We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disney Vacation Club members - be warned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #191 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disney Vacation Club members - be warned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

my husband and I decided to take a weekend in New York City Manhattan. We live in Astoria New York which is 1.2 miles from where this hotel is located.

my first impressions of the hotel is that is centrally located. I have stayed in numerous hotels in Manhattan but nothing as big as this. This hotel room is bigger than my apartment. as a Disney Vacation Club member we are assigned un renovated room. Despite that, the room is a nice, spacious area where it easily sleeps 5. location is key.this place is great as far as location.

when housekeeping wasn't consistent with the number of towels placed in the room, upon a call to the front desk, it was resolved within one minute. Impressive! Thank you Christina. Recommend this hotel for the amount of space and excellent service!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshLoveMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at The Manhattan Club. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, our hotel’s convenient location, and the efficiency of our front desk personnel. Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    519
    131
    61
    68
See reviews for
471
419
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

travel with family from FL to NYC, book this hotel in last minute. We are very happy with the price we got. The hotel is total worth what we paid for. It is luxury hotel, very convenient and comfortable. Big bed, wifi in room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review of The Manhattan Club. We could not be happier to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our pleasure to provide guests with top-notch service and comfortable accommodations to ensure a wonderful experience. The next time you are visiting New York City we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was pure luxury for us and our two teenage kids. A private bedroom with king size bed and a living room with a pull-out sofa were great. Two bathrooms with excellent facilities. Two TV's. Wi-Fi in the room. A kitchenette with a dining table for four. The location was superb and the staff were always polite and courteous. The hotel even provides complimentary tea,coffee and cookies for guests between 12 and 4 pm each day. This was a gem and there is no other place we would stay if we return to New York City. We were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Higher floors have been refurbished e.g. Floors 22 -26
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
What a truly lovely review, thank you. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Manhattan Club. We’re delighted that our spacious accommodations, our amenities, and our staff all helped to create a great experience for you. We hope your return visit will be soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a wonderful trip organized by my mom & three kids and one of the sweetest parts was the Manhattan Club. So close to everything, just a walk to the theather & times square. My husband even had his own bathroom! We had a kitchenette, televison in the bedroom as well as the living area which helped as my husband had a terrible cold & had to leave the bedroom at night for coughing fits that lasted a while. Our only problem was the elevators were slow & we were shown the ropes by people who had stayed there previously that we should use the employee elevators at cetrain times. like arounfd 11:00 am, check out time. The staff was wonderful and beyond helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th flloor at the end of the hall in room 1216 so quite but near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripletvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experiences at The Manhattan Club. Our hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan and provides easy access to all the great entertainment and dining options available in NYC. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us; we hope your husband is feeling better. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
299 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been to this hotel quite a few times- before the renovations and after. They have done a very nice job finishing the updates.

The rooms are bright, and large! You cannot get a room this large at MOST of the major hotels. When you walk in, you realize the expanse of the place. The kitchenette is lovely and has everything you would expect. The fridge is a nice size, and doesn't have all the chocolates and drinks that they can charge you for. Just a nice open fridge to put your leftovers in.

The bed was big, new and extremely comfortable. Plenty of room on both sides for your luggage. The bathrooms were updated and clean. I would feel comfortable taking a shower there, compared to other hotels I have stayed at.

The staff was pleasant and friendly. The concierges( 3) go out of their way to make sure you go where you want, and bend over backwards to help.

All in all, a very nice place to stay right off central park across from Carnegie Hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in the city. We are delighted that the spaciousness of our rooms, our staff’s friendly and helpful demeanor, and our convenient location all helped to make your stay memorable. Your continued loyalty is sincerely appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Don't EVER fall for the Manhattan Club "bait & switch" invitation for hotel/tickets to show in return for listening to their presentation to sell a time share!

My husband and I thought it would be a lovely way to celebrate a significant birthday and even bought our own theatre tickets because we wanted to see a more expensive show than those on their list (they gave us in return 2-$200 credit cards.)

I will say that the downstair hotel staff was cordial and attentive.

The sales staff we met, however, was another story.

They are hard-sell, rude, and ruthless. We spent two hours politely listening to a lovely woman tell us why we should decide that very day to buy into their time shares even though we told her repeatedly we would not make that kind of decision that quickly. Finally, she brought in her "manager" brought in to "close" the deal. This brusque, harrassed young woman icily hammered us over and over with the same data and all the same questions the first salesperson had just done for 2 hours.

She challenged me again and again when I said we were not going to make any kind of decision that day. Finally, feeling trapped and desperate, I told her that I was feeling pressured and she needed to stop. At that, she jumped up angrily and when I tried to thank them for their time, she rudely cut me off, and flew out the door without a thank-you for listening or anything else.

Then we were given a long, narrow, dark and dingy room by an elevator. The couch had stains on it and it was depressing just to be there. (The bed and linens however, were okay.)

This horrible experience absolutely ruined one of our rare trips to NYC and it will take a long time to get over the unpleasantness and feelings of humiliation heaped upon us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank henry05841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
It is our desire that each guest feels welcomed and can experience the high-level of professionalism that we strive to provide our guests. We thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We are disappointed to learn your experiences were not as you had hoped and we truly regret any inconvenience; your comments will be shared with our management team. We offer our apologies and hope that one day we can welcome you back and provide you with an experience that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a timeshare hotel so many of the rooms are taken by timeshare guests. Check in was fine. On entering our room however we were hit by the smell of stale cigarette smoke mixed with air freshener. We immediately called down to reception to complain (it is allegedly a non-smoking hotel) and ask for a different room. We were told the hotel was full and offered housekeeping to come and spray, which we declined as the smell was already bad enough. The receptionist then said we might be able to change rooms the following day but this could not be guaranteed, he also offered us a free breakfast but as we were with 4 other people we didn't take this up. In addition to the awful smell, the room was extremely shabby, dark and narrow, with stained carpets and a very dated, tired decor. The hotel-wide wifi did not work in the room. The bathroom however, was very spacious. The room overlooked the main road and the traffic noises were clearly audible despite the room being on the 15th floor (no double glazing). The following morning, we were at reception before 8am and were told that they still didn't know if a room would be available, and wouldn't know until about 11am and that as we were gong out for the morning we would have to pack our bags and leave them with the concierge as we couldn't leave them in the room. So we packed our bags and left them with the concierge (who we then felt obliged to tip, so at least he benefitted). On returning to the hotel we were given the keys to another room (which we were told was the only free one) on the 14th floor. On entering this one we wondered what the loud buzzing noise was. Turning off the aircon did not make any difference. Looking out of the window we found we were one floor directly above what looked like the aircon outlet fans for the entire hotel! The wifi also did not work here. We immediately called reception...again! This time we were told that they thought the problem had been the smell, not noise! Despite having told us that the hotel was again full, they then said we could come down and collect the keys to another room. Finally the third room we tried was okay, hardly any street noise, no awful smell and the decor was in a slightly better condition with no stains on the carpet. The bathroom was small but pretty standard.
The only positive I can find about this hotel is its location which is excellent (and probably how they get away with such awful rooms for the price). The concierge and doormen were very friendly and helpful with luggage and getting us a taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (away from the a/c outlets).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AH2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Although you have shared your appreciation with us for our hotel’s location, we were terribly disappointed to learn that your overall stay was not as you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience and any inconveniences. Thank you for your feedback as it allows us to focus on areas in which we can make improvements for future guests. We hope to welcome you back one day and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing