We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right off Broadway/Excellent Price”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Right off Broadway/Excellent Price”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Never write reviews but this hotel is fantastic- location is great- price is great- room was great and staff was great. In particular the front door and one of their colleagues Micheal. If you visit NYC stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patrick_guiney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear patrick_guiney1,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and colleagues back home.

Wishing you many happy returns,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,438
    1,881
    495
    117
    63
See reviews for
1,243
2,016
234
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The Ameritania hotel is a great place to stay whilst visiting New York City! It is located in the heart of Times Square so was very easy to get places. It is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, transportation options and the theatre district. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were air conditioned and very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lbaigent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lbaigent,

Thank you for choosing the Ameritania for your recent visit to New York City! I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and that the staff was very helpful and made you feel welcome. You are a very valuable guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,


Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth County, Nj
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The toilet kept running all day and night (in my room and the rooms next to me). The windows are old and dangerous! Watch your kids! I was on the 7th floor and heard everything street level. The air conditioner was very loud. Between the old windows, the noise outside, the running toilets and the load air conditioners, I had no sleep. While the hotel is clean and that staff is nice, it needs updating and I wouldn't stay there again if I needed to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TAT2DTONTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear TAT2DTONTO,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your room was noisy. Did you contact the front desk during your stay to let them know? We would have been more than happy to try to address your concerns with the windows and the noisy air conditioning. We also would have been happy to move you into a different room.

I hope you will come back and give us another try. Please email me directly at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com and I will ensure you have a fantastic and quiet stay!

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wonderful service, modern design, a spacious room, and a very friendly and highly professional staff at the reception desk. Everything was very clean and the appliances were working. The location near the Times Square makes this hotel a desirable place for tourists. Most likely we will be here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gary D,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and hope that you chose the Ameritania for your next visit. Have a great remainder of the summer!

Best Regards,


Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First of all let me start that i am one fuzzy person when it comes to hotel. I worked in the airline for 13 years. I've stayed in the best and worst hotel the world can offer. I was once based in New York during the mid-90's for 3 years and stayed in a fancy hotel.Been in and out of New York since then but mostly staying with relatives in Staten Island or with friends in Soho/Tribeca area.This is the first time i decided to explore New York on my own and decided to stay in a hotel in midtown Manhattan.

I found Ameritania Hotel in Expedia. The price was reasonable. I paid around U$800 for 4 nights. I was very surprised to see my room. It was well decorated. Very modern, so chic. The room is big enough . The bed is so comfy. Very quiet. I was tired most of the time exploring the city but i slept very well. The room and bathroom were very clean. There is no bathtub but its not a big deal to me as i loved the shower. The size of the bathroom is just right. They also have ironing board. The only thing i would suggest, is make the wi-fi free. But its not a big deal either to me since i have a 4G and there are tons of Starbucks with free wi-fi around the corner.

The hotel is in the corner of Broadway. If you love watching shows, you can just walk around all the way to Times Square. Lots of restaurants, cafes and shopping nearby. The 7th avenue subway is just a block away that can take you to most of the attractions in New York.

Special thanks to Said (doorman) who helped me with directions. To Alex and Crystal in the reception who has been very helpful from the time i checked-in. Also, thank you to Michael( doorman) who took care of my luggage and finding taxis for me.

This hotel is really highly recommended. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back to stay whenever i am in New York.

Perla Domingo

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Pearl D,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your time with us at the Ameritania! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff members were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in a very well located and affordable place in nyc.
The staff is friendly and helful, especially Saïd -a multilingual groom who is always doing his best to help you.
The location is the upper town of Broadway, close to many restaurants and bars.
It's 10 min away from Times Square, with many subway stations close by. So overall, it's very convenient and well located.
About the wifi, it seems it's free in the lobby room. Otherwise you have a Starbucks at the corner. I got it for free because I stayed for a while and we booked two rooms :)
I admit that the AC is a bit noisy but it did not annoy us to sleep. Rooms are very clean.
A small fitness room is available for free at the basement.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebasutchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear sebasutchien,

Thank you for choosing the Ameritania during your latest visit to New York City! We highly value your opinion and thank you for your review. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com for a future visit and I can assist in reserving a nice quiet room for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,


Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It's quite noisy in non-street facing rooms due to huge AC turbines lower below outside the window.
They were able to move us to a room facing the street from the second day.
WiFi connection in that room was so weak and we had to use the service in the lobby only and we had purchased the 3-day premium connection for this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luigi640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Yuichi H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn about the inconvenience you experienced with the noise of the air handlers, but am glad that we were able to accommodate you in another, quieter room. With regard to the WIFI service, there are a few weak spots in the hotel that we are actively working to correct by installing new routers and signal boosters. I'd be happy to issue you a refund for the WIFI service that you purchased. Please email me at jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com as I will just need to collect a few details from you.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#76 of 468 in New York City
1,781 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#68 of 468 in New York City
5,031 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#102 of 468 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,937 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#193 of 468 in New York City
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing