We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, pleasant surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed in Fitzpatricks Grand Central Hotel for six nights during Christmas. We were extremely happy with this hotel. Staff were friendly, concierge was helpful and courteous. The room was immaculately clean, it was a good size as was the bathroom. The shower also worked well. It is located off Lexington avenue, just a short walk from grand Central Station and a 15-20 minute walk to Times Square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a high quality hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    655
    158
    62
    24
See reviews for
303
1,064
93
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We really liked staying at this hotel. The beds were blissfully comfortable, everything in the bedroom and bathroom worked, all the staff were extremely friendly and obliging, and just a hop from Grand Central. Adjoining Irish pub offered high quality tradiional Irish food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_swift1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caruaru, PE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I Just arrived from NYC and I've stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central as my group stayed at the Grand Hyatt that is next this hotel. But while I've being there I realised that this hotel is much better than the Hyatt for exemple that costs much more.
The staff is friendly and professional, the rooms have good sizes, extremely comfortable beds. The hotels brings us a feel of personal service, as it's not a big hotel.
When I return to NYC it will always be my place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonioSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This was our first visit to the Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, but now we plan to make it our NYC place to stay. We loved everything about this hotel...the friendly comfortable ambience, the very accommodating and professional staff, (under the expert direction of Nicholas), the cleanliness and understated, elegant decor and amenities. The location could not be better...just a quick one block walk from Grand Central Station...very convenient if you're wheeling a suitcase. If you like to walk, it's easy to get to museums and theater, shops and restaurants. We highly suggest that you give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenlady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Just returned from two nights at the Fitzpatrick. Really enjoyed the stay. Was in a standard room with 1 king bed. Very, very comfortable bed in a nice sized room (at least for NYC). Decent sized bathroom as well. Overall a very pleasant stay. Location of this hotel can't be beat for its proximity to GCT. Walk across the street and hop on a subway to wherever you need to go. A few restaurants/bars in the neighborhood, but nothing outstanding. Had a drink in the Wheeltapper, but didn't try any food. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful but not over the top which was perfect for us. Was there during the timing of the "Blizzard of 2009" and didn't notice any problems. Arrived before check-in and the room wasn't ready yet, but they held our bags and even offered maps and touring ideas. Looking forward to returning next year. The hotel is not flashy but gets the job done and keeps you satisfied.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

My first impression of the hotel is that is was quaint. The front desk person I initially dealt with upon checking in was not helpful. Unfortunately, I had to go back to the desk twice to finally get into a decent room. Once we did get the room we requested, it was very clean and nice. The rooms in NYC aren't overly roomy but with the two beds, it was definitely enough room for two people. The hotel is also very quiet and although we heard people, it was quite pleasant. The beds are also extremely comfortable! The location of the hotel is perfect - right next to the Grand Central Station, easy location to grab a cab and walking distance to a lot of the main attractions. I would stay here again but I would also make very clear on my room expectations.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Well appointed hotel not far from the hussle and bustle but still quiet enough to get a nights sleep. ten min walk to times sq, central park. right opposite grand central station.
Not too pricy for NY but still expensive enough. The grub in the attached bar was a bit ropey and the pint was well expensive. Best head somewhere else for your food. No gym on the premises either but these are small things really.
We really enjoyed the stay in a spacious room with attentive staff, great cleanliness throughout and as said well located.
The other Fitzpatrick hotel was nearer CP and looked nice also.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing