We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #126 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff was great accommodating our needs. I would recommend this hotel to others. I wasn't sure when I booked the hotel, but, was pleasantly surprised at how great it was. Close to everything, importantly, very clean and the staff is excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for taking then time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,822 - 2,828 of 5,557 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is very cool looking. The rooms are small, but clean and just fine for a city where you are on the go. Couple of issues: upon arrival, we wanted to shower--not a SINGLE towel in the room. It took two phine calls to the front desk and about 40 minutes to get them. Still--no hand towels or washcloths. The same thng happend the next time the room was cleaned and it took and hour to get towels!
On our day of departure, I asked the bellman to secure a cab for 3:30 pm. He secured a car, which was almost $20 more than a cab and was going to charge an extra fee for using my credit card. He did not tell me any of this until the car arrived at 3:30. What a racket--this was dishonest. I refused the car and told them I wanted a cab, not a car. The hotel paid the fee, but still the car was$15 to $20 more than a cab.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Carol G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am glad you enjoyed that hotel, but am so sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had with receiving bath towels. Just today, we received a large shipment of towels, and we are expecting another large order of towels (and sheets) to arrive in the next few weeks.

With regard to the car service vs. cabs, it is quite common for a private car service to cost more than a taxi. I apologize if there was a breakdown in communication on our end explaining the pricing to you.

I hope you will give us another try the next time you are in New York.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location, clean hotel, and friendly staff. Can't ask for anything more. But, we got more... We were celebrating my friends birthday and Crystal upgraded our room and had red wine and cup cakes awaiting us when we walked in. This so nice! We had a great experience and hope to be back. I would recommend this hotel. I hope my next stay is just as great!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ahlmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear ahlmine,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are thrilled to hear that your stay was great and that the birthday celebration was even more special for your friend. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great Location! Within Walking distance of a lot of things such as Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center any much more...
Room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Dana Z,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback! We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the bed in the room was comfortable. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend recently. The location is perfect - between Central Park and Times Square. Can walk to Empire State Building as well. Room was a nice size for NYC and was very clean. Very modern style but tasteful. The bed was very comfortable - probably the best I've had in a hotel and the entire hotel was clean. Staff was friendly but didn't really interact much past check in. It should be noted that it is not wheelchair accessible from what I saw. To enter the building there are some large steps and I think they would be difficult for an elderly person. Parking is on same street which is very convenient and easy to use. Many restaurants near by and lots of theaters within walking distance...wouldn't hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandEAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear PandEAllen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our fantastic location in the heart of Manhattan.

To address your question about handicap accessibility, we are able to accommodate wheel chairs, scooters and walkers. To get around the stairs by the front door, we have a large ramp we can put out, or we are able to use the large doors in the hotel restaurant, which are at street level. Additionally, we have ADA compliant rooms on each floor.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have been staying at the Ameritania for several years. While the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are terrific, it's the staff that puts this over-the-top for me headed by Renaldo Moore. Renaldo, Crystal, Jeff, Jalal and the rest always have a smile and solution, never a problem.
When my meetings and schedule are hectic and at all hours, I can always count on getting some rest and a friendly smile from everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear DHask,

Thank you so much for your kind note! As one of our loyal and frequent guests, it is wonderful to hear that we consistently exceed your expectations.

All of us are delighted to be your home away from home here in New York and look forward to many happy returns to come!

Warmest Regards,

Judson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 471 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 471 in New York City
5,595 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,004 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#121 of 471 in New York City
3,329 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £73 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing