We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good location ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #140 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chatillon-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very good place to visit NY in time square at the corner between Broadway and 54th street.

the hotel is very nice with a very modern decoration.The rooms are small but well equipped and pleasant, however the lack of double glazing is binding the night because NY is a noisy city, the air conditioning in our room was also noisy.

The staff is smiling and pleasant, I recommand this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Fanny1708,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to New York City! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Ameritania and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,275
    1,776
    472
    105
    59
See reviews for
1,156
1,898
222
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyndmoor, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in the heart of everything to see and do in NYC. Would definitely recommend and stay again. From check in to check out the hotel staff was great. The rooms were nicely decorated and beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Dino C,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ameritania in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Easy check-in and check-out with very friendly service by all, especially Julian and Chris (doormen) during those processes. Small, but very comfortable room with modern decor. Three minor issues were that the AC was noisy when used at night, two of the bed frame corners were easy targets to stub a toe on (even with Julian's warning), and a couple of extra electrical plugs would have been helpful (unplugged a desk lamp and the clock radio to recharge our cell phones-easy fix). Short walks to Jacob's Theater (Once) and Radio City Music Hall (Idina Menzel), as well as to Time's Square, Central Park, and Heartland Brewery (yum!). All things being equal (e.g., had stayed twice before very comfortably at a hotel several blocks due east of the Ameritania, but the Ameritania's rates on this trip were more economical), we would happily stay at the Ameritania again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gakster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Gakster14,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you chose the Ameritania for your recent visit to New York. I hope you will think of us when you are making plans to come back.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having stayed in several "four star" hotels in NYC....the Ameritania is hands down the best location, service, and comfort that I have found for the price range. Deluxe room is good size for three people, beds amazingly comfortable, and bathrooms and decor are high tech and upscale. One of the best hotel stays in my life!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JayneNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JayneNorthCarolina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your compliments mean a lot to the entire staff and management team.

We enjoyed having you with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

When we arrived 15:00Hrs our room was not ready ! We eventually got in our room just after 16:00Hrs (Not a Good Start)

No Fridge in Room :-(

Wifi available but at a cost !

The bar was closed throughout our stay due to short staffing issues ! Not what i wanted to hear...

I would suggest alternative hotel whilst staying in the city that never sleeps....

Geo

Room Tip: Pick alternative Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Geo,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready at our check in time of 3:00pm; this is unacceptable, and I will address this with our housekeeping staff. I am surprised to hear that the bar was closed on Saturday, but hope that you were able to enjoy some of the local bars in the neighborhood instead. Lastly, regarding the fridge; all of our rooms have full stocked mini bars, with fridges and snack trays. If you require a refrigerator to store personal items, we are happy to remove the mini bar beverages, or provide you with an additional empty one.

Again, my apologies for missing the mark during your stay. I'd like to invite you for a complimentary night at the hotel, based on availability, the next time you come to New York. Please contact me directly at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com and I would be happy to assist you with a booking.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was in a fantastic location, just of time square.
So if you like being in the middle of all the action it is perfect for you.

Double bed was comfy. The decor is modern and the shower was massive.

The staff were really helpful they gave us maps and brochures .

I would not recommend the shuttle bus to the airport, it took us two hours to get to the airport after we picked up six couples from different locations in New York.

We had a while to Waite on our last day. Jeff kept are bags safe while went and explored more of newyork.

We had a fantastic stay. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Robin701,

Thank you for your very kind review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our great location to explore the city.

We look forward to being a part of many more New York memories to come!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked this hotel on our travel agents recommendation. I had requested a hotel we had stayed at before but he asured us that this one was just as nice. On hindsight I really wished I'd stuck with my first choice, but there you go hindsight is a wonderful thing. This was the second leg of our holiday flying in from Las Vegas so to be honest we were a it spoilt in Vegas, however I was shocked to see the size of our room it was tiny the wardrobe was not big enough for our clothes and the majority had to be kept in the suitcases laying under a table Only one of us could get ready at a time as there was no room to move round the bed. Our window was cracked on the inside and had been taped up and our door had been broken into at one point. The in room safe was on the floor in the wardrobe and I had to basically lie on the floor with a torch to use it which was no good if you were elderly or found it difficult to bend down.
The good points - Check in was fairly easy and the staff very polite and friendly. The first night we arrived we, found that there were no towels in our room as soon as I phoned reception a maid brought some straight up even though it was after 11pm.
The shower is amazing and the water is always hot no matter what time of day but beware of the floor tiles they can get very slippery when they are wet.
The bed was comfy but the quilt seemed a bit small for the bed but the bedding was clean and fresh.
The hotel is ideally situated at the top of Times Square and is only a few minutes walk to all the action. There is a sports bar next door called the Three Monkeys which serves good food although it is very noisy.
You have to walk past the David Letterman show to get to Times Square and if you are lucky you can go in and get free tickets in the morning if you wish. All in all we had a great time in new York but if I ever go back again I think I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear mandy781,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the aspects of your stay with us, but am sorry to hear that your room was not large enough to accommodate your needs. From your description, it sounds like you stayed in one of our Express rooms, which is the smallest room category we have. I'd like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our King Deluxe rooms, which you will find to be much more roomy and comfortable, especially for two travelers.

Please feel free to email me directly at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com to make arrangements.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing