We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #126 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Excellent Location on 54th Street and Broadway only 5 minutes from Times Square. Reasonable value for money in a city centre hotel. Service was excellent apart from first night on arrival when after flight delays we arrived around 11.15 p.m desperate for a drink of tea or coffee only to be told it was not available but we could go down the street for one. The hotel promises a 24 hour room service and apologised to us the following morning. The room we were in was one of the rooms shown in the Ameritania website with views along Broadway. The bed was comfortable but it would benefit by having tea and coffee making facilities available in the room. Taxis to and from the airport are relatively expensive being about $55 plus tip. Continental Breakfast in the hotel at $12 was fine but on a budget go and eat at one of the chains for cheaper breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Dave604,

Thank you very much for emailing us and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I do hope that you enjoyed your stay despite the misunderstanding during your first night. We do offer room service in the guest rooms 24 hours Monday-Saturday and until 9pm on Sundays. I hope that for a future reservation you consider to return to the Ameritania. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,


Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,494 - 3,500 of 5,556 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at the Ameritania for the second time last weekend. Unfortunately, the stay was not as pleasant as the last time around. The air conditioning unit was very loud and woke us up each time it turned on (every hour or so overnight). Additionally, we found an unpleasant stain on the sheets (unfortunately we did not notice until we were packing up our things; I will spare you the details). We were only there for one night, so it was too late to switch rooms. Will likely look for alternate arrangements on the next trip to the city.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After tirelessly reading reviews on New York hotels I finally decided on the Ameritania Hotel. I was a little concerned after reading review on how small the rooms were that we were going to be crammed in like we were in our hotel in Paris. To our delight we had a corner room with more than enough space for 2 adults with 4 bags, Check in was a breeze, the doormen polite and the retro influenced decor was definately a highlight for us. Our room was spotless and the bed very compfortable. Turn down service every night with chocolates was nice to return home to. The only downfall with our room was the airconditioner was a little noisy. We were on the 8th floor and really didn't have a problem with street noise.
The hotel location was fabulous and we even managed to get tickets to a Late Show with David Letterman taping. It was my birthday whilst staying and the hotel staff left me a beautiful birthday letter and a huge cupcake from Crumbs bakery. This certainly made me feel special and it was these nice personal touches that added to our wonderful stay. Javier the barman was awesome and always remembered your favourite drinks. The 3 Monkees restaurant next door was nice for too.
Thank you Ameritania for making our New York stay truly wonderful.

Room Tip: We had room 805. Corner room with views of Broadway. Large room with plenty of space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear, LeanneB73
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location - right on the doorstep of Times Square and only a short walk to Central Park. Whilst the bed was really comfortable, the decor was very basic and we ended up moving rooms because there were tiles falling off in the shower. The window to our original room looked straight on to a brick wall and we were upgraded to a suite for our last night whilst they worked on the shower cubicle. Twice the size of the first room and a view over 7th Avenue - but this is where they are building a new hotel and there was a lot of noise. However, a reasonably priced hotel and for us it was all about the location.

Room Tip: Don't pay for breakfast - 11 dollars for a very very limited buffet and Starbucks is only just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear ,Claireabc
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers! We are thrilled you had such an good experience and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. See you next time!

All the best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had just one night to spend in NY for a family celebration, and wanted to make it great. We got a good deal through Expedia at the Ameritania, and it turned out to be just terrific. Fabulous location, easy walking distance to theaters, Times Square, etc.--and a nice walk, too, right down Broadway. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful--they even brought ice up to the room for us, and didn't wait for a tip! The lobby is large and inviting, the rooms very pleasant (smallish NYC rooms, of course), and everything spotless. And just as other reviewers have said, the beds are terrific! We would recommend it HIGHLY!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear TravellerZA:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we wil lshare your positive feedback with our staff. Again, may we wish you safe travels !! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

first time we visited New York and we stayed here..have to say it is an amazing hotel, very friendly and very clean..from the moment we entered the staff where very attentive...we where a party of 7 and 2 separate rooms, (3 of which where minors) ..we booked a return taxis to he airport, and cos the taxis broke down we got a limousine..perfect ending to a perfect holiday..would recommend this hotel to anyone..have to say a massive thank up to Mourad for his help..he was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinab75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear tinab75_13,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us know. Our staff’s number one priority is service and it’s great to hear we were able to meet your expectations. We would be honored to have you stay with us more often and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time so we could arrange the reservation to your liking. We hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I was there for the Gran Fondo New York, so I need some special attetion because of my bike and Jeff and Mario were of great help. Congratulations to the hotel staff.
Thank you, Mario for the tips of where to have a good meal.

Room Tip: Good rooms. Ask for rooms with a view of NY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrennoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 471 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 471 in New York City
5,594 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#121 of 471 in New York City
3,328 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £73 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing