We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes a difference”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff makes a difference”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ameritania Hotel in New York City. We stayed at this hotel last year as well. The first night of our stay the air temperature in our room was not cool enough for our liking and the bathroom had some funky issues. We told the front desk the next morning and the staff immediately told the general manager, Mark Wellins. We were then given a different room for the rest of our stay, which was a wonderful room. Krystal at the front desk was terrific in helping take care of us. Also, Jeff the bellman was continuously helpful. Last year, Renaldo Moore told us to make sure we let him know when we were visiting again. We did that and he made sure we were well cared for during this stay.
It was very clear that the staff genuinely cared about taking care of us. We will definitely stay at the Ameritania the next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear stewart g,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a nice review! I am so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and we really appreciate the accolades for our staff. I will be sure to share them!

I hope you have a great remainder of the summer and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,531
    1,916
    505
    118
    66
See reviews for
1,310
2,056
242
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'm always impressed when I stay at this hotel. It's very quiet and the rooms are always clean and very nice. The front desk service was extra nice this time - very pleasant to work with.
I'd pick this hotel over other places in the City for it's location, quiet rooms and friendly service.

Room Tip: I had room 611 -- it had TWO beds, which i almost unheard of in NYC!!! It was a little larger than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzib1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Lizzib1972,

Thank you for your very kind review! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in New York.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Its a very beatifull hotel located in the heart of manhattan. You have the subway one block away from. The rooms are tiny but they are very well decorated and the beds are very confortable!. Im going to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Martina S,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our fantastic location!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I'm a hotel snob. In my professional life, I have stayed at the finest in NYC and around the world … Waldorf, Four Seasons, W, Le Meridien, Ritz, etc. When it comes to family vacation, I spend hours shopping for the hotel that will pass my picky test, while also watching the budget. I got that and more at the Ameritania. Fabulous front desk staff (thanks, Rob, for all of the personal help and tips), fabulous doormen and maid service. Eclectic wonderful decor, really clean. AWESOMELY large room for NYC on the 8th floor away from any noise. My husband, big teenage sons and I had plenty of room and loved the funky decor, plus the beds were really comfortable. No restaurant, but that didn't matter. Walk to anywhere you want to eat. SUPER location … by Ed Sullivan Theater on Broadway. 3-min walk up Broadway to Central Park. 5-min walk down to Times Square. 5-min walk to Rockefeller Center. 3-min walk to the subway. 2-min walk to Duane Reed where we stocked up on sundries and drinks that we could put in the mini-fridge. We even rented bikes from across the street. The only minor criticism was that the AC unit could've been a little quieter. Oh, and the price was SO RIGHT! Wonderful value for the $$$ in the heart of Manhattan. I'll stay there again and again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Allison B,

Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and that our staff, particularly Rob, provided such stellar service during your stay.

We wish you all a wonderful remainder of the summer and look forward to seeing you again for a future stay.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would come back again and again. This hotel is located in a great place between many subway options, the beds are great and the fact that we had two beds for the price, it is fantastic! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank haayjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear haayjude,

Thank you so much for your kind note! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

People dont give this hotel enough credit. We were hesitant going in but left absolutely in love with this hotel.

Our first room was unfortunate. It was very small and although we had the A/C set at 68, it failed to go below 78. Maintenance even said that it was working and didnt know why it was so hott. Thankfully the management is great and immediately apologized and moved AND upgraded us.Our new room was at least twice the size and faced out over the street.

Everything was very clean, neat and nice. Very high quality products throughout the room, including an ihome and full length oversized standing mirror. Its so nice there was a celebrity staying there when we were!

The location is phenomenal. Minutes from time square, metro stop just one block away, late night eats right around the corner and the late show with David Letterman also right around the corner (Im talking 10 steps from the front door).

I loved this hotel and you will too!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lauren C,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the air conditioning in your first room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff was great accommodating our needs. I would recommend this hotel to others. I wasn't sure when I booked the hotel, but, was pleasantly surprised at how great it was. Close to everything, importantly, very clean and the staff is excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for taking then time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,168 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,246 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing