We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in NYC”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #126 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. First of all the location was perfect. A few blocks from Times Square made for easy sight seeing. The room was tastefully decorated and it was bigger than I expected for NY. We had 2 adults and 2 children and fit fine. In fact, the room was very cozy and the beds were super comfy. I loved the modern decorations too. The staff was very accommodating. In fact, there were 2 delicious cupcakes waiting for my kids on the night stand when we checked in! Chris at the front desk was super nice and very helpful. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone with no reserves. I'd recommend to the hotel to add a few signs at eye level to advertise their hotel. It's hard to spot when you are on W54th as the most prominent signs are the Broadway side. We had trouble spotting it with all the traffic! Otherwise, we loved our little vacation at this comfortable and friendly hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klondrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,208 - 3,214 of 5,557 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hospitality of staff was great! The rooms were spacious and modern for NYC! Location was awesome & close to all the attractions (Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller plaza, etc). Would definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to the city!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwiki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very gracious and friendly hosts. Awesome location . beautiful and modern. Robert at the breakfast was very nice and everyone made sure we were being taking care of. They even had a birthday present for me. Thank you Ameritania.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Moji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear MojiA
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on, We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at rmoore@amsterdamhospitality.com

Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Ameritania and what a fabulous stay it was! The rooms were lovely and big - occasionally a bit hot but easily sorted with the air con. The central lobby had a very modern feel whilst being cosy and comforting at the same time!
The location was perfect for first time New Yorkers, being a short distance from both Times Square and Central Park.
The thing that made this hotel however was the staff - what a great bunch they are! Always there to help and ensure that our stay was the best it could be. Numerous times members of staff were willing to book restaurants, tours and visits for us. The doormen, who were always ready to help and have a chat, were just great - special mention to Jeff who helped us when our transfer to the airport was running late - THANK YOU!!!! Also, to Chris for just being lovely!
STAY IN THIS HOTEL, IT'S GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just returned from five nights at the Ameritania and have to say that the hotel exceeded my expectations. I chose the hotel after looking at Trip Advisor and all the comments I read were accurate. I did take the advice to ask for a room on the 12th floor to minimize the road noise. I emailed my request beforehand and had room 1215.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location, clean and very friendly staff. Room size larger than expected for NYC. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NYC. Steps away from time square and central park :)


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Boutique may bring up a host of opinions, but this one (recently remodeled) has it's own charm. While he building itself suffers mildly from its age, the rooms feel very European and comfortable.

The thing that pushed this to a four star review was the absolute attentiveness of every staff member there. From the doorman who are always ready to help (in our case, carrying my toddler's stroller up icy stairs) to the breakfast staff that went out to find soy milk SPECIFICALLY so my wife could have her cereal, each of them made us feel like they were there especially for us.

It's location is perfect for someone new to the city (which my guests were) and the price is damned hard to beat with its proximity to Time Square and Central Park.

Try this hotel. Don't go expecting the Four Seasons, but be prepared to expect every five star staff to outdo the service of this staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bartisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 471 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 471 in New York City
5,595 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#121 of 471 in New York City
3,328 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £73 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing