We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #125 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Myself and a friend recently stayed at the Ameritania for four nights in early June. The location is a bit North of where I'm used to staying, but being close to Central Park was a nice touch. The staff at this hotel are really great. The front desk was very helpfull for any questions we had regarding the rooms or the hotels and the bellboys were great with giving us advise on restaurants to go to close by. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Ameritania again and I would recommend it to anyone that asks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear ,Chrisboung
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers! We are thrilled you had such an good experience and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. See you next time!

All the best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,371 - 3,377 of 5,397 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend and had tickets to Wicked at the Gershwin Theater. The hotel is right off Broadway and was two blocks from the theater. Close to Times Square and only about 1.2 miles from Grand Central Station. The hotel is an older building but very nicely redone. The room was fairly spacious as NYC hotel rooms go. The bed was nice and soft and the pillows were super. Air conditioning is easy to run to cool or heat room. The bathroom was nice, but there were some damaged tiles and the door was chipped in spots. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I would have given it a higher rating but the damage in the bathroom gave it kind of a shoddy feel, even though it did not affect our stay at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear ,happytravin99
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers! We are thrilled you had such an good experience and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. See you next time!

All the best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Thanks to everyone at Ameritania Hotel for making our first trip to the US a worry free experience. The rooms were clean and well-equipped (the decor is very cool and modern), the staff very friendly, and the location perfect for getting around and seeing all of the sights, with Central Park and Times Square in easy walking distance. Special thanks to Jeff at the front door for helping us to organise our way around the city and to the airport, it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Street-facing rooms are great. We had a room further up the back, but requested early on to be moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Matt T,

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was grand and that Jeff made you feel welcome. I hope that for a future visit to NYC you return to the Ameritania Hotel!

Best Regards,


Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Overall a friendly hotel in a great location. The back rooms are quiet,we heard no road noise. The room was also relatively large for New York, having stayed at the Hudson and Casablanca prior to this.
If I have one criticism it is the cleanliness, honestly a good Hoover would not go amiss!

There is a great bar next door, "the 3 monkey's".

We would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingus187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My girlfriend and I have recently returned from a short break in New York, staying at the Ameritania. This is our first time writing a tripadvisor review but we felt this hotel warranted it. We had a fantastic time, really couldn't fault it, friendly and helpful staff who were able to offer great advise on everything. The hotel knew it was our anniversary and gave us a free room upgrade to an amazing room on the 9th floor with a great view down Broadway. The room we had was very clean and being on the 9th floor it was pretty quiet. Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all the sights, would highly recommend the grayline bus tours for getting to the best tourist spots around the city. The staff really make the hotel and the doorman Jamal made our stay even better, always very friendly and offered good advise about were to eat and sorted out a nice car instead of a taxi to take us back to the airport which was a great way to finish the trip. Would highly recommend the hotel to anybody planning a trip to New York and if we ever go we will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Aidan H,

Thank you so much for your great feedback! I am thrilled to know that you chose the Ameritania for such an important occassion. I will surely pass on your compliments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

Best Regards,


Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We seem to always stay at Ameritania 54th and Broadway. The hotel is clean neat and comfortable. The location is very convenient. The staff are helpful but not cloying. Linens are nice and bathrooms are plenty big and bright.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Mary M,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am glad to know that your stay was great and that the room accomodations met your expectations. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,


Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We just stayed at the Ameritania during the first week of June, 2013 and it was an amazing experience. The hotel is beautiful, clean and inviting. The staff is very friendly, accomodating and always willing to answer questions and give direction. We walked to Times Square multiple times per day because it is just a few blocks down. The room was amazing. It was a little on the smaller side but very clean, well decorated and modern. Loved it!! I am ready to go back.

I have to say a special thank you to Javier in the bar. He makes great drinks, very friendly and personable. We enjoyed talking to him at night while we enjoyed one of his signature martini's. You have to go meet him, he is great.

One more thing. The bed are incredibly comfortable. I was very impressed with this because usually hotel beds are terrible but I wanted to take this bed home with me.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor which was great for reduced noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shafferquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear shafferquad,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor! I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the room was comfortable. I will surely pass on your great compliments to Javier! Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,


Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#80 of 469 in New York City
1,895 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,461 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 469 in New York City
7,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,200 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#129 of 469 in New York City
5,623 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £113 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing