We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameritania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,850)
Filter reviews
5,850 results
Traveller rating
2,913
2,155
558
143
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,913
2,155
558
143
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral parktimes squaregreat locationnew yorkfree wifidoor staffaround the cornerfew blocksgreat showerspecial thankswould definitely stay here againtwo double bedscorner roomstreet noisesmall roomthe theater districtbig apple
Filter
Updating list...
3,425 - 3,430 of 5,850 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Ideal location, staff friendly and helpful.

We booked a deluxe room due to requiring two beds. Room was on the 7th floor. When we walked in there was a lovely full length mirror but could not be used as no lighting close by so was dark part of the room. Only other mirror was in the bathroom.

We reported door could not be locked inside and maintenance said they would send someone to look. It was never repaired.

Found the room a bit too dark but was not a problem as for us as it was a base in new york.

I asked about wifi and the helpful receptionist gave me a password so did not have to pay.

I would recommend this hotel and being a travel agent have booked two other customers in there.

All in all lovely stay, nothing too much trouble with the staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premiertravelkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent location, literally 10m off of Broadway and 5 minute walk from the park and square. Rooms were clean, modern and spacious, however thats as good as it gets. Staff were quick to get rid of you, Wifi is charged at $15 a day and if you ask the hotel porters to get you a cab they contact their "friend" who is much more expensive than an ordinary yellow cab.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivesy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear iIvesy1982 I am so glad you had a great stay at Ameritania Hotel! Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us! It was wonderful to hear that our hotel met your expectations. I am especially thrilled that you found our service to be helpful and ongoing. We are so happy to have been able to make your New York experience even more wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a little gem of a hotel the Ameritania is. Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of December and found it to be perfect. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to Broadway, Times Square, Central Park etc. Our room on the 8th floor was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. All staff from Doormen, Reception and Cleaners were very helpful and pleasant and very willing to assist should you need assistance. Should we visit New York again we would certainly stay at the Ameritania.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After an Airtrain ride from JFK and the subway across Manhattan, the Ameritania Hotel was real easy to find from the 57th Street station. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Janeth, who allowed us to check-in slightly early and, wow, had upgraded us to a suite on the 12th floor!

The suite was amazing with a huge bed, separate living area with sofa, chairs, desk and TV and a very good shower room. As a thoughtful touch, the staff had left me a birthday cake and message which was lovely.

Being on the 12th floor meant that the room did get quite warm (despite it being freezing outside!) but this was overcome by running the air conditioning in the living room and just leaving the bedroom doors ajar to keep the noise down. I opened a window a couple of times which helped a little with getting the air through although this also brought the typical New York sounds of sirens!

The hotel could not be more perfectly positioned to explore Manhattan. Times Square is just a few minutes walk and the theatres of Broadway are literally on the doorstep. If you're happy to use the subway, which is cheap and safe, then the whole of the island can be accessed from the stations that are just a few blocks away from the Ameritania.

I can't comment on the food as we didn't use the hotel restaurant at all. Nothing wrong, just wanted to make the most of being out and about. Breakfast came from either the bagel place across the street or from any one of the numerous diners to the east of the hotel. The public areas of the hotel are very bright and welcoming with some unusual decor which made a refreshing change from the beige boxes you so often find in cities.

All in all, the Ameritania Hotel exceeded my expectations and delivered a fabulous stay. The staff can't do enough for you, are friendly and helpful and take pride in their work. When (not if!) I return to NY, then I will be coming back.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are quieter and the construction work has almost finished on 54th Street so rooms facing away from Broadway are a good bet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PusscatT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon

Renaldo Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel has obviously been remodeled, the rooms are modern and comfortable (despite being a bit small), a great find in NYC. The staff is especially friendly and very nice. I just wish they had a bit more storage (shelves or drawers), but this is minor, compared to everything else. Kudos! =)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carioca001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews