We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC School Trip”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“NYC School Trip”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

For us a group of 25 the Hotel was the perfect location and it was nice and clean. Would stay again beds were super comfy. We had such a great trip and were able to walk to Time Square, Central Park plus all the other attractions or we hopped on the Subway. For a larger group it is very convenient and we felt very safe. The rooms do not have a great view but located right beside the famous David Letterman Theatre. Staff were great, doorman/bellman and his partner were very friendly when leaving or going (nice touch Jeff) and looked after our luggage without us worrying the day we were leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with our staff. Again, may we wish you safe travels !! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    1,850
    485
    113
    62
See reviews for
1,207
1,980
226
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Jeff, Julian and Curtis were the best doormen we have met in all our travels. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
GREAT location. Close to theatres, Central park. has been done up. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Close to subway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room you can fit 2 suitcases in. Manhattan hotel rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hotel is awesome! Beautiful decor both in lobby and room. The room was a decent size for a NYC hotel, there was actually space to walk! Bed was comfy, bathroom was beautiful, everything very clean. The location is awesome, close enough to Times Square but not all the noise, an easy walk to 5th Ave and Central Park. Very happy with this choice!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Ellen R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards, Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Clean hotel, great staff, very good breakfast and fabulous location (convenient to walk to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, shopping, Times Square, Theater) just around the corner from the David Letterman Theater. Comfortable beds. Although there was adequate room for the 2 double beds and a desk, there was no place to unpack our clothes or to place our suitcases, and only a tiny closet. There were 2 of us so this was very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Had heard about the noise problem from the construction across the street so the staff gave us an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfdAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear bfAtlanta,
I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had at our hotel. We have infact completed renovations in our rooms and I am sorry to hear the rooms were not to your liking. I can assure you your comments have been forwarded to each department for review.
We appreciate all feedback from our guests - both positive and negative to improve in all areas of guest satisfaction. We hope that you may give our hotel, or one of our sister properties another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes. Firstly the room was really comfortable and clean. The air-con was a little noisy and I didn't have a great view from my room but these were minor issues and in no way spoilt my stay. There's free Wi-Fi, the hotel breakfast was good ($13 + tax) and the hotel is a short walk from both Central Park and Time Square. Lots of good restaurants in Hell's Kitchen close by. Staff were helpful and courteous. All in all I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Newlands Middlesex
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Ontario canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The staff was fantastic especially Julianne the doorman he made us feel like family and the maid was great our from was very quiet and clean. The location was great .the room was small for 4 people but the beds were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillmarq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hello jiilmarg56,
WOW! Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are highly thrilled that you had a great memorable experience during your stay.
We cannot wait for you to visit us again soon!!

Thank you and travel safely!
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I was in LOVE with this hotel! The style was classy, it was spotless, and it was so close to everything! I loved the décor! I found myself with camera in hand trying to take pictures of everything to imitate some of this classy modern style into my own life. The staff was warm and friendly, from the door people, to the front desk help, and everyone we ran into in between. We felt very safe and were in walking distance of everything in time square. The beds were soft, impeccably white and clean, and overall wonderful to sleep in which is a huge plus when we all know there's certain beds out there none of us want to touch in hotels let alone get a good nights rest in. While on vacation when all you want to do is relax these hotel rooms surely help you do just that. There is a hugely modern theme from the wall art to the appliances; the bathroom was fresh, new, and once again... Spotless. The shower was luxurious and there was overly enough mirror space for all of us ladies who like to primp before a night out in the big city! Needless to say, my family and I had a great trip and this hotel made a great impression in just the short weekend stay that we were there for! I have been searching online for deals for this hotel for once again this summer, we found it originally at a great price and can't wait to return again this year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbarisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Gbarisano, Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.
Kind Regards, Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,961 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing