We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE Stay”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“NYE Stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I love this hotel for its rooms and the location. But had some issues pump arrival and departure. I think this hotel would be completely great if maybe the front desk was more professional and understanding. My reservation was made way in advance I was not given the room I was reserved for nor the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosiemartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We take great pride in the quality of our service and are glad that you felt well taken care of. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore and Amertania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    1,874
    495
    116
    63
See reviews for
1,237
2,011
233
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Page
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Normally you can check in at the hotel from 3pm. We arrived around 1pm because we had an early flight and were pleasantly surprised that our room was already available and we could check in immediately.

When checking out this hotel, one of the things that held me back to book immediately was the price they charge for WiFi. We're both heavy internet users so we were delighted when we received complementary WiFi during our stay. I don't know if this is a policy change but it certainly was a great gift (very fast internet also).

The room itself was small but clean and contemporary. The size didn't really bother us, we had smaller rooms on our last NYC and SF trips. There was plenty closet space too so after unpacking we didn't get a cramped feeling.

The greatest asset of the Ameritania is its location: Walking distance (10 mins) to Times Square, walking distance to Central Park (10 mins) and several subway stations only a block away.

Staff was also very helpful and friendly.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be staying here again for our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvvlimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for sharing this review with potential guests of Ameritania Hotel., I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful throughout your stay and helped to make it a memorable guest experience. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later!

Warm regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset,Mass
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

bathroom had more floor space than room--no chairs or desk -prices on snacks in room obscene--- yet remarkably clean room and bath without any wear whatsoever--- soft bed summary is very good value and nice place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank harlanmargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear harlanmargaret, Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate you letting us know about your stay and sincerely apologize if all was not to your liking. Our staff strives for excellence and wish we have known about your dissatisfaction with the size of your room as we would have switched you to a larger room. We plead you return and offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next visit, just contact us on your next visit to honor this request. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards. Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Room is too little for 4 people and beds are very very small. It lacks a proper wardrobe. Often the towels were for 2 people and not for 4. I think $ 10 a day for Wi-Fi connection are too many. The position is excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gianfranco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear GianfrancoL Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate you letting us know about your stay and sincerely apologize if all was not to your liking. Our staff strives for excellence and wish we have known about your dissatisfaction with the size of your room as we would have switched you to a larger room. We plead you return and offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next visit, just contact us on your next visit to honor this request. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards. Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I loved this hotel!!!!

It pleasantly surprised me on all levels. For that price and proximity to Times Square, I was really expecting the place to be mediocre at best. I saw a few reviews about rude staff and I was really nervous but when we checked in the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. They called us over a reservation at Empire Steak House and had the restaurant treat us like royalty. The room was small but, hey, that's New York. Everything was VERY CLEAN. I checked the bed, I checked the bathroom and everything was well up to cleanliness standards. We walked to a Broadway show and walked through Times Square afterward. It was magical how close everything is to the hotel. My only complaints were very minor. The air conditioner was a bit loud and woke us up once or twice during the night. I will continue coming back to this hotel over and over!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KitKit32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

LOVED this hotel. Price, location and reviews re: cleanliness were the deciding factors. New York is famously expensive so finding a great deal was crucial.

Tucked in the middle of the block was this wonderful hotel. Very modern ambiance and décor in the lobby. Dramatic color scheme. Hospitable staff. Cute as a button room with King bed, fridge. Some reviewers complained that the rooms are small. Unless you're moving your own furniture in, the space is just enough for two people. The ultra modern shower was also a big hit. Lots of hot water. The alley "view" wasn't nice, but it was only an overnighter so we kept the drapes drawn. Problem solved. Two things they could improve on are: the lighting--way too dim for reading, and seating--there's nowhere to sit except on the bed, on a hard desk chair or on a backless bench against the wall. A small comfy chair would've been nice. These things were minor compare to the wonderful cleanliness, super location and competitive price. A gem of a place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon

Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a great time!!!! The hotel was in a great location. We would stay here again!!!!! The rooms were small but perfect for two. The staff were very nice and helpful!!!! It was my first time in NYC and it was a great trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,019 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,241 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing