We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, retro-modern, great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Marathon, WI
Level Contributor
236 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly, retro-modern, great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My sister and I spent 5 days in New York and stayed at this hotel. It was the perfect place to stay! Just the right size - great retro/modern vibe to it, comfortable accommodations. Great location - we were in the middle of almost everything we wanted to see and do! Theater's and great restaurants all around! We were greeted by the most friendly staff!! Every gentleman at the door was wonderful! Special thanks to JEFF! He welcomed us to NY on day one and put us at ease by helping us arrange our car back to the airport and answered any other questions we had! The front desk staff was also very very helpful and friendly. The bartender was super sweet - we stopped to visit him a couple of times! For a hotel bar they had great drink specials as well! I will definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to my friends! THANK YOU AMERITANIA!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear HTCWI,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such kind comments! I am thrilled to know that your recent visit was enjoyable and that the staff was pleasant and helpful. Jeff and Javier send you a big thank you! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,331
    1,811
    481
    108
    61
See reviews for
1,187
1,935
223
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Thank you Jeff for arranging my ride back to the airport. Love that the hotel offers this service. The hotel itself is really nice and I've always had a great experience staying there. On my last trip thou I did want my mini bar and snacks removed from my room which I was told I would have to wait until the next day, which made no sense to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylilfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Amylilfire,

Thank you very much for your kind comments! The staff sends you a huge thank you. It is our pleasure to help you with any of your transportation needs and hope that the ride back to the airport was enjoyable. In regards to the minibar snacks, I am sorry to hear that these could not be removed until the next day. The minibar attendant leaves the hotel at 5pm, and for security purposes, the storage room is closed after that time. I do look forward to your next stay and hope you enjoy the rest of the summer.

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our second time at this hotel. The location is perfect because we love Times Square! Jeff at the door and Rob behind the desk were great at answering all of our questions. We will be back and will tell all of our friends!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Judi P,

Thank you for emailing us and for your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the staff at the hotel met your expectations and went above and beyond to answer all of your questions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Have a great day.

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice, most recently in July 2014. The location is in the heart of the theater district, with many Broadway shows within minutes. The hotel is located just blocks form Time Square in one direction and Central Park in the other. If you are a fan of David Letterman you can’t get much closer as the Tonight Studio is just around the corner form the front door. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and curious. The hotel has a retro funky décor; the rooms are adequate size and have updated furnishings. The only complaint this time was that our room was not completed by housekeeping until late afternoon (3pm). Our first visit to this hotel was in 2009 (Sept) and the price for the room was over 100.00 less than it was during July peak season. I would recommend this hotel to others and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 107RoseM,

Thank you for your very kind review! I am pleased to hear that this was your second visit and that you enjoyed your time with us. I'm glad that our fantastic location gave you the opportunity to explore the city without a lot of effort.

We hope you will think of us once again for your future trips to New York!

All the Best,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice hotel, very good location, small rooms. Staff were very helpfull. I had some problems to pay with visa although it was working in ATM and in the shops.
the location was super. Close to broadway and Central park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello Rudy,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a very nice surprise. We usually stay at the five star hotels in NYC but Orbitz showed us a fair price at the Ameritania and we jumped on it. Cool design features turned my wife on; great location on Broadway turned us both on, and the staff was spectacular, particularly, Rob at the front desk and Jeff at the door/bellman made the stay most pleasant We'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Marty D,

Thank you so much for your positive review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was great and that our staff and location made you feel welcome. We are looking forward to your next visit to NYC!

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a great hotel! First I want to thank Sylwia Kruk, the Front Office Manager, whom I contacted from England for a twin bedded, quiet room. What a room when we arrived, -spacious, spotlessly clean, two double beds, and well cleaned every day by the staff, fresh towels each day. I expected to be kept awake by the city noise, but in our room on the 10th floor I heard no-one either side, above or below us, and no street noise except the odd sirens etc. So, marvellous Sylwia, and your reception staff are a credit to you. Whatever time we came in, there were always three on duty, Crystal, Catherine, and all the rest, all of whom were charming, and made it a pleasure for me to ask questions. The door staff, Jeff, Sayeed, Jalala and Chris, and the others, also a credit to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, and all with huge smiles. I truly felt that all the staff enjoyed their jobs, and more importantly, the customer came first.
We stayed for a week, and found the location by far the best place we could have stayed in. We could walk to the main attractions, and were so glad we had not stayed in the madness that is Times Square, packed with tourists. The Ameritania does breakfast, or you can just have a free tea or coffee in the morning in the breakfast room, but we had breakfast and meals in different places, of which there are scores within walking distance. We were amazed at how cheap food, meals, beverages, transport was, I would say half the price of England. Same with clothes, cosmetics, etc, nearly everything was much cheaper than in England.
So thank you Ameritania, for a great holiday.

Room Tip: 10th floor was marvellously quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torquay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Torquay81,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and that the staff was pleasant and helpful. It is always our pleasure to make the guest feel at home. The staff sends a big thank you for your kind remarks! We look forward to your next visit to NYC and hope to welcome you once again.

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,880 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing