We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique budget hotel dwarfed in the city of skyscraper luxury hotels.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boutique budget hotel dwarfed in the city of skyscraper luxury hotels.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had two rooms over four nights. We got in late and got the noisiest rooms on the 2nd floor. We complained straight away and the staff were very helpful. While we were out the next day they moved us to the third and fourth floors, round the back.

We spent very little time in the hotel, so this was ideal for us. We booked via hotwire and got what we paid for - $100/night is a rarity this close to Times Square.

The accommodation was comfortable, the shower was meager compared to other hotels we have stayed at, but it was enough to have a quick shower and be out in the streets of Manhattan.

There are plenty of deli's and diners as well as some reasonable restaurants.

The staff really made this hotel - a really friendly and conscientious bunch. Their remit is limited but they do stretch to the extremes to make sure they help in whatever way possible.

If you want a clean place to stay at a very reasonable cost and close to all the attractions, this place is it. If however you are looking to spend time in your room and want the bells and whistles like room service etc, then you need to put your hand in your pocket...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LothianArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    734
    295
    106
    71
See reviews for
249
628
273
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
488 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I know this hotel is not for everyone, but for me - the budget-conscious, location-aware younger traveler - this was the perfect spot. This property has personality and when I travel to NYC - I want everything to be memorable and this hotel helped in that endeavor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here because I got a good rate and let's face if you are spending too much time in a hotel in New York, then something is wrong! It's functional. Staff are extremely helpful and kind. The wifi is free and works well. My room was to the back and was extremely dark. The shower worked well and good supply of shampoo etc. The fitness room is tiny with one treadmill and one weight machine. Two is a crowd, as I discovered. No food service worth talking about but you are right beside 8th avenue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I will preface this review with a warning to Timeshare owners - if you are from RCI and got a "deal" to come to this hotel, don't accept it!! It is a huge rip off. I overpaid for the travel certificate to stay at this hotel. The room we got vs. their on line rate was far cheaper. Avoid all timeshare deals to stay here! Timeshare rip offs aside - here is our review.
We were in room 385 - very small room right on 51st street - we read past reviews that said this hotel was off Time Square on a quiet street. Location is great - you can walk everywhere and all subway lines are near by but 51st is not a quiet street. There are several nearby restaurants and bars, so the crowds are out late and the garbage and delivery trucks come at all hours of the night. If someone double parks, you will hear the car horns non - stop. I had to buy ear plugs on our second night just to try and get some sleep. The hotel has been refurbished. Rooms were modestly modern and clean. Bathrooms have been re done. The elevator holds maybe 4 people, so take the stairs. Rooms are small! You have a bed, wall tv and small desk - maybe two feet from the bed to the door and that's it!! If you want space and big comfort, this hotel is not for you. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom was tiny - sink was the size of a facecloth but it was fine for two nights. Staff are nice in the lobby but the hotel doesn't offer any extras if you are looking for them. If you plan to stay, splurge for the "bigger rooms" and ask for the courtyard or back rooms - should be quieter. With so many hotel options in NYC, I'm not sure I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back or facing the courtyard. You do not want your windows on 51st. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanleighReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The bed was so small that my feet hung over the end
There was no power in the plug sockets
The TV was angled so you couldn't watch from bed
The room was TINY
The room was dirty
The corridor was a complete mess with paint peeling off the walls
There were no amenities in the room

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjhotel, Director of Sales at Washington Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our accommodations.
We offer a number of different room categories, Petite, Standard, and Deluxe, at different price points. It seems like you’ve stayed in one of our Petite rooms.
For more spacious accommodations, please try our Deluxe or Superior room categories.
We hope you will be back soon in one of our other room categories.
Please stay in touch with us via our website and Facebook for best rates and customer service experience.
Thank you again for choosing the WJ Hotel for your NYC stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

An older but nice hotel close to Times Square, the theater district and Central Park. Rooms are on the smaller size which is typical of New York. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only concern I had was that there was a no refund policy once your booked. Travelocity didn't point that out. Rooms do not have any fridges or coffee makers/A safe was included.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

While the rooms are relatively small... The very good pricing and location makes this a perfect NYC weekend room for one or two people. I had the smallest room they offered. You're just sleeping there anyway...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#359 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing