We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitz for your NY tripz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fitz for your NY tripz”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very happy with our stay and service here. Its midtown location is a big plus, beside Grand Central Station and within walking distance of 5th ave, Time Square, UN and Chrysler Buildings. Staff are courteous and helpful, they had no problem changing our room allocation when we asked for a room with a good view. Reception even checked with us later on to see if we needed anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    655
    158
    62
    24
See reviews for
303
1,064
93
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our stay at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel was not a joyful experience.

Having endured a long journey from England my wife and I arrived at the hotel c.13.00 to be dismissed with a curt, “Your room will not be ready until three o’clock”. I know that rooms are not always available if you arrive early however, to be dealt with in such a way, not even an offer of tea or coffee was awful.

Not a good start and it got worse.

We saved hard over a long period, like most people, for our five-night trip to New York (our first time) to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We had booked late 2013 and requested a quiet, high floor room because having arthritis and difficulty with walking our sightseeing is done during the day and invariably we go to bed early to watch TV and rest.

We were given a 4th floor room at the front!

The room was small, the decoration jaded, the TV was analogue and appalling to watch, but clean and I give credit to the cleaning staff who were really nice and helpful. As for noise, it is true that New York ‘never sleeps!’

The bar is ok but the staff spend more time talking with each other than looking after customers. The food is mediocre pub grub at best.

I noticed that staff rarely made eye contact in particular the reception staff. How strange.

I recognize and conclude that the hotel is geared towards corporate customers; repeat business on a regular basis. I listened to comments from staff and these customers and it was very clear that they are the hotel’s priority.

Our holiday was spoiled by the attitude of most staff and lack of care towards us. We felt like ‘ghosts’ walking about the hotel and bar.

The trip to New York was excellent. We saw lots of sights and thoroughly enjoyed its wonderful, friendly and helpful residents.

However, we do not have any fond memories of our stay at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bigness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I have just got back from a 2 week holiday in the US. We stayed at the Fitzpatrick for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. As we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary we were greeted with champagne and strawberries in the room on checking-in. The room was very clean and comfortable including the bed. Our room was quite high up and had a nice view down onto Lexington ave. It is excellently located and the staff were very attentive. An all round 10/10!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeandAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I made a quick overnight trip to New York and wanted a hotel at in a prime location at a great price. I got a good deal on my room. Honestly, I have paid twice as much in the past for other hotels that were not as clean and had worse service. The service was great. The front desk, concierge, housekeepers, and everyone we encountered were great. The room was clean. The bed was amazing. It is right down the street from Grand Central Station/Terminal and a few blocks from Bryant Park. So, the location is near perfect. I will definitely stay again. The only negative is the attached restaurant--the Wheeltapper. I expected a better pub from an Irish owned hotel. Other than that, the experience was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thundercat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear thundercal21,
Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Being so close to Grand Central station and the major attractions makes very convenient.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Front desk staff, concierge, housekeepers were all fantastic...comfortable rooms that are larger than most nyc hotels. Nice location without too much street noise, reasonable valet parking fees, all around good deal

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnVikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear bobnVikki,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Its great to read that you found us to be a good value and that our rooms are larger and quieter than normal. On your next trip I hope you get opportunity to spend some time on our patio area, its a great place to relax after a busy day.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and we both really enjoyed it. The room was big enough for the two of us, was cleaned everyday and spotless. Fresh towels everyday too. The bed was comfortable. I think people are nit picking when they complain about nice etc as we never heard a thing. I stayed on 7th floor and it was great.

The only thing I wrote on the comment card leaving was that the shower head could do with replacing, as it just sprayed water in one point, but it was great to use otherwise.

Well done to all the courteous and friendly staff and I hope I'll be back soon.


One thing I'd recommend everyone to do is buy the Subway 7 day pass - $30 and you can use it as much as you want. The subway goes everywhere in New York and is fast!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig_Wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Craig_Wade,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location is ideal! The folks at the hotel are great! The rooms were exceedingly clean -- nice bathrooms. Good beds. We had interior rooms which were VERY quiet. Were we to visit again, we would stay in the same hotel. Easy access to Grand Central, a nice bar, great coffee shops nearby. Just right.

Room Tip: We booked very early and got great prices -- and were not entitled to upgrade at our rates -- but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear WYjudy,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that we exceeded your expecations in cleanliness, beds and bathroom size and that the rooms are very quiet.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing