We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay!”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I have just got back after staying for 4 nights at the Ameritania with the other half. We had a fantastic stay! The hotel is located just off Broadway, a few blocks from Times Square which makes it perfect for getting around. Subways are also located close by, everything is really easily accessible. The room we stayed in had two double beds and a lovely bathroom which was re stocked with toiletries daily. Although the room was quite small, it was still big enough for everything you need and doesn't really matter when you aren't actually in the room for that long everyday. I suppose the only downside is that the room is quite dark but equally the bathroom is very light and good for applying make up etc. Also you have to pay for wifi here but we just popped over the road to Starbucks and used theirs for free, so not really an issue. All in all it's a lovely hotel in a great location for a good price. Speoc shout out to the door man Jeff as well who was lovely and full of advice!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Kirstyjem

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Ameritania Hotel. I thank you for your great compliments about your experience here, and for sharing them with your fellow travelers. I am happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Amertania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,387
    1,855
    487
    113
    62
See reviews for
1,213
1,985
226
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

LOL!!! I'm serious when I say this...My Soon-to-be XHusband(of 12yrs) and I took one final HOORAY trip before we go our separate ways. He is VERY VERY picky(one small reason for divorcing, but not all the reasons). :)
Anyways, he originally chose a UPITY Hotel for $225 pn and not in the city center. I found this hotel for $116 pn w/AAA. Cant beat the price!!!! The location is literally 82 feet(my foot steps, size 8.5 if your wondering :)around the corner from the David Letterman Show. The location is PERFECT!!! The pics on the site were a little sketchy but the hotel itself and the room was really clean, roomy and up to date. Very modern. The staff was very polite and helpful in everything we needed. I am VERY please with the accommodations here. Parking says to be a few blocks away, but in reality it is only 1 block away and you get a discounted rate by staying in this hotel. I really was a guest there and am not a staff member just trying to keep the rating's high. I WILL definitely stay there again in the near future with maybe someone new. LOL!! BTW my s-t-b-x and I are divorcing on our terms and will always remain the best of friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I LOVE JAVIER, the bartender in the hotel bar. He is the best bartender i have ever known. His drinks were prepared with flawless precision. Kind, funny, awesome!!!! Rooms are a little small, hotel is super clean and modern. Close to Carnegie Deli, Shake Shake, and Central Park. All good stuff...but JAVIER makes this hotel THE place to stay in NY.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiianmommasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am a travel agent and my husband and I came to stay at the Ameritania for 4 nights on 5th December 2013.

The hotel itself is a little gem in an ideal location (u will do a lot of walking regardless of where u are).

The room was spotless, my particular highlight was the shower! Much needed hot powerful shower after a long busy day.

The service was impeccable, they went out of their way to look after us and nothing was too much trouble (especially Jeff the doorman, what a guy!).

No it's not the number one hotel in the world, but for the price you pay it definitely won't let you down! Promise!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanieAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

really good hotel, right in the middle of things and near the subway. The room was large and the beds comfortable, nice big TV. they let you make tea down in the breakfast area all day long for free. all the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent location and excellent staff particularly Jeff who was one of the door staff. Jeff was extremely helpful on our arrival and happy to answer any questions or queries throughout our stay.
The location is fantastic just a short walk away from many of New Yorks too attraction.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Ashley B,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to read that you were especially pleased with the service from Jeff. She says a big thank you for the compliment! Our aim is to ensure that all our guests are completely satisfied with their stay. We do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely hotel for a long weekend. We stayed here just after Christmas 2013. The location of the hotel is ideal for Times Square, Central Park, Broadway, and a short walk to Fifth Avenue. We booked a Deluxe King room and well worth the extra cost. Spacious, clean, lovely big comfy bed and lovely modern bathroom. There are only a couple things I would consider if returning and those would be if you are a light sleeper I would suggest not to book a road facing room as the outside noise can be pretty loud! Plus it would have been nice to have tea/ coffee making facilities in the room although guests can have free beverages in the restaurant area. The reception staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be mindful of outside noise when booking a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,983 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing