We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth going back”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #325 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 15 April 2009

mary,joan,teresa,tilly.
Co. Meath Ireland
Stayed at wellington for 5 nights perfect location for sight seeing found majoriyy of staff very friendly needed extra towels got them immediately. Reception staff were great as were the porters room service was excellent serviced every day, bar staff not as friendly found the barlady very rude but that would'nt stop us going back. All four of us shared a room and there was plenty of hot water for showers no stopper for the bath though but that was'nt a problem. Plenty of nice places to eat The Oldcastle Pub very good and reasonably priced. When we go back we would definitely stay here good location and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matilda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,934)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,052 - 4,058 of 6,934 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

After reading some of the reveiws on here, my Fiance and I were more than dubious about booking with this hotel. We were going to celebrate both of our birthdays. I have to speak honestly, what a fantastic hotel. You couldnt choose better. We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly doorman, our room wasnt ready but the bellman put our cases in storage and we were told that they would take them to our room when it was ready. We were given our room key, so we decided to walk around New York and get our bearings. Came back a few hours later, to a very clean and well presented room. TGrue to their word our cases were in the closet. The maid came in every day on our 4 day stay and cleaned the room, changed the sheets and put more shampoo and hand lotion in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and more than helpful. We were told we could charge our ipods free, just plug them into the computers downstairs and they would charge up. Same goes for your camera's if you need to charge them up remember to take your lead, we didnt :-((.
The hotel is in such a great position, great location easy walking distance for most of the main sightseeing atttractions, Central park is to the right of the hotel and Times Square to the left. Broadway just one avenue across. Really you wont go far wrong in booking this hotel.
The doorman (JUDD) was that helpful with the return journey to the JFK airport we got a limo for 55$.
We plan to revisit for our honeymoon in 2010. Definately coming back to this hotel.
Sightseeing advice, Top of the Rocks is awesome book a sunset ticket if you can. This attraction is far better in our view than The Empire State Building. If you want to do the Empire, then our advice is to book the fast track tickets, we didnt know about them and honestly waited for three hours before getting to the top. Lifts broken and long ques to walk up 6 flights of stairs. Nightmare really. Dont pay the extra to go to the 102 floor, it really isnt worth it. Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island is a must, pay for the audio tour if you can. It really does emphasise what the immigrants had to go through to get into the US. Central Park is everything you see on the films. Take a rickshaw bike ride, the guy we had through Central Park, pointed out lots of interesting things, Where John Lennon was shot, where Yoko Ono now lives, Where Maralyn Monroe was found dead. All sounds a bit depressing, but we found it interesting.
Shopping if you can fit it all in is brilliant. We had a great mix of both and got to do all the places we planned. All in all a fabulous city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed 3 nights with my two Sisters in law. Our first trip without our small children or husbands. Loved being able to pop in and out of the hotel, as it was so close to many tourist locations we were visiting. LOVED the view from our 25th floor window, especially at night. Could see the lights from Times Square from where my head lay on the pillow, only a few blocks away, no street noise to keep us awake. Very clean, super quiet, extra towels brought up immediately, GREAT SHOWER PRESSURE & TEMPERATURE. In my opinion, the best shower I've ever had in a hotel. Never feeling clean sure can ruin a vacation. This was awesome! It is diagonal from Carnegie Deli, across a side street from Fluffy's cafe, practically the same building as Carnegie Hall, just out the door and to the right. Subway location at the bottom of the steps, just outside of the gift shop. Elevators were a bit old and small, but never had to wait for one like I have at other hotels. The front desk and staff were exceptionally nice, got me checked in around 1:00 even though check in time isn't until 3:00 & the room wasn't even in my name! All around a GREAT experience. WIll stay there time and time again. Can't wait to take another trip!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudraLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Checked in by a friendly girl with the same last name as me! We were given an upgrade from a Standard to a King on the 11th floor. Taken upstairs, with our bags by a very nice, friendly and helpful porter (David?).

Unfortunately, the room reeked of stale smoke and we wanted a non-smoking room. As soon as we voiced this David was on the phone to the front desk and immediately and we were moved to a very nice King room on the 6th floor. The bed was very comfortable and there was no noise from the heater, which did work perfectly. Also no complaints with the hot water. Lot's of it for a bath and showers.

Everyone at the Wellington was friendly and helpful and I have no complaints at all. You can't beat the price and the location is the best so far, on this my fourth visit to New York. I'll definitely be back to New York and the Wellington Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My mother and I were a little worried about the hotel. We got a really great deal on expedia for four nights, so we booked. It's only after reading some reviews on the internet that we started to wonder what kind of place this was going to be, our worries certainly weren't founded. Okay so here is the deal: our room was on the fourth floor and they had just renovated it! We weren't expecting a presidential suite, we did not get one either, it was just a small, cozy, clean room for the both of us. Here is the thing, you aren't staying there for the room, you are staying there for the city.
The only thing my mother and I disliked was the elevators, those darn things! One of them was broken, so they had two in service, but those two only came to our floor like once every ten minutes, we actually preferred using the stairs, so good luck to you if you are one the 20th floor!
All in all we loved this hotel, it was a five minute walk to Times Square, a fifteen minute walk to Rock. Center and the Disney store, not to mention the library, and any theater on broadway. We strongly recommend you go there on your next trip, unless you are like super rich or something.

Stayed: March 2009
Thank Vacalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We had a strange experience at this hotel. We booked through Lastminute.com for a one-bed suite and a standard double room but when we got there were told that they didn’t have our rooms. After some argument with the night manager they agreed to temporarily give us three rooms (there were five of us). The next morning, the day manager was extremely apologetic and offered us a room upgrade, plus a free breakfast, as an apology for the inconvenience. Strangely, at reception we overheard someone else, who had also booked through Lastminute complaining of exactly the same problem (except that he’d been put in a different hotel for his first night).

Anyway, the result is that we saw both the budget and more luxurious parts of the hotel – the hotel appears to want to cater to both markets. On to the rooms. Our first room was a standard double and pretty miserable. It was very small (I’m 6ft 3in and kept bumping into things), hadn’t been cleaned properly and the fixtures were old and a bit tired. Our second room (let’s call it the apology room) was a king size double and was completely different – spotlessly clean, very big and very pleasant. My in-laws’ suite was also immaculate and very comfortable. So our experience was that both the accommodation and the level of service were superior in the luxury rooms.

The hotel’s location was perfect – a ten-minute walk from Times Square, Broadway, Central Park, the Rockefeller Centre. Its diner was quite pleasant and had a reassuringly American feel, and the nearby Carnegie Deli is also worth a visit (although its massive portions made for quite an expensive breakfast).

I would give the Wellington Hotel a qualified recommendation. The location is amazing, and the prices very good, but our standard room on the first night (and the argument required to get it) were rather unpleasant and I would suggest getting an upgraded room if you can afford it.

(The ratings I give are based on our second room - those for the standard room would be significantly lower).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POBSOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We were a group of six, including 2 teenagers staying for a week from 2nd April. This was our third visit and our friends first. Although we arrived 3 hours before check in,our friends room was ready on arrival. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and kindly stowed our luggage in our room until it was ready. An added bonus was that we all got upgraded rooms. We got a very large suite with bags of room and dual aspect windows, and no noisy radiators, ideal for a family with teens. The only problem of too few towels was resolved immediately. We found the hotel staff friendly throughout our stay. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but it's got art deco character and is set in a brilliant location, with Central Park, Times Square, 5th Ave shopping and Empire State Building all within walking distance.
There are lots of good delis to choose from for breakfast, lunch or dinner, we used the Park Cafe (set in the hotel) for breakfast, Fluffys down the road for a quick coffee stop and were spoiled for choice for dinner. I would recomend the Cancun Mexican restaurant near Columbus Circle for dinner. To see the sights, use the tour buses, but to get around New York quickly and safely, we would recomend getting a $7-50 metro card which gives you unlimited travel for the day. Roger, in the hotel shop is very helpful and informative about New York . We would also recomend flynig BA, the service couldn't be better, plus we all got upgraded seats on our return journey. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing