We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting on the Ritz...at the Manhattan Club”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #202 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent only one night here... but how fine it was....we were on an upper floor with a view to the lights and street below. With four of us preparing for a photo shoot.... we stayed in a suite with a master bed/bath...that you entered from the first living room with a pullout sofa and a second full bathroom.....lovely space...our son slept on an additional rollaway that was very large and nicely prepared as our daughter slept on the sofa pull out with great linens. The upper lounge room was great for us in the mid day with a nice view and snacks. We also kept our car in their valet parking overnight (much cheaper at $28 per 24 hrs than anywhere else we found in midtown) and the staff was wonderful, helping us pack our car trunk with our many pieces of luggage with four of us traveling with formal wear. Love, Love , Love!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geojourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you and your family were so comfortable in your room and loved your stay at The Manhattan Club. Your kind praise for our hotel and staff is truly appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent 9 days in the Manhattan Club. Stayed her using RCI points. Had a large apartment with 2 bathrooms, 1 bedroom and a convertible bed setee, so it could accommodate 4 adults, so for just2 of us, it was very spacious

We were very iimpressed. A wonderfull location in Manhattan, a couple of streets from Central Park, oppositr Carnegie Hall, close to subway station, so very conenient for exploring New York.

The apartment had a small kichen area with fridge , freezer and dishwasher. There was only a dececent sized microwave oven, no hob or conventional oven, so cooking capacity was a bit limited, but you dont go to New York to chain youself to the kitchen. There are a couple of very good food shops nearby, eg Morton & Willams on 57th street, for a great selection of foostuffs

Rooms were well furnished (if a little bit old fashioned) 2 large flat screen TVs. Cleaning , beb making and freah towels each day, plenty of staff all very helpful and friendy (with one exception, see below at end of review). Our apartment , 1215, had good view of a main road juntion and Carnegie Hall, so there was alays a lot going on.

We had originally booked 7 nights, but then wanted to add an extra 2 nights, but were unable to stay in the same apartment, because it was already booked and the place was very busy, and had to move to another smaller apartment, 2301, which had no view, other than a 26 story brick wall. Can't really complain because it was really our own bad planning.

The only negatve point was around the contentious issue of tipping, and some travellers might be interested in this. We have been to USA several times and knew that tipping is part of the economy, - when were checking in, I asked the Reception for advice about tiping the bell boy (as I did not want to embarrass either myself or the bell boy) and was advised that $1 or $2 per case was the norm, but when we gave the bell boy $5 for bringing up 2 cases and a shopping bag, he just laughed rudely at us also, as a general rule, in restarants, the convention is good service merits a 20% tip, mediocre gets 15% and 10% is a sgn that the service is bad

Room Tip: Rooms ending in nn01 to nn05, like the one we had for nights, will not have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlanBA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in NYC. We are very happy that you decided to extend your seven night stay because you were enjoying yourself so much. Our hotel is, as you mentioned, located in close proximity to many of the city's major attractions including Central Park and Carnegie Hall. Although we were delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we regret the situation you encountered with the bellhop and ask that you accept our sincerest apologies. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first extended vacation to New York City. This is a very difficult place to get an exchange through RCI and took over 10 years of requests to get a confirmed reservation into a 1BR Penthouse Suite on the 27th floor (Room 2701).

Location, Location, Location - The location is truly fantastic and offers many options for walking to the nearby sights (i.e. Central Park, Times Square, Broadway) and one block from Carnegie Hall.

The staff is very nice. The elevators are rather slow and service the first 26 floors. The penthouse suites start on the 27th floor so you have to wait for a different elevator which is located in another location on the 26th floor, or take the stairs (like we did). Given the narrow access and items you will encounter on the stairs (i.e. night beds, linens, mops, etc) I would not advise taking the stairs as you can fall and get hurt very easily.

Amenities in the penthouse suites: there is a small refrigerator, dishwasher, sink and microwave. There are 2 bathrooms (which is very nice), 2 televisions (only one of them got all the channels), a sofa/sleeper in the studio and a queen bed in the bedroom. The sofa/sleeper is adequate to sit in for a short period of time, but is typical of sofa/sleepers not designed for sitting comfort.

Temperature control is an issue - This is an older building so the temperature controls have not been upgraded to digital displays or thermostats. Since the fan will not turn off or retain a determined temperature, you will have to guess (like we did) and test various settings to determine which temperature setting and fan speed works best for you.

If you have allergies – request hypo-allergenic pillows prior to arrival and see if they can accommodate you with similar blankets as the primary warming blanket is a down feather comforter.

Special Note – if you want a good nights sleep, request a unit with a newer mattress. We unfortunately, were given a unit with an older mattress which was not very firm and had hills and valleys which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep and an aching back in the morning. At checkout, the receptionist suggested we request a unit which has a newer mattress when we return as they are in the process of replacing them.

There is daily maid service and turn-down service. They do a very efficient and thorough job and are very nice.

Restaurants / Eating - The restaurants are rather pricey in New York but there are affordable options (i.e. McDonalds, the Soup Man, and Food Carts) within walking distance so get out and walk, check them out (enjoy New York!).

Things you MUST DO in New York - Bring the most comfortable walking shoes you can find as you will be doing a LOT of WALKING. As soon as possible upon your arrival in New York, I would highly recommend biking Central Park (Central Park Bike Rentals) and taking the CitySights NY hop-on/hop-off buses (don’t lose your tickets !!!!). This will give you a good perspective of what the area is about and enable you to re-visit the areas which interest you the most.

Overall, our stay at the Manhattan Club was a very nice and pleasant experience. Only the lumpy & hilly mattress prevented us from giving this an exceptional review. The nice people we met in New York and the Manhattan Club are something we would like to experience again in the future (provided they guarantee a new / upgraded mattress).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your impressions with us about The Manhattan Club as well as your helpful suggestions. We are very glad that you enjoyed your extended vacation in NYC and we greatly appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and location. We would however like to extend our apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced controlling the temperature in your room and wish that you had let us know while you were still here so that we could help you. Please visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

You feel like a King when you sleep in your beds, best linnen, good location, friendly staff, would have loved a kettle though. Coffee was good but would have liked to make my own coffee with a kettle. Shower pressure could be increased, but overall, awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Awesome is just what we like to hear when a guest describes their stay at The Manhattan Club. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review. We were happy to read that you felt like a king sleeping in the bed in your suite and that you enjoyed our location as well as our friendly staff. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Manhattan Club is a great place to stay. It is within walking distance to Central Park, Times Square and you will be around the corner from one subway station and another one is also very close by. The rooms are very nice and well maintained but will seem small if you have more than 2 people in a King one bedroom suite. We had three people but it wasn't that bad. Besides having a kitchen and dining table, the room has a pull out sofa sleeper. I felt it was spacious but some will probably say it's small. The onsite concierge is helpful with whatever questions you need. We actually stayed here for NYE, found the owner on EBay and he was very reasonably priced compared to hotels closer to or in Times Square. We had tickets to a show at Radio City Music Hall and was able to walk and get through the police blockades by showing our concert tickets. The hotel has a lounge where you can wait for room to be ready. The room was nice with televisions, coffee, free cookies and a bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel/timeshare owned location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marcia0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Your lovely review and recommendation for The Manhattan Club is greatly appreciated, thank you. We were happy to read your comments and learn that you enjoyed our close proximity to Central Park, Times Square and to mass transit as well as our accommodations and associates. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We're owners at the Club and enjoy every visit! This year we brought our bikes and being 2 blocks from Central Park, enjoyed the ease of access to the park and the ability to get out and enjoy the morning exercise and beauty of NY. The rooms are lovely, the staff friendly, and go out of their way to help! With so much to see and do in NY, it's a great place to return to relax and re-group before "stepping out" to do something else fun!!! Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try for a room along the same side as Carnegie Hall...higher elevation with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Taking a bike ride is a great way to get some exercise in the morning and experience NYC! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding The Manhattan Club. We're delighted that you have enjoyed every visit here and we greatly appreciate your kind acknowledgement for our associates and their efforts to create a memorable experience. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Manhattan Club is a great location for anyone travelling to New York whether it is for business or pleasure. It offers comfortable, newly renovated rooms, it is within walking distance from Central Park, Time Square, restaurants and located between 2 subway access points and it's just off the main roads traveling into and from the CBD! Staff is friendly and helpful with an onsite concierge, what more do you need? Will most certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better review, thank you. The Manhattan Club is indeed close to NYC's major attractions, restaurants and shops. We're so glad you enjoyed our midtown location and that our staff was so helpful to you. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#277 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#126 of 473 in New York City
1,488 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#192 of 473 in New York City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#319 of 473 in New York City
7,207 reviews
Midtown
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#166 of 473 in New York City
104 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 473 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £149 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing