We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The Manhattan Club”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay at The Manhattan Club”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Manhattan club in August and had a great stay - the staff was accommodating and very attentive. The facility was clean and updated. The shower was one of the best showers I have had in years - maybe a little eco-unfriendly - definitely not low flow - but absolutely decadent! We, NYCVanity, also had the opportunity to do a little business as we received the prototype of our latest product, The Palit, a portable beauty workspace while staying at TMC. We even got to put it to work in the bathroom that a vanity sink - albeit a larger than standard vanity sink. But still got a chance to take some photo's. See attached.

Definitely would recommend The Manhattan Club!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonNKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club. It was a joy to have you and your husband stay with us and we're delighted to learn that you enjoyed our property as well as our accommodating staff. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    532
    133
    62
    70
See reviews for
481
435
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Manhattan Club was a very nice place to stay in New York. It's location is also great. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are nicely arranged and very clean. We felt comfortable and rested well in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer46158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Comfortable and rested are two things we hope that all our guests will feel when staying at The Manhattan Club. We're delighted that our location, your room and our staff were all enjoyed by you. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and for your high recommendation. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This is literally my least favourite "hotel" (it's a "timeshare" according to staff, hotel literature....).

Pros:
Location is AMAZING.

Beds, once you've moved rooms once or twice, AREN'T BAD.

Consistent hot water, sometimes.

Flat screen TVs with some CABLE channels!

Cleaning staff are really nice. Actually. They were a highlight of this otherwise terrible place.

Cons:
Staff are the most rude, unhelpful, and inhospitable excuses for "hotel" staff (or timeshare staff, pick one) that I have ever met.

They'll send you to a terrible room first, usually between the 2nd to 4th floor. DONT FALL FOR IT. Go down and ask for another room, then they'll show you to somewhere you can actually stay. The first room will reek of paint, musk and will feature the lumpiest beds ever. Room is also very loud, near the ground noises, walls are paper thin.

The elevators are hilariously terrible, especially during check in. Get ready to use some back area work elevator to get to your room.


Bottom line, don't stay here unless you get a huge discount or pay through disney or whatever.


STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank BlakeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
All guest feedback, positive or otherwise is very important to us. It is always our goal to create a wonderful stay for all of our guests and we deeply regret that we were not able to accomplish this for you. We do apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced and for not fully meeting your expectations. Please be aware that our management staff is always available and eager to address our guests concerns so that the best possible experience is had by all. We would love another opportunity to welcome you back and have the chance to regain your trust in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This review is for the penthouse suites (mine was a timeshare exchange - but I think they can be reserved as hotel rooms).

This is my second time staying here and both have been great. The unit itself was nicely done with two very nice bathrooms, a decent sized living/dining room and a small kitchenette. The bedroom itself was quite large - plenty of room for a king sized bed, side tables, and a pack and play. The only downside of the setup is that the divider between the bedroom and the main living space is a sliding door so it's not the most private setup if you intend to have four adults in the suite -- perfect for family with kids though.

I want to specifically mention the housekeeping staff - the room was always spotless and they seemed to spend a lot of time and effort making it so nice each day.

Many reviewers mention the elevators- yes they're not the fastest-- take the service elevators by the checkin desk and at the very least you won't have a million other guests trying to smash you into the elevator with all of their luggage... Plus the staff are more fun anyway.

I also will suggest going with the valet if it makes sense for you. We came from Boston and it was much better than taking a train and schlepping luggage (like I did on the first trip) as of this review 30$ a day in NYC is a solid deal IMO.

The only minor issue I had was getting help with luggage on the way out - might have been a fluke but I had to ask three times over the period of an hour to get out. So, maybe just call early and it'll be fine.

I won't waste time with the location of the hotel - it's close to a million great things and the actual street is fairly quiet. Amazing!

Overall great stay and I hope to go again..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_randomnumbersher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are always happy to hear from our return guests and truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us again at The Manhattan Club. It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced during both of your stays met your expectations. Your praise for our housekeeping staff is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team so that they are aware of the impact they had on your visit. We would however like to extend our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you experienced when looking for assistance with your bags and hope that any inconvenience was minimal. The next time you are visiting NYC, we hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Love the location, was allowed a little early check in which was great since the trip started off rocky with lost luggage.
Very friendly cleaning staff ( hello to my World Cup friend)
Will continue to make this my choice when in New York

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in NYC. We're delighted that we could provide you with an early check-in and thrilled that you enjoyed our location in midtown. Your kind feedback for our hotel and our housekeeping staff is greatly appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My teenaged daughter and I just returned from a week in NYC. I used a few of my DVC points to rent a suite at The Manhattan Club. The attention we received even before we arrived was welcome and helpful. I talked to a young man from the hotel who advised me of a car service for airport transportation. $35 one way from LaGuardia to the front door. Perfect. Check in was easy enough but I have to say the young woman who took my info and gave me the room key was neither friendly nor helpful. She basically said, "here is your key." And poof, she was gone. Because our room wasn't available until 4pm we decided to change clothes and store our luggage with the hotel. There is ONE restroom in the lobby. So a long line formed. I asked the front desk for a map of the neighborhood and was handed one of those tourist flyer maps. Not exactly what I wanted or needed. But I took it. The next morning we headed out to the Statue of Liberty. The line at the concierge desk was long and there was only one woman there so instead I asked the bellman, Anthony. Let me tell you - if you have any questions, any concerns - talk to Anthony. He is delightful and informative. He told us exactly how to use the subway. Exactly. Without making us feel like country bumpkins come to town. ( not he usual New Yorker attitude) I just can't say enough about him and his help. The hotel itself is in the best location you could ask for: a few steps to the subway station, a couple of blocks one way to Fifth Avenue, several blocks the opposite way to Times Square. We attended five broadway shows and walked easily to all the theaters and restaurants. The hotel itself is quiet but the street is noisy. We were on the 20th floor and we could hear every truck. (The quietest night was July 4th) There is a grocery store around the corner and we stocked up on fresh fruit for breakfast. They also have a hot lunch buffet.
Pros: LOCATION, Space, comfort, kitchenette
Cons: Not the friendliest concierge you'll ever meet
I asked her about directions to Hillsong NYC and her reply "Never heard of it"

Load Google Maps onto your smart phone and you'll be set.

Room Tip: Book Early! Street noise is a factor on the 20th floor Is it better higher?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronmanzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It was such a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us at The Manhattan Club. Thank you for sharing the details of your stay and letting us know how helpful our bellman was in answering your questions and providing information to you. We will be sure to let him know how much you appreciated his assistance. Our hotel, is as mentioned, in the heart of Manhattan and just steps away from all the great attractions, restaurants, and shops. We're delighted your stay in the city was enjoyable and hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ok, so I decided to take my wife for an extended weekend surprise getaway to New York City. I booked The Manhattan club for 3 nights and was really excited to get it due to the mostly pleasant reviews. The Hotel is on 57th Street near Broadway and Central Park. We absolutely loved the location of the place. So many things to do and see. However, the Hotel itself was a total disappointment to us. While waiting for our room we were directed to the lounge on the 26th floor which is nice and spacious with cookies and coffee. Upon checking in, we got a room on the 11th floor which reeked like smoke even though it is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. We immediately got a new room on the 20th floor with an absolutely AWFUL view out back towards an almost 30 story tall brick wall. We had to keep the lights on at all times since it was so dark in that room. The darkness made a studio "suite" (in my opinion not a suite at all) even more dingy and unpleasant. Everything in there is small, especially the bathroom which must have been designed for an episode of "little people". Plastic wrapped plastic cups like Motel 6 in the bathroom?? Come on! A tiny toilet as well. The kitchenette was not really usable other than to chill some beverages and make coffee in the miniature coffee maker. However, the mattress is the worst thing about this room. They chose the lowest grade flip-mattress they could find. We know, we own a large mattress store. While this room (not a suite) leaves much to be desired, we may return in the future due to the close proximity to things to do in New York City an certainly not because we loved the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor facing 57th Avenue otherwise all you see is a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nzimpfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. While we are very glad that our midtown location was greatly appreciated by you, we regret that your room and its amenities did not meet your expectations. We would hope you would consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
1,538 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#392 of 468 in New York City
34 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 468 in New York City
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing