We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and experience”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #187 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Essex Junction, VT
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and experience”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for a friend's birthday over a long weekend. The suite was very comfortable and the hotel itself has an excellent location- close to Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall is basically within sight of MC, short walk to Broadway, subway, etc.
would not hesitate to return here.

Room Tip: Nice to have extra room staying in a suite, especially with 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are always excited to hear from our guests and truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Manhattan Club. Learning that your celebratory weekend was so enjoyable and that you were comfortable in your suite has made us all very happy. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    540
    134
    62
    70
See reviews for
487
442
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked 4 rooms through Disney Vacation Club here at the Manhattan Club, and after many stays in Manhattan we were not expecting the kind of accommodations we found at check in. First, there was a great deal on valet parking for about half what you would pay just to be in a garage in that area. Check in was fast and efficient, and the front desk staff was friendly and professional, explaining to all of us that the Disney deal included perks like access to their owners lounge and other amenities. When we got up to our rooms (all on the same floor as we had hoped but not remembered to specify) they were huge by local standards. All had two full rooms, two baths (one with a tub/shower, the other just a shower stall), well equipped kitchen areas with refrigerators, microwaves, dish washers, and utensils, and the usual flat screen TV's and HIVAC. Those of our group that visited the owners' lounge and bar found it to be pleasant if not fancy. Room maintenance was excellent and housekeeping over out two night stay was performed unobtrusively and the rooms were all spotless.
Overall we were all very pleased with both the facility and the staff at the Manhattan Club. With it's wonderful location and well run presentation we will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and didn't notice much street noise. Contrary to other reviews we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. It is very rewarding to know that you were pleased with our hotel and our staff and that you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club. All our suites were designed to be a perfect balance of sophistication and relaxation to ensure our guest’s total comfort and enjoyment. Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are thrilled you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Two stays in the past 6 months. The location is what will keep us returning. We view it as "it is what it is" type of location. It is NYC, so the rooms (even if a "suite") are cozy. Blocks away from anything view walk or even quick taxi. Just a few blocks up from Times Square, shorter yet to Central Park. In viewing the other reviews, don't share the same opinion on the staff, I feel viewed as an inconvenience rather than a owner. Not the same experience I receive at other Bluegreen locations. It's not "brilliant", but it is not "horrible" either as I read in other reviews. Our stay is pleasant and we keep in mind our larger goals (theater, museums, and dining). The staff will meet unique requests (non feathered pillows) promptly. The staff that is extremely courteous is the staff at the door (bellman and greeters). The owner's lounge is inviting, but the hours for the bar do not quite meet expectations (only after 6 or so on our visit). Also, no option for cash, room charge only. For us, we will return, but it is about convenience and location, and a place to crash with a short walk or quick taxi and not having to worry about driving.

Room Tip: Even the suites are smaller than a typical hotel room in any other city than of course NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
While we are glad that our midtown location was truly appreciated by you, it was disappointing that we were not able to fully impress you during your visit. Thank you for sharing your perspective and for letting us know that you found several of our staff to be extremely courteous and our owner’s lounge to be inviting. We look forward to your next visit and providing you with an experience that surpasses your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Love this hotel visit every year staff know us and are so welcoming excellent position great service . Very clean .newly renovated gym and lounge highly reccomended my favorite hotel in nycthe staff can't do enough for you

Room Tip: All good ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
What an honor it is for us to be your favorite hotel in NYC! Thank you so much for your review of The Manhattan Club and your continued loyalty. Providing excellent service is a top priority for all of us here and we are delighted to learn that you have continuously enjoyed the friendly demeanor of our staff and our convenient midtown location. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not the quality we were expecting at all. Unit was run down, mildew grew in the bathrooms, drainage was a problem in both bathrooms, wall paper is lifting off, only one hair blower which was bulky and not attached to the wall, a fire hazard since there is no counter space and you had no choice but to lay in inside the sink while you blow your hair, very limited dishes and silverware, no blender, no toaster, coffee was very limited, unit smelled like mold, we had to keep the windows open at 14 degrees weather in order not to smell the odor, electrical outlets were not functioning, mattress were awful, sofa cushions would sink in When we expressed our concerns, management was very rude and did not care to provide the hospitality that should have been given to us. The most concerning part was that we specifically asked management not to be disturbed verbally and by hanging the sign in front of the unit door, they actually did not respect our wishes and went in the unit anyway while we were away. As a timeshare owner in four other resorts including Blue Green and Hilton, we will never stay at the Manhattan Club again and will definitely not recommend to any if our family or friends. When we mentioned this to management, we were basically told we do not pay dues at Manhattan Club, we were ONLY an RCI exchange and they are booked all year round and basically we were asked to leave the General Manager's office and we could take it or leave! Timeshare owners out there, you should check Hilton's properties in Florida, you will be impressed! We do not work for Hilton, we just love their resorts and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MarcoIslandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We truly regret your experience at our property fell short of your expectations. All feedback is taken seriously and we will share the concerns you have mentioned with our management and maintenance teams. We hope to one-day welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just a few blocks from Times Square & Central Park & with Carnegie Hall just across the street, it is in a fantastic location! Stayed here in May 2012 & can't wait to stay here when i visit May this year. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramshaw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The Manhattan Club. We are thrilled to find out how much you enjoyed our midtown location. Our hotel provides easy access to all the exciting places to visit in NYC. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Yes we are timeshare owners, so obviously biased. However, the reason we bougt in about five years ago (the only timeshare we have ever, or will ever, own) was simple: At this stage of our lives (in our sixties) we were ready to commit to New York as a place we wanted to visit each year. The Manhattan Club is a perfect location to get that "Manattan experience". We never take a cab (unless it is very late), and do a lot of walking because it's so enjoyable. Our experience with major cities like London, New York, Paris, etc. is that we go for location, simply because the last thing we want to do is spend the majority of our time in a hotel room. That's far different than renting a chalet in the mountains, for example, where the ambience of the fireplace, hot tub etc is much more a part of the whole experience. We have also learned not to expect much from rooms in centrally located, or even famous, hotels in major cities. Sometimes you pay a lot of money for very little room, but it also means you can save a ton of money in cab fare, etc. because it's easy to get around.

If it's clean and pleasant enough, that' all we need. The Manhattan Club has fully lived up to our expectations as a great "home base", simply because Manhattan and NYC have lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We could not be happier to hear how much you enjoy staying at The Manhattan Club and that we have lived up to all your expectations. We are centrally located in midtown Manhattan, making our property the ideal home base for anyone exploring the extraordinary attractions that NYC has to offer. Thank you for your wonderful comments; we are all looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,611 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 466 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 466 in New York City
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#355 of 466 in New York City
82 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#217 of 466 in New York City
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing