We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale chic hotel with great location”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale chic hotel with great location”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hospitality of staff was great! The rooms were spacious and modern for NYC! Location was awesome & close to all the attractions (Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller plaza, etc). Would definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to the city!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwiki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,438
    1,881
    495
    117
    63
See reviews for
1,243
2,016
234
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lajolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very gracious and friendly hosts. Awesome location . beautiful and modern. Robert at the breakfast was very nice and everyone made sure we were being taking care of. They even had a birthday present for me. Thank you Ameritania.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Moji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear MojiA
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on, We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at rmoore@amsterdamhospitality.com

Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Ameritania and what a fabulous stay it was! The rooms were lovely and big - occasionally a bit hot but easily sorted with the air con. The central lobby had a very modern feel whilst being cosy and comforting at the same time!
The location was perfect for first time New Yorkers, being a short distance from both Times Square and Central Park.
The thing that made this hotel however was the staff - what a great bunch they are! Always there to help and ensure that our stay was the best it could be. Numerous times members of staff were willing to book restaurants, tours and visits for us. The doormen, who were always ready to help and have a chat, were just great - special mention to Jeff who helped us when our transfer to the airport was running late - THANK YOU!!!! Also, to Chris for just being lovely!
STAY IN THIS HOTEL, IT'S GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just returned from five nights at the Ameritania and have to say that the hotel exceeded my expectations. I chose the hotel after looking at Trip Advisor and all the comments I read were accurate. I did take the advice to ask for a room on the 12th floor to minimize the road noise. I emailed my request beforehand and had room 1215.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location, clean and very friendly staff. Room size larger than expected for NYC. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NYC. Steps away from time square and central park :)


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Boutique may bring up a host of opinions, but this one (recently remodeled) has it's own charm. While he building itself suffers mildly from its age, the rooms feel very European and comfortable.

The thing that pushed this to a four star review was the absolute attentiveness of every staff member there. From the doorman who are always ready to help (in our case, carrying my toddler's stroller up icy stairs) to the breakfast staff that went out to find soy milk SPECIFICALLY so my wife could have her cereal, each of them made us feel like they were there especially for us.

It's location is perfect for someone new to the city (which my guests were) and the price is damned hard to beat with its proximity to Time Square and Central Park.

Try this hotel. Don't go expecting the Four Seasons, but be prepared to expect every five star staff to outdo the service of this staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bartisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic 10 day stay. Room always clean and the bed was very comfortable. Not big rooms but this is New York and didn't spend much time in it. The doormen always helpful and gave good advice. Any request or question was handled immediately. Fantastic location and seemed central to everything. Did not feel like a room number like you do in a big hotel. Very welcoming.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#76 of 468 in New York City
1,781 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#68 of 468 in New York City
5,030 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#102 of 468 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,937 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing