We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment that could have been avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment that could have been avoided”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would have liked to give a better rating based on some of the fantastic staff I came across during my recent stay and the great location of the hotel. However a few elements have meant a change of mind. Arrival was fine and I managed to get a change of room upon request. Returning at 3 which is the normal check in time I was told that the room was not ready. The staff informed me to wait at the lobby.Sadly other guests in a similar situation were given vouchers for drinks while waiting. Not very nice given that we were all guests-why the preference?

The killer however was my watch which I forgot in the room the last hour before check out. I take my share of the blame for forgetting it but within 20 minutes I realised this and returned to reception where one of the staff was 'helpful' in trying to trace it for me. It would have been nice to have had honesty because I don't believe for a moment that the room had not been accessed when I checked out as I was again advised. After about 10 minutes of waiting I was told that the watch had not been found and at this point allowed to go check for it. Of course by then there was no watch. I know that I should have been more careful-I however felt quite disappointed especially knowing that in just 20 minutes someone had picked up the watch! I however hope that guilt unsettles the mean person who took what didn't belong to them to the point where they return it. I have already emailed the hotel and again there has been no response, hence my poor rating! JN

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear JUDY N,

Thank you for staying with us in July.

I appreciate your kind comments about the staff you encountered during your stay. I am sorry that your watch was misplaced and that we have been unable to locate it. A thorough search was conducted by the manager immediately when you notified him of the issue. I have been unable to locate the email you mentioned, but I have tried to contact you via Tripadvisor to discuss the issue further.

Thank you for staying with us and I can be reached at pleyden@fitzpatrickhotels.com if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    652
    157
    62
    24
See reviews for
302
1,061
93
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 night's on July 14th.. Excellent location and it's across the road from grand central station. Added bonus is the airport shuttle leaves from I block away so no hauling luggage around the city to find transport to JFK. Hotel lovely and rooms were old but decorated nicely and the rooms were of a good size for NY. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem for them.. The concierge was good standard and made trips and plans hassle free. Each day we were given bottled water and chocolates in our room which was nice touch.. Only downside that I could see were no wifi in the rooms unless you paid (only hotel across the world I have ever had to pay for wifi so don't know what that is all about, free wifi in lobby tho) no fridge in the room and the air con unit made some buzzing noise but it is what It is! Would definitely be staying here on return trips!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevConlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I can't understand where this place is getting all the great reviews from. We stayed here recently and would never stay here again. The place is cold and has absolutely no atmosphere. We found the staff unhelpful and unprofessional....but worst of all was our room. It was tiny, with the tiniest bathroom I've ever seen. We were on honeymoon and asked to change rooms as we would be there nearly a week...on three different occasions staff refused to even entertain the suggestion...telling us to come back and check the following day. The hotel smells funny throughout...can't make out what the smell is, and the carpets are old and grubby.
We used to sit in the lobby to use wifi, from here we could clearly hear staff discussing hotel business...from complaining about house cleaning staff leaving without cleaning all the rooms, to the hotel being overbooked and their only hope being that some guests wouldn't show up.
I wasn't expecting this place to be a fab hotel or anything but thought that it would be a friendly, warm place with clean, basic rooms...it failed on all levels for us. If going to NY make your stay better by not booking this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Acar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a late review but I just had to compliment this hotel. We stayed here for our honeymoon last July 13 and they upgraded us and we stayed in the Seamus Heaney suite which was very nice of them ,the hotel staff were very friendly, location excellent and food good too.i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Lucey48,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the upgrade and found the location to be excellent.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

An excellent hotel situated in Midtown Manhattan, very central for visiting 5th Avenue, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre and Times Square. Also very convenient for Grand Central Station, Subway and the Hop-On, Hop Off bus stop. Very clean, good size room with comfortable bed. Daily room service excellent with a lovely, extra touch of bottled water and chocolates left every day. In addition, tea/coffee making facilities available which were replenished daily, however, a fridge would have been an added bonus. Very friendly, helpful staff. Wheeltapper bar adjoining the hotel is convenient for a drink and meal. Overall, an outstanding stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Gail B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are in an excellent location close the main sightseeing attractions and the very best shopping the city has to offer.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This privately owned hotel near Grand Central, but out of the frenzy, is a GREAT spot! Rooms are reasonable, very clean, outstanding baths, and a helpful, accommodating staff. The on-site restaurant is also reasonable and convenient, with satisfying menu selections. This is a great alternative to the big chains and within easy walking to Times Square, the theater district, and other attractions. Lexington and Third Avenue buses are also steps from the front door, as are many neighborhood coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jeff B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino, Italia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the vibe of this small hotel situated in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and three minutes walk from Grand Central station. Good sized room, very clean, tea/ coffee facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The view from the third floor wasn't great as we were facing a little courtyard surrounded by a brickwall. Unfortunately wi-fi was free only in the lobby. Starbucks in the vicinity of the hotel and Pret a manger just around the corner, full of restaurants in the area .15 minutes walk from NY public Library, Bryant Park, Empire Stare Building, Fifth Av. ,Times Square. The concierge ( Sorry can't remember his name, but he' s from Pennsylvania ) was incredibly helpful. Check-in is a bit late at 3 o'clock especially if you come from a longhaul flt, they should take this aspect into consideration. All in all a positive experience, booked via Booking.com and found a good deal, even if it was around 4th July.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear 381Elena666,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing