We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family was extremely pleased with our accomodation. From the management(Mr. Trapnell) to bellman (Jeff), everyone was very friendly. We couldn't thank all the staffs enough for our welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Julie S,

Thank you for sharing your compliments with us on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,219)
There are newer reviews for Ameritania Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,566 - 2,572 of 5,220 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stay and midtown and you are in the heart of the city. Stay at this hotel and you will be pleasantly surprised. Staff is friendly, rooms comfy, shower hot, location is great. Easy to find and there is a great bar and restaurant too. Great value for your dollar!!! Minutes from the subway and the David Letterman show!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenniferced78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jenniferced78,

Thank you for your very kind review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; we certainly enjoyed having you as our guest.

I hope you will think of us when you are planning your next trip to New York. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I chose this hotel for it's location-just north of Times Square and blocks from Central Park- in central Manhattan. I wasn't disappointed in the location - or the hotel itself. The lobby was welcoming with ice water provided for the hot summer days. Coffee and tea were also complimentary in the breakfast area, even if you didn't purchase the breakfast. The deluxe double room was of adequate size for the two double beds, attractive with a modern bathroom. Great shower! My only minor problem was that, when we got to the room, it was missing the hand towels and washcloths, and it did take two calls to the front desk (housekeeping didn't answer) for them to be delivered. (Don't depend on the wall clock for the time - not working...) The beds and linens were about the most comfortable I've ever experienced in any hotel! All in all, though, I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet space right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Carol M,

Thank you so much for you kind review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulty with towels. We are awaiting a large shipment of new towels and sheets, and the delay has caused a bit of a bottleneck in our service standards.

We look forward to having you come back for another visit in the near future!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Picked this off net for position: Broadway/ W 54th. Fitted our budget.
Room very clean/ very comfortable/ small but we only slept in it. V good value for money
Close to delis and cheap eats and fruit barrow.
Went to Dave Letterman, TimesSquare Church, the Roc, Cruises, Jersey Boys, The Boathouse, etc etc. Left hotel at 7:00 am and returned after 10:00!
Great service from desk and especially big Jeff at the door!
Walked to Central Park everyday which is about 5 blocks away.
Would stay here again.
Very grateful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Denis M,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of your experience. We really appreciate the feedback and are thrilled to hear that both the hotel and our wonderful staff were able to make your visit a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the States!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days and 3 nights. After our stay we realised that we were paying only for the location and bed. The clocks in our room were not working, rooms were just big enough for 2 pieces of luggage and 2 people to stand, air conditioner was super noisy. There is no free WiFi which is sad considering the price. So we paid 25 USD for a 3 day plan and guess what, we had poor speeds and network, not what you expect when you are paying extra. No breakfast and most things in the room were chargeable. I have stayed in various hotels across the world and this one was very poor value for money. The only pros? Superb location, close to everything and very friendly staff. But I will not be staying here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Sam R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that we missed the mark during your recent visit, particularly the difficulty you experienced with our WIFI service. Please send me an email at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com and I would be happy to process a refund for the internet service.

We do offer a Continental Breakfast every morning from 6:30am - 10:30am for a modest price of $11.95 per person. Coffee and tea are complimentary.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. Please feel free to contact me at any time if I may be of assistance with a future reservation.

Best Regards,

Jud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in the Ameritania hotel for 6 days. We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff is very kind and helpful. The hotel is very well situated. The Broadway theaters are at a walking distance. Our room was spacious and very complete.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter_Rotterdam_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Peter_Rotterdam_NL,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the staff was helpful. Looking forward to your next visit to the Ameritania. Have a fantastic day!

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I spent 5 nights here.
We loved the feel of the hotel and the decoration.
Staff were always friendly and the doormen VERY helpful.
Location was perfect for both Times Square and Central Park - just 5-10 mins walk either way.

Only issue was lack of towels! First there were none so we called and asked for some and were given two. The next morning I asked the maid for more and got one small towel extra. One evening we came in through a rain storm and were soaking wet. I asked at the desk for towels and they said some would be sent but we never got them :/

All that aside, we had a great stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear BeaandBeth,

Thank you for your kind review! I am delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed the hotel and were able to take advantage of our proximity to many of the city's best attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 468 in New York City
5,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,934 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing