We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #187 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I monitored RCI.com for two years to get an 8 day booking at TMC. First option I saw (10 months in advance) was for the first week of March, 2014. Not prime time for going to New York, but it was our dream, so I booked it. To use RCI to book this property for more than a night or two, be prepared to book in the off season.

TMC emailed and called me twice in the weeks before my stay, offering their sales tour. I politely declined each time. No hassles about the tour at check in. Also no line up and check in was done in about 5 minutes, with the pleasant surprize of an upgrade to an Executive Suite! Our room (2001) was updated and a very nice size. Comfy double bed, sofa (hide a bed) and chair, small table and two dining chairs, flat screen TV with free HBO, and a bath with a tub/shower. Tub was great for soaking weary legs after full days walking and standing on concrete!

Room had two big windows for natural light. Alas, the view was of a brick wall but we kept the blinds closed for insulation from the window drafts. A bit disappointing, but by being in an end room on a higher floor and facing the courtyard, our room was very quiet. The heat was a little hard to control in the room, but the weather was cold and the building is not new. The kitchenette had basic dishes, a small coffee maker, microwave and fridge.

Housekeeping visits daily with supplies (Seattle’s Best coffee, tea and microwave popcorn) and to clean the room linens. They supply hotel style toiletries (shampoo, conditioners, lotion). Free in-room wifi worked well. Although the information in the unit states they charge for local telephone calls, I was not charged for these.

TMC is in a great location. An easy walk to Times Square, Roc Centre, MOMA and Central Park. Three subways stations close by. Restaurants from high end to McDonalds within walking distance. A 24 hour grocery is about two blocks away (on 57th between 6th and 5th Ave). The staff were pleasant and helpful. Two of the four elevators were out of service during our visit. Even so, we rarely waited more than a minute or two for an elevator.

Even with visiting in early March, the main attractions were usually busy. We got up early and tried to arrive at attractions at opening time. Overall, we were also glad we had done so as the crowds grew as the day moved on.

I found TMC a good value and would recommend this property to anyone looking to visit New York City.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms away from the elevator are very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of The Manhattan Club. We're thrilled that you found our hotel to be a good value and enjoyed our midtown location with its easy accessibility to many great NYC attractions. We are sorry if it was challenging to regulate the heat in your suite and hope next time you will let us know if there is anything we can help you with or do for you to make your stay even better. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for The Manhattan Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Clean, quiet, great, great location right across the street from Carnegie hall. Walk to everything. Junior suite on 16 floor, very clean. Nice bed very nice bedding. Kitchenette, two tv's and large bath. Only minuses were
Bad wallpaper installation and cracked tile in the bathroom. I'd stay again anytime! Note: this is a time share property, older crowd & more reserved.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nursely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We’re definitely pleased to hear that your stay at The Manhattan Club was so nice. Our midtown hotel is in the perfect location for guests to easily explore all the exciting attractions in NYC; we're thrilled that this was something you enjoyed. Thank you for your kind remarks as well as letting us know about those couple of things that were amiss. The next time you are visiting the city, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from a four-day trip to NYC. The Manhattan Club provided clean and comfortable accommodations close to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Time Square, and the subway. Staff were extremely friendly and our room was perfect!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mmiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It is great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Manhattan Club, met your expectations and that our location provided you with easy access to so many of New York City¹s major attractions. Thank you so much for your positive feedback and review. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A very consistent hotel. In a great location. Of all the years I have been staying there, there has NEVER been a time when something wasn't being remodeled. Just once I'd like to NOT see any "Pardon the inconvenience" signs.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review of The Manhattan Club. It is always nice to see a familiar face and we were very happy to welcome you back to enjoy our great location in midtown. Our hotel is continuously being updated and refreshed to meet the expectations of our guests and we would like to offer our apologies if at any time you have been inconvenienced by this. We hope that the next time you are visiting NYC, you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I traveled to New York on business and this was my first time staying at this hotel. I selected the hotel because it was rated a 4.8 star and the reviews were 7.8/10. I was looking forward to the stellar experience.
I travel extensively and had stayed at hotels that have a lower rate with a far greater level of quality service and appearance. There was no value for my money.
This is the worst hotel experience I have encountered this decade. I will never book a stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

It is certainly disappointing to learn that your time spent with us was not as you had anticipated and we regret any difficulties you may have experienced. Our guests are encouraged to share their concerns during their stay so that they may be addressed immediately as we wish to create an experience that inspires a return visit. We hope that if there is something specific we could have done to improve your experience, you will let us know. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

the Manhattan club was great hospitality this staff convenience was very good the reason it did not get 5 stars is because the breakfast is very expensive and its only continental at $14.95 ppl.
You can go around the corner and get something much more appealing and much cheaper. I guess the $30 per day is okay because we received free internet and the gym which is fabulous and daily housekeeping. century located to order tractions by Broadway in Central Park. I traded hear from RCI heard the maintenance fees or 1500 dollars I guess a bit steep but excellent trade in using your own timeshare.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review of The Manhattan Club. Our midtown hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the city and all of its exciting attractions. We do apologize if you found our breakfast a bit pricey, but are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience as a whole. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

3 of us stayed at the manhattan club on the 15th feb fab couple of days .with in walking distance to Times Square broadway and 5th avenue .continental breakfast only fifteen dollars .staff lovely only fault I have after coming off 8 hour flight could not book in room until after 4 would stay at hotel again .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deirdrewaterswhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club. We are delighted that you found our midtown location to be so convenient. It is however regrettable that we were unable to provide you with an earlier check in after your long flight and hope that an inconvenience was minimal. The next time you are visiting NYC we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,717 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 468 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
71 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £208 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing