We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms, great location, no complaints-April 2014”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #195 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location is central to anything you might like to do, staff were wonderful and the concierge could not have been more helpful. Her experience of the city fashioned a number of our excursions. Stayed on the 20th floor in a newly updated suite with 2 baths, bedroom with privacy doors and pullout couch in the living room. Even the couch was comfy.
First visit to New York and could not have had a better time with my daughter.
I read a lot of info about elevators-just use the service elevators and seriously, some people look for the flaws instead of the fabulous.
Wish I worked with all of the pleasant people who staff this location.

Room Tip: Get an updated room-I asked when we got there and the room was lovely. Got there at noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J08N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are so pleased to hear that on your first trip to New York City you and your daughter had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for The Manhattan Club and for your gracious praise for our staff. It is always our desire to provide guests with exceptional service and great accommodations to ensure their stay with us is the best it can be. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Really lovely hotel, room was comfortable, although the pull out bed wasn't the best! Staff were really nice, Joel was a great help. Good location, not too far to anywhere, right by Central Park, we walk to most places.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

It was so great to learn how friendly you found our staff and that our location in midtown was appreciated by you. Thank you very much for your kind review of The Manhattan Club. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Top notch! Wonderful stay, only down side is it is incredibly hard to get in, need to make reservation light years in advance but well worth the wait! Clean, spacious, glorious. Most glamorous time share we have stayed in ever!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Wow what a truly great review, thank you. We are elated that you chose to stay at The Manhattan Club and enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our rooms. We hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had an opportunity to stay for free at this hotel and found the room to be excellent. I'm resisting the urge to insert "By Manhattan standards" before going much further, but let me just say that the room size was more than adequate for three people. We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of Carnegie Hall--street noise was somewhat noticeable, which is why you should never travel to NYC without ear plugs. What really sold it for me was how comfortable even the sofa bed turned out to be, for a poor sleeper such as myself. They use some type of Tempurpedic mattress and even though it looked worryingly thing, it was surprisingly comfortable. Both bathrooms were just fine as well and everything was very clean and seemed in good condition. One thing we noticed was closing the window shade and drapes made a bit difference in keeping in the heat.

I'm reserving one star from this rating due to the somewhat lackluster breakfast. I would have hoped that in such a food-focused area such as NYC, that the offerings could have been more interesting than Eggo waffles and bagels, but I suppose the $14.95 price is a factor. Since we were in a rush most mornings, the buffet breakfast worked out okay, but I would skip and walk up the street to Eric Kayser or Landmarc for breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We were thrilled to read your review and learn that your experience at The Manhattan Club was so positive. Our hotel is located in midtown and within close proximity to many of NYC's top attractions. Thank you for letting us know how comfortable you were in your room. Our suites are appointed and equipped with many furnishings and amenities, like our pillow-top mattresses and soft linens, to make your stay the best it can be. The next time you are visiting NYC we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We exchanged through Registry Collection and enjoyed a week long stay. Two couples - probably not great for everyone, because one couple must share a queen sized hideabed, but we were comfortable because there are two bathrooms, both large. Terry robes were provided for all of us.The kitchenette did not allow for cooking, but you could enjoy Starbucks coffee supplied and reheat takeout food in the microwave. There is even a mini dishwasher in the suite. It was nice to pick up a bottle of wine and appies and enjoy them in our suite before going out in the evenings. King sized bed in master was very comfy, with turndown service and chocolates! Flat screen TVs in lvg rm and bedroom. When door between lvg rm and bedrm was closed there was privacy for both couples. We used the large and comfy hospitality room on the 26 floor a couple of times for afternoon coffee, but preferred our own suite. Gym on 26th floor was well equipped and clean. Staff were very helpful. Other guests/owners were friendly. Elevators are only slow at peak times, but no terribly long waits - they're small, but people were great at squeezing together. ("Penthouse" means the top four floors 27-30.) great walking distance for Central Park, Columbus Circle, Carnegie Hall, MOMA, Broadway, etc. close to subway stops too. Would recommend this exchange property if you get a chance. Would make a great "girlfriend" getaway too.

Room Tip: No room tips, we weren't offered a choice, but were happy with what was assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mile0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Your review and recommendation for The Manhattan Club is greatly appreciated, thank you. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests to learn about their impressions and experiences. We're delighted that you had such a nice week and we are so glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, the amenities we offer and our midtown location. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrival and check in were uneventful and handled well by competent staff. Room was quite small but well appointed except for chirping smoke detector in the room. Maintenance responded quickly but had to install a new smoke detector to quite the annoying chirping. Out of four lobby elevators only two serve the Manhattan Club, one was broken when we arrived and the other quickly went down. Luckily we were out of the building most of the time the elevators were broken, having to share the freight and service elevators was not a good experience. Concierge service was often closed during the week but was staffed until 7PM on Friday evening. Location is the big plus for this hotel. We happened to be there during the "transition season", i.e. the heat had already been turned off which left us with two very chilly evenings. Overall the stay was a pleasant one but I would have been very disappointed had I been paying $500 night as one gentlemen relayed to me during a trip in the service elevator. Owners lounge on 26th floor is very nice with continental breakfast for $14, free coffee in the afternoon and fruit in the morning and 15% gratuity automatically added to your bar bill! Room charges of $30/day are added for housekeeping, towels, etc. probably not "excessive" for Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ichabod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in NYC. While we are glad that you enjoyed our location and that overall your stay was pleasant, we truly regret the difficulties you encountered. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences. We hope that next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very happy with this hotel for a NYC mid-town stay. Room was big, although the fold out bed for our kids was smaller than a full bed and a little tight. Location is great. Easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rock Center, etc. Multiple subway lines within a block of the hotel. Valet parking a bargain at $28 per day. Room was quiet, clean, and a decent view from the 22nd floor. Microwave, sink, fridge and d/w in the room would have been good if we were staying longer. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not pushy about the timeshare aspect of the hotel with RCI. Skipped the continental breakfast for $14 per person - lots of casual breakfast options around the corner on 7th Avenue. This will likely be our go-to place for staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob_plus_Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are delighted to learn that The Manhattan Club will now be your go-to-place when staying in Manhattan. Thank you so much for sharing your comments and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is, as you mentioned, conveniently located within walking distance of many NYC attractions such as Times Square. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#114 of 469 in New York City
1,759 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 469 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#134 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#215 of 469 in New York City
2,575 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#256 of 469 in New York City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £180 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing