We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Ranked #43 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon and wow wow wow. On arrival we got a huge suite champagne and strawberries which was a lovely touch but even without it our stay would have been just as fab.beautiful hotel . lovely staff, excellent location.wheeltapper pub next door is cosy and traditional, food is great just a little bit pricey. Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank annmarie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear annmarie00,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our Fitzpatrick experience began before we arrived at the hotel. The Newark Airport Shuttle bus dropped us off 3 blocks away from the hotel on East 41st street for $16 dollars each. Upon arrival at the hotel we were 2 hours early before our check in time but that wasn't even mentioned by the staff. We were given our room which was located on the 7th floor. Our first impression of the room was that it was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The mattress on the bed was so comfortable, so much so that we lost our first evening catching up on sleep. The hotel was ideally located within walking distance of the Empire State Building, Times Square and Central park. It is also located only 2 minutes away from Grand central Station which was a huge help when travelling outside of midtown manhattan. The staff were extremely helpful especially the concierge was like our own private tour guide. When reception heard that we had recently got engaged they sent us up a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries which was a pleasant surprise. My only fault with the hotel is the breakfast was a little overpriced for the quality of what we received, however we found a lovely cafe located on East 42nd Street across from grand central station which made up for this. All in all our experience was amazing and we will have no hesitations booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabianDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear FabianDunne,

Congratulations on your recent enganement and thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and have stayed here 3 times on visits to NYC in the last year, and we thoroughly enjoyed it each time. The location is great, whether you are coming into NYC through Grand Central, or just want to be near there for the subway connections. The staff are pleasant, friendly, and helpful and the rooms are nice. The prices is very reasonable for an NYC hotel. Most definitely we will continue to stay here when we overnight in NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear 25Paul,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central numerous times over the past year. We certainly appreciate your bsuiness.

I am very happy to read that you continue to enjoy your stays with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and were able to find a last minute deal on a King Bed Deluxe Room for a great deal. We enjoyed everything about the hotel, from the staff to the classic interior to the attached irish pub. Even our room and bathroom were pretty large compared to NYC standards. It's certainly not a chic hotel but it was certainly of quality and I will check on their rates again next time I want to visit NYC.

My only Con in this review is they did not have a staff member outside to help flag down a cab. For a hotel that prides itself on being "classic", this seems like it should be a basic service for a hotel like this.

A fun side note: since this is an Irish hotel company just about everyone staying there was from Ireland it seemed. I personally enjoyed hearing all the accents.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Always_1A,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Well, what can I say, apart from this hotel is a tad on the small side. The hotel only has 9 floors so don't expect high rooms with great views. This also hinders the amount of light being let into the rooms making them very dark throughout the day.
Please don't get me wrong though I am a big fan of this hotel and stay in it every time I visit New York. The service is always AMAZING, the reception staff make this hotel!! You are welcomed when you arrive and always told to have a good day when you leave.
Complimentary hot chocolate in the winter, lemon water in summer.
The lifts take quite a long time during busy periods and rooms ending in 05 tend to hear them.
The rooms themselves are extremely cosy and I can't put in to words how nice the beds are. Best I have slept in in the states!
The hotel is in a great location, close to grand central so anywhere is easy to get to!
So, if you want a cosy, friendly, well located hotel that could almost be a boutique, head to the Fitz!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the street as it will be the lightest, allow a bit more time for the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always_1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Always_1A,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Let me say my review for this place is tainted by the fact that my employer paid for my night and I got a nice upgrade.

I think the corporate rate we paid was about $199 a night, before taxes, which is well below the rates posted on their website.

I had to stay over because of a snow storm. But this place was wonderful. Clean, nice, quiet and a really relaxing place.

The bar/restaurant is almost like a mini-museum for railbuffs! There are some excellent artifacts from the history of Ireland's railroads. I've never been to Ireland but this hotel totally makes me want to visit.

Thoroughly recommend the Fitzpatrick. I've stayed at the Lexington Avenue location as well between 56th and 57th and enjoyed it as much.

If you're visiting New York you can book this hotel with absolute confidence and the location is perfect, right next to Grand Central.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the street! While it's on a sidestreet between Lexington an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Frqflier,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

gret location in new york, bedrooms were fine

overall experience fine, will i stay here again? In a city that offers so much, probabaly not

The restaurant looks a bit like an old restaurant in Dublin, which should be good but is a little outdated i think

Room Tip: if you like the location, book it, can't go wrong for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Denise P,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I appreciate you taking taking the time to ppost your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, the location is excellent and although the Wheeltapper Bar did not appeal to you, we also have outdoor patio area for our guest's enjoyment.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 471 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#39 of 471 in New York City
291 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 471 in New York City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#48 of 471 in New York City
647 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#33 of 471 in New York City
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £113 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing