We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #47 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a late review but I just had to compliment this hotel. We stayed here for our honeymoon last July 13 and they upgraded us and we stayed in the Seamus Heaney suite which was very nice of them ,the hotel staff were very friendly, location excellent and food good too.i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lucey48,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the upgrade and found the location to be excellent.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

An excellent hotel situated in Midtown Manhattan, very central for visiting 5th Avenue, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre and Times Square. Also very convenient for Grand Central Station, Subway and the Hop-On, Hop Off bus stop. Very clean, good size room with comfortable bed. Daily room service excellent with a lovely, extra touch of bottled water and chocolates left every day. In addition, tea/coffee making facilities available which were replenished daily, however, a fridge would have been an added bonus. Very friendly, helpful staff. Wheeltapper bar adjoining the hotel is convenient for a drink and meal. Overall, an outstanding stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Gail B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are in an excellent location close the main sightseeing attractions and the very best shopping the city has to offer.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This privately owned hotel near Grand Central, but out of the frenzy, is a GREAT spot! Rooms are reasonable, very clean, outstanding baths, and a helpful, accommodating staff. The on-site restaurant is also reasonable and convenient, with satisfying menu selections. This is a great alternative to the big chains and within easy walking to Times Square, the theater district, and other attractions. Lexington and Third Avenue buses are also steps from the front door, as are many neighborhood coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Jeff B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the vibe of this small hotel situated in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and three minutes walk from Grand Central station. Good sized room, very clean, tea/ coffee facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The view from the third floor wasn't great as we were facing a little courtyard surrounded by a brickwall. Unfortunately wi-fi was free only in the lobby. Starbucks in the vicinity of the hotel and Pret a manger just around the corner, full of restaurants in the area .15 minutes walk from NY public Library, Bryant Park, Empire Stare Building, Fifth Av. ,Times Square. The concierge ( Sorry can't remember his name, but he' s from Pennsylvania ) was incredibly helpful. Check-in is a bit late at 3 o'clock especially if you come from a longhaul flt, they should take this aspect into consideration. All in all a positive experience, booked via Booking.com and found a good deal, even if it was around 4th July.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear 381Elena666,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights for my honeymoon in July 2013. First of most if not all European flights arrive into NY early morning time. We arrived around 1 and were shattered and just drying for a shower and a rest, I mean after 8 hours on a plane that's all you want to do. Unfortunately the rooms was not available until after 3 o'clock. The staff were not very friendly at all and just told us to go off and come back but it was 30c outside and we were in jeans and jumpers so we just sat in reflection for 3 hours.
The room was nice and clean and peaceful. I have to say I love a quiet room and i couldn't hear other guests.
The hotel is in a great location it's right across from grand central so it deserves 5 stars for location.
The bar down stairs is a rip off its around 20 dollars for a breakfast. Star bucks is across the road and they have wifi too.
There are defiantly cheaper and more modern hotels for young couples so next time I think I'll try one of them.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nerakire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just come back from New York after staying once again in Fitzpatricks Grand Central. This is a great hotel with brilliant staff- I have to give a special mention to Ciara who was so pleasant on reception and who on hearing it was my 60th birthday organised champagne and strawberries as a surprise. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ikmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear lkmd,

Congratulations on your 60th birthday and thank you for staying with us, I hope you a great time in the city.

I am very happy to read that Ciara was to make your stay enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here in January on our Honeymoon before our cruise, An Irish guy( Who I'm ashamed I forget his name) was brilliant.. -upgraded us to us a suite and upon coming back from shopping after our first day we came back to find champagne and strawberries in our room- such a nice touch! We were thrilled. Himself and al the staff were so lovely early greeted us by our names as we departed and entered the hotel, concierge were unreal too. Room was spotless. Hotel in general was and a lovely warm, friendly buzz to it. Pub was great too nice mix of American and Irish. Will definitely stay here again and have recommended it to all my friends! Can't say enough! Thank you Fitzpatricks!

Room Tip: Staff are so helpful so im sure you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank orlaith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Orlaith l,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and I am glad to see that we were able to upgrade you.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
245 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
591 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing