We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameritania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,854)
Filter reviews
5,854 results
Traveller rating
2,914
2,158
558
143
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,914
2,158
558
143
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral parktimes squaregreat locationnew yorkfree wifidoor staffaround the cornerfew blocksgreat showerspecial thankswould definitely stay here againtwo double bedscorner roomstreet noisesmall roomthe theater districtbig apple
Filter
Updating list...
3,151 - 3,156 of 5,854 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel has a modern upscale decor and would be great for the vacation or pleasure traveler. I do not recommend it for the business traveler. I was there 2 nights on business and found the lighting insufficient and the room set up lacking for my business purposes. The lighting in the hallways were dim, maybe to hide some of the wear and tear and aging of the property. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower and bathroom area, though clean, had a mildewy smell - would recommend they open the windows from time to time to air it out. Overall, a decent hotel for the price in NYC. It's centrally located and not too far from times square.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Terri,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel, but am sorry to hear that it was not suitable for your business needs. We are always looking to improve, and I will share your comments with our managers and owners to see how we can better accomodate business travelers.
I hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in New York, perhaps next time, for pleasure!!

With Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were a group of 8 people spending 5 days in NYC. Ameritania is great hotel in an excellent location, the rooms are super clean (I had room no. 1012 - quiet and good size), the staff is polite and customer oriented. Special thanks to Sylwia Kruk who was very helpful and provided great service together with her team at the front desk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdvMember01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear TripAdvMember01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Ameritania. The whole team reads our TripAdvisor reviews and it means a lot to us to receive such complimentary remarks.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Employees are polite, helpful and nice (especially Jeff). As our room was street side, it was sometimes a little noisy but it wasn't disturbing. Location is good next to Central Park, Time Square, ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koralee3087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Cora,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Ameritania. The whole team reads our TripAdvisor reviews and it means a lot to us to receive such complimentary remarks.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We looked around and consulted Trip Advisor for a reasonably priced hotel in New York for my partner to celebrate his 65th birthday and retirement from work. The Ameritania came up and fitted the bill. The hotel is right on the corner of 54th street and Broadway and is ideally placed for everything you might want to do. The room was as described , no more no less. We found it comfortable and clean. On the down side, I did email in advance to Customer Services and asked for a quiet room and if possible with a view as this was a special occasion . The room we had was on the seventh floor and certainly quiet, but the only view was into the centre shaft of the building!
Not complaining, but there was no acknowledgement whether they had received the email. The only other thing I would say is ,avoid the breakfast. This is a joke for $11.95. Just assorted doughnuts, cold boiled eggs and fruit juice all overseen by a member of staff who looked like he had been on the tiles all night. Not really a problem as Applejacks across the street, open 24 hours, is always spotlessly clean and serves any combination of breakfast you could wish for a similar price.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for comfort and convenience and helpfulness of the doormen.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with 1Queen bed. If you want more space you will need to upgrade to a corner room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluejaybirddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Bluejaybirddog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you and your partner selected The Ameritania to celebrate such momentous occaisions!

I appologize that we were unable to honor your request for a room with a city view. I am going to look into our customer service email system and figure out where the breakdown in communication occured. We always pay close attention to guest requests, and strive to make every stay as memorable and special as possible.

We hope to have the priviledge of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Ameritania in NYC for three nights on our way back from Las Vegas and Maui, HI.
It's sure to say it's in a prime location, right up the street from Timesquare, around the corner from David Letterman's late night show theatre. A starbucks franchise across the street helps to kickstart the day!
Rooms are on the small side and quite pricey, but very clean and a comfy bed beat it. All rooms are equipped with lockers, iron / ironing board, small food / drinks selection (for purchase), etc.
Service staff is first class around the hotel; Jeff took perfect care of us, helping us out with great inside tipps to explore the city and its highlights, telling us about his favorite restaurants and whether or not to root for the Yankees or Mets :) 18 years of service for the same hotel and still loves his job - his name should be up on the employee of the year plaque!
All in all, a great hotel which I'd definitely recommend to others!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backside at first don't appear to be as nice (considering the view), but compared to those facing the street, they're much quieter which helps those to get some rest in a city that never sleeps.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Philip,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to get to know Jeff, one of our veteran Bellman.

I will share your feedback with him and our management team. All of us look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews