We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Accommodation.”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Accommodation.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We rented a 1 bed suite in this resort which enjoyed a great location across from Carnegie Hall and 2 blocks from Central Park. Time Square was 5 minute walk away and Broadway just around the corner.
The unit was very comfortable and quite well equipped.
However on departure we were quite shocked to have been levied a $30 a night 'Hospitality Fee'. We paid it as we had such a good week but will be asking questions before taking on such a unit again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are thrilled that you found our midtown Manhattan location to be such a plus and enjoyed the comfort of our suites. It is however regrettable that you were unaware of the hospitality fee at the time you made your reservation. Thank you for sharing your comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    540
    134
    62
    70
See reviews for
487
442
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is my third trip to the Manhattan Club and the best so far. This was another lucky timeshare trade. We were apprehensive getting the studio instead of the one bedroom units we've had on our previous visits but it's been lovely. Plenty of room for a week for two people. This floor (20th) has been totally refurbished and they have done a great job. Nice furnishings and fabrics throughout. Plenty of storage and a separate sleeping alcove. Small but efficient kitchenette including decent fridge, microwave, and dishes and glasses.

Daily housekeeping has been timely and very thorough. Elevator speed has either improved greatly since my last visit (or that was just a fluke.) Staff is friendly and accommodating and the location is perfect. The lounge bartender on 26 makes a killer Old fashioned.

So lucky again to get to spend a week at the Manhattan Club. Thank you time-share Karma!

Room Tip: The newly refurbished rooms are very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rower52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are always happy to hear from our return guests and truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us again at The Manhattan Club. Thank you for your many kind comments regarding both our hotel and our staff. It is always our desire to provide exceptional service and great accommodations for your New York City experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I monitored RCI.com for two years to get an 8 day booking at TMC. First option I saw (10 months in advance) was for the first week of March, 2014. Not prime time for going to New York, but it was our dream, so I booked it. To use RCI to book this property for more than a night or two, be prepared to book in the off season.

TMC emailed and called me twice in the weeks before my stay, offering their sales tour. I politely declined each time. No hassles about the tour at check in. Also no line up and check in was done in about 5 minutes, with the pleasant surprize of an upgrade to an Executive Suite! Our room (2001) was updated and a very nice size. Comfy double bed, sofa (hide a bed) and chair, small table and two dining chairs, flat screen TV with free HBO, and a bath with a tub/shower. Tub was great for soaking weary legs after full days walking and standing on concrete!

Room had two big windows for natural light. Alas, the view was of a brick wall but we kept the blinds closed for insulation from the window drafts. A bit disappointing, but by being in an end room on a higher floor and facing the courtyard, our room was very quiet. The heat was a little hard to control in the room, but the weather was cold and the building is not new. The kitchenette had basic dishes, a small coffee maker, microwave and fridge.

Housekeeping visits daily with supplies (Seattle’s Best coffee, tea and microwave popcorn) and to clean the room linens. They supply hotel style toiletries (shampoo, conditioners, lotion). Free in-room wifi worked well. Although the information in the unit states they charge for local telephone calls, I was not charged for these.

TMC is in a great location. An easy walk to Times Square, Roc Centre, MOMA and Central Park. Three subways stations close by. Restaurants from high end to McDonalds within walking distance. A 24 hour grocery is about two blocks away (on 57th between 6th and 5th Ave). The staff were pleasant and helpful. Two of the four elevators were out of service during our visit. Even so, we rarely waited more than a minute or two for an elevator.

Even with visiting in early March, the main attractions were usually busy. We got up early and tried to arrive at attractions at opening time. Overall, we were also glad we had done so as the crowds grew as the day moved on.

I found TMC a good value and would recommend this property to anyone looking to visit New York City.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms away from the elevator are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of The Manhattan Club. We're thrilled that you found our hotel to be a good value and enjoyed our midtown location with its easy accessibility to many great NYC attractions. We are sorry if it was challenging to regulate the heat in your suite and hope next time you will let us know if there is anything we can help you with or do for you to make your stay even better. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and all of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, quiet, great, great location right across the street from Carnegie hall. Walk to everything. Junior suite on 16 floor, very clean. Nice bed very nice bedding. Kitchenette, two tv's and large bath. Only minuses were
Bad wallpaper installation and cracked tile in the bathroom. I'd stay again anytime! Note: this is a time share property, older crowd & more reserved.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nursely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We’re definitely pleased to hear that your stay at The Manhattan Club was so nice. Our midtown hotel is in the perfect location for guests to easily explore all the exciting attractions in NYC; we're thrilled that this was something you enjoyed. Thank you for your kind remarks as well as letting us know about those couple of things that were amiss. The next time you are visiting the city, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wortham, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a four-day trip to NYC. The Manhattan Club provided clean and comfortable accommodations close to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Time Square, and the subway. Staff were extremely friendly and our room was perfect!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mmiller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
It is great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Manhattan Club, met your expectations and that our location provided you with easy access to so many of New York City¹s major attractions. Thank you so much for your positive feedback and review. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A very consistent hotel. In a great location. Of all the years I have been staying there, there has NEVER been a time when something wasn't being remodeled. Just once I'd like to NOT see any "Pardon the inconvenience" signs.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review of The Manhattan Club. It is always nice to see a familiar face and we were very happy to welcome you back to enjoy our great location in midtown. Our hotel is continuously being updated and refreshed to meet the expectations of our guests and we would like to offer our apologies if at any time you have been inconvenienced by this. We hope that the next time you are visiting NYC, you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I traveled to New York on business and this was my first time staying at this hotel. I selected the hotel because it was rated a 4.8 star and the reviews were 7.8/10. I was looking forward to the stellar experience.
I travel extensively and had stayed at hotels that have a lower rate with a far greater level of quality service and appearance. There was no value for my money.
This is the worst hotel experience I have encountered this decade. I will never book a stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
It is certainly disappointing to learn that your time spent with us was not as you had anticipated and we regret any difficulties you may have experienced. Our guests are encouraged to share their concerns during their stay so that they may be addressed immediately as we wish to create an experience that inspires a return visit. We hope that if there is something specific we could have done to improve your experience, you will let us know. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#102 of 467 in New York City
1,602 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 467 in New York City
1,802 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#137 of 467 in New York City
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#366 of 467 in New York City
78 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing