We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #128 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My friend and I arrived on Thurs 5th June 2014 and were greeted by a member of staff, Jeff, who guided us with a smile to the reception desk. He then made sure that our luggage made it to our room as soon as we had the room number. The room, 1108, was better than standard, with a decent view out on to 54th and part of Broadway. One issue was the drone of the air con and random plumbing noises from the bathroom, but these were minor. The location is fantastic for midtown with a +/- 5minute walk to Times Sq and Central Park. Jeff also arranged return travel arrangements to the airport on Monday, which we were extremely thankful.

Room Tip: If possible request a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. All of us here at The Ameritania are so pleased that you had a great visit and that our staff was able to assist you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Warm Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,822 - 2,828 of 5,459 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights late May to celebrate an anniversary - the hotel welcomed us with free champagne in the room to celebrate!

The room itself was lovely - the biggest I've stayed in in NYC. ASK FOR ROOM 1205!! Two windows overlooking Broadway and W54th. ENORMOUS bed and wonderful shower. We honestly couldn't have asked for a better stay in the city.

Great location - close to subway stations but we walked everywhere. Felt safe in the area 24hours.

From check in to check out the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back here next time we're in New York! Thank you Ameritania!

Room Tip: 1205 - bellboy described it as 'VIP' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Niamh M,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and that you found your new favorite room in New York!

We are honored to have been a part of your anniversary celebration and look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you in the years ahead.

Best Wishes,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Teen-agers loved it... absolute best location ever. Staff was so friendly and nice -- important for us Southerns. I was not crazy about the beds (platform style?) comfort wise but not deal breaker. Awesome staff


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Robin,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you and the students enjoyed the hotel. We are honored to have been a part of your journey to New York and look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Ameritania Hotel is a terrific place to stay while visiting New York. My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Ameritania in May.

The hotel's location is an ideal home base for a visit to New York. The David Letterman theatre is right next door. Times Square is just a 10 minute walk away. Some Broadway Theatres are located within a block of two. And there are several subway stops nearby with access to many different subway lines. Basically, you have easy access to just about anywhere you'd like to go.

The room itself is very small, but is set up in an efficient and practical way so we felt comfortable and did not feel cramped at all. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and the shower had a rain shower option, which was a nice treat. Our room faced out to the corner of 54th and Broadway so we did have to hear a lot of cars honking. But it was the first time that we had a hotel room in New York that actually had a view of something other than an alley, so I guess that was the trade-off.

We didn't eat the breakfast offered by the hotel. There is a wide choice of cafes and take out places nearby and we opted to try a different place each morning. We did however enjoy a very large and very delicious gin martini in the hotel bar in the lobby one evening.

Wi-fi in the room costs extra but there is a Starbucks across the street so we just went for a coffee whenever we needed to go online.

We found the Ameritania Hotel to be a comfortable and convenient place to stay while visiting New York and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MarkStef,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your time with us! The staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall my experience at The Ameritania was fine. The pros - great location, friendly staff, cool design, very comfy bed, clean room, free breakfast.

The cons for me were the room location, and a general shabbiness that the newish modern decor could not totally hide. My room, #222 on the second floor, was on an interior wall, so the window overlooked nothing and was blocked with a giant air duct so the room got little natural light. #221, on the other side of the service elevator from me, seemed to have a resident rather than being a guest room, and funky, stale smell lingered in the hallway outside the door. A person coming out of that room on the first day I was there said something strange to me in the hallway and after that I just felt a little uncomfortable being there.

In hindsight, I should have requested a different room. I'd probably have a very positive feeling about the place if I had ended up in a room with some natural light, and hadn't had a strange encounter with the neighbor.

Room Tip: Do not stay in #222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Christie B,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had an awkward encounter with one of our residents (we do in fact have a handful of permanent residents here at the hotel). Management and I will take the necessary steps to ensure that something like this does not happen again, and will work on neutralizing any odors coming from tenant apartments.

I'd love for you to experience The Ameritania in a more positive light and would like to offer you a complimentary room upgrade, based on availability, the next time you come to New York. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to make the arrangements.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Were there with my wife and the hotel was great. Good location and always very clean.
Sheats changed every day. Subway station is just block away, so it was easy to come from JFK to the hotel. Just couple blocks to times square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 935Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to New York.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly gentlemen by the name if Jeff. He was courteous, respectful and very friendly. The people at the front desk were professional and courteous as well. The room was clean and well maintained through out our stay. I will most definitely will be back!



Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Raza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Raza J,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with us at The Ameritania. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 470 in New York City
5,505 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#84 of 470 in New York City
1,907 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 470 in New York City
4,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 470 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,070 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing