were told to push the alarm button and the floor number button and sure enough the door opened. A lady riding the elevator with us started to panic and because there was not a fan circulating air it was a little warm. An electrical breaker blew in our room because of the blow dryer and a/c on the same circuit - the maintenance fellow was speedy at fixing it and blamed it on old wiring. The walls surrounding electrical outlets were very soft (moisture), plugging in anything caused the outlet to move. The bedding and towels were very clean, the carpet was stained, dust bunnies along the baseboards - could have been cleaner, room smelled old also, sheer curtains were filthy. I don't think I would stay there again as Wifi was not included and we had to upgrade to a king bed from a double for $20.00 per night.

Room Tip: Book the highest floor possible as street noise is constant. We stayed on the 12th floor on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Having seen a few other comments about noise, we asked for and got a room on the 20th floor. Our room was actually a 2 bedroom 'suite' with 2 bathrooms (a very welcome bonus we hadn't expected). The rooms were very clean and with comfy beds. As someone else mentioned, the hotel is being renovated and work was being done on our floor whilst we were there but we didn't find this intrusive. Our bathrooms were modern-looking so we probably had one of the newly renovated rooms.

Location couldn't be better - one block from Broadway, with a subway outside the door and Central Park 5 minutes walk away it was perfect for getting around. Times Square was a few blocks walk down 7th Ave, near enough to get to the centre of things quickly but far enough away from the noise.

Plenty of places to get breakfast and dinner close by - and the best coffee stand in New York right across the road on the corner of 55th St! We would book again if we go back to New York

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 88JOW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Little dated but that added character to the place was clean and tidy and definitely no construction going none that we could see . Fantastic location very close to Central Park, five minute walk to Times Square Broadway not far either,subways very close too ,an excellent base to stay at due to location being close to many iconic attractions would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Location is excellent, quality of accommodation is excellent, staff very helpful. I was staying as a single, but had a separate sitting room with additional sleeping facilities (I didn't use it). Not much of a view: this didn't matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,496 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 468 in New York City
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing