We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #126 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

LOVED this hotel. Price, location and reviews re: cleanliness were the deciding factors. New York is famously expensive so finding a great deal was crucial.

Tucked in the middle of the block was this wonderful hotel. Very modern ambiance and décor in the lobby. Dramatic color scheme. Hospitable staff. Cute as a button room with King bed, fridge. Some reviewers complained that the rooms are small. Unless you're moving your own furniture in, the space is just enough for two people. The ultra modern shower was also a big hit. Lots of hot water. The alley "view" wasn't nice, but it was only an overnighter so we kept the drapes drawn. Problem solved. Two things they could improve on are: the lighting--way too dim for reading, and seating--there's nowhere to sit except on the bed, on a hard desk chair or on a backless bench against the wall. A small comfy chair would've been nice. These things were minor compare to the wonderful cleanliness, super location and competitive price. A gem of a place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon

Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,537
    1,925
    505
    119
    64
See reviews for
1,314
2,064
242
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a great time!!!! The hotel was in a great location. We would stay here again!!!!! The rooms were small but perfect for two. The staff were very nice and helpful!!!! It was my first time in NYC and it was a great trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We got caught in a blizzard that hit NYC and were forced to stay in the city 3 extra nights and this hotel gave us an amazing rate and allowed us to stay on a day by day basis until we were able to fly out. They were super friendly and valued my service to my country as I serve our military. They were awesome and helped us turn a bad situation into an amazing mini vacation. When we come back we will always stay at the Ameritania Hotel. Katherine was the lady who helped us and was awesome. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uscgkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for sharing this review with potential guests of Ameritania Hotel., I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful throughout your stay and helped to make it a memorable guest experience. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later!

Warm regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked this hotel because of the price but more importantly because of the location...It is a few blocks away from the theater district,in other words within walking distance...Just across the street is a pizza place and a Starbucks.But, let's start with the check in. We arrived at the hotel on Saturday the 4th of Jan. at around 2:00, which was an hour early from the check in time. We were greeted by two lovely ladies which checked us in. We were in our room in less then 5 minutes. I had called earlier to let the hotel know that we will be celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary . We found a note with "Congrats on the event" & a bottle of champagne .Thank you mgmt. The front desk answered any questions we had as to where to go & how to get around the city. Will stay here again......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Andrew R
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on, We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. If I can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at rmoore@amsterdamhospitality.com

Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is in a great location if you want to be close to Times Square and the Broadway theatres. The concierge staff were very friendly, in particular Julian; the reception staff a bit less friendly. The hotel is in a boutique style and the rooms are quite a decent size for a New York hotel and clean. However, the door was worn and the lock on the door wasn't very secure and this was a concern. I didn't eat at the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby, including some good ones on either side of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

For our annual December trip, we ventured away from our "regular" Murray Hill haunts and looked for a Midtown space. We found the Ameritania a wonderful and affordable place, with a friendly & helpful staff, clean & spacious room and excellent location "in the middle of it all," just a few doors down from the site of legendary Studio 54 and around the corner from David Letterman's studio. Loved the cozy lobby bar. Followed the advice found here and requested a room on one of the higher floors; we got a room on the 10th floor, which was perfect. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors, to alleviate some of the city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKFGSF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear MKFGSF2012 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback. Our team is happy to know we made you feel right at home. We appreciate your recommendation to others and hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location just at the top of Broadway close to Central park. Staff, especially the Concierge were very helpful and mines of info. Complimentary breakfast was a godsend especially on Xmas day. Rooms were well serviced and comfortable - although could benefit from a few more drawers or cupboards, as places to stow away your stuff was limited. Had been very worried before arrival as Reception staff not great at responding to emails with questions prior to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors, upgrade if possible. Always report any maintenance problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear, JCRP20
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 466 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,187 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#137 of 466 in New York City
5,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#327 of 466 in New York City
6,875 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#116 of 466 in New York City
1,248 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing