We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete package except for the valet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Complete package except for the valet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The rooms were small but updated and extremely clean. The staff was awesome!! Only issue was valet service. Double the price of a garage less than a block away. We waited one hour for the car to show up without any apologies from the service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacCrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    643
    156
    61
    24
See reviews for
295
1,049
93
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Front desk staff were fantastic from the moment we walked in to the time we checked out. Our room was very clean and beds were comfortable. There was no noise which was quite surprising since the hotel is in a busy area. The hotel is a very short walk from Grand Central Station. Lots of places to eat nearby so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterWhite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We returned to Fitzpatrick Grand Central for the second time in August 2014, just 6 months after our last visit for our honeymoon. This was the first hotel that we have ever been impressed enough to visit more than once, and we weren't disappointed.
We had asked for a specific room, and no arrival we were pleased to be informed that this had been allocated to us. A nice touch in a hotel that is as busy as this one is.
We stayed on the 7th floor. The room was very well maintained, and kept very clean by the staff who came in every day to change linen, make beds etc. There was no noise at night, either from other guests, or from the world outside. No traffic noise to speak of. We slept very well indeed.
It was nice to be recognised by some of the staff on reception, who were all very helpful to ourselves and all other guests we saw.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Midtown, you won't find much better than this. The location is excellent - 2 minutes walk from Grand Central Terminal, and 15 minutes stroll from Times Square. Lots of nice places to eat and drink within easy access.
We hope to come back again at some point.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped at this hotel with my mum during our trip to New York. From when we first walked in to when we left for the airport we had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were able to print off our boarding cards ready for our trip home too. I couldn't single out just one member of staff though - they were all fab.

We booked our hotel through British Airways and requested 2 beds, although this wasn't guaranteed. When we had checked in and went to our room we opened the door to find two queen beds and a very large room at that. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, including my bed at home!! Please can I have one?

To use Wifi in your room, you are charged, but it is free in the hotel lobby and was very fast - we used it to FaceTime back home.

Each night there was a knock at our door (if we were in) and we were given some mint chocolates and two bottles of water, which was a really lovely touch. If we weren't in our room they were left on the table.

The hotel was brilliant and I would definitely recommend it. When I go back to New York I would definitely stay here again.

We even met a tennis payer in the lift who was very lovely!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight on Tuesday 8/19. Everyone at the front desk were great. The room was smaller than we thought. The shower head was horrible and sprayed everywhere but on you. The view was a brick building and the patio. The blackout curtains only went so far and the regular curtains were so low the air conditioner was blowing them. The bed was comfortable but I noticed that their wasn't a fitted sheet on just a regular sheet not tucked in. The tile in the shower looked new but the grout on the bathroom floor was a little dingy. Due to us checking in a little later than we had anticipated we asked for a refrigerator but they were out. For the money we spent I expected a little more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in July on the last leg of 3 weeks of travelling and it really was a great place to end our trip. The hotel is a short stroll from Times Square and Grand Central Station and is located on a quiet road with very little noise. We ate in the bar one evening and found the food to be delicious. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful at all times and we were even upgraded and treated to Champagne & strawberries to celebrate our honeymoon. Gestures like that go such a long way for travelers like us who rarely experience the luxury of a suite. Our room was over looking the beer garden and even with the World Cup going on we were never disturbed by noise, the super comfortable bed probably helped with that! Really enjoyable stay and we will definitely return some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinM1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We only stayed for one night, but after walking around New York for 10 hours, our stay felt like heaven. From the calming bathroom with yummy products, to the bathrobes, to the excellent heavy sheets I felt so pampered. Our room was on the second floor and we didn't hear a peep. It was so quiet and cozy. In the morning, we had room service that was delivered promptly and other than the eggs being cold was pretty good (I could have called and complained but was too hungry to wait another 30-40 minutes). I would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinnurse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing