We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overheated and spartan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Jefferson Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overheated and spartan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location, on the edge of now trendy Hell's Kitchen, with some very good small restaurants nearby. But it is dilapidated (the rather glossy foyer is misleading). My room was unbearably hot (in November!) and while one window wouldn't open at all, the other fell completely wide open - on to the street. The bathroom steamed up and wouldn't clear. There is no tea or coffee in the rooms, and the WiFi wasn't working. The carpet in the narrow corridors is dirty and shabby, and there were lots of strange loking people (clearly not tourists) hanging about in the corridors. And it's not cheap.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    734
    296
    106
    71
See reviews for
249
628
274
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

While this hotel does have a few negatives, for the price you cannot beat the location. It is close to Times Square, Broadway, MoMA, Rockefeller Center, and for more distant locales, the subway is only one block away.

The staff was wonderful, from the valet, bellman and desk clerk. We were originally given the wrong room and the error was corrected.

The negative. The bed was hard and the room was very hot. We had to turn on the AC occassionally to cool it off. The room lacks niceties, such as a coffee maker, drawers, or ice machines.

However, if you are spending that much time in your room in NYC, you are doing it wrong. Overall, we had a great time adn would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nothing good about this place!!!! I have stayed at the WJ on several occasions and knew the rooms to be small. But in the past, the service and experience have been fine. NOT THIS TIME!!! Within 3 minutes of check-in, my wallet was lifted; likely in the elevator by a "permanent resident." When I alerted the front desk staff, I was given a blank stare and asked, "What do you want us to do? There's nothing we can do. If you want to talk to the manager, you have to wait until Monday. " This was Friday evening. Apparently there is no security and no real protocol for crime in the building except to have you fill out an incident report. There is no camera in the sketchy elevator and only one on the front desk which apparently, the staff could not access until...you guessed it, Monday when the manager came in.

I eventually filled out a police report in order to get back on the train home, since I didn't have any money or ID. The police were shocked at the lack of security and cameras.

The rest of the stay was sub-par to say the least. The Wi-Fi didn't work the entire time, even after calling the tech help number. The toilet barely flushed and the shower ran hot and cold with very little pressure. You could hear noise on the street below.

The "permanent residents" are sketchy looking and their rooms are on the same floors as paying guests. We could smell pot smoke coming from one of the rooms on the hallway opposite ours. For the price (or any price for that matter), you do not want to be staying right down the hall from vagrants who likely take wallets and other valuables from customers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjhotel, Director of Sales at Washington Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Suz W,

We are deeply saddened to hear about your missing wallet, and undeniable heartache, resulting from this incident.

Please let me assure you that security of the hotel, and our guests, is paramount to us.

With this being said, please let me inform you that the WJ Hotel has very strict incident procedures in place, where the staff including a manager on duty, is always available to address any concerns of our guests. That includes taking an incident report and notifying NYPD, where guests must directly notify the police department about any given incident for future insurance assistance.
Please understand that we are as much alarmed and concerned about this situation as you are, and we are working closely with the police department to get the bottom of this unfortunate situation.

Again, words cannot express how saddened we are to hear about your unfortunate incident and we would like to offer any assistance necessary to get this issue resolved.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the WJ Hotel, given the circumstances, as we do hope you will again enjoy your stay with us, as you have in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Beaver, Pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were in town for the weekend to see the Rocketts, which was a short straight walk from the hotel. We were booked in the front of the hotel on the 6th floor. You did get street noise at night, but not to the point that it kept u awake. The rooms are small. We had one with 2 queen size beds and it was fine for two of us. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, but room enough to shower in. How big do you need the bathroom to be? The elevator was small and very quaint, but it worked. Again how big do you need it to be. The entire place was clean. The staff was amazing. They excel in customer service, especially Nady and Bobby. You were treated in A+ fashion. Recommend this hotel highly. The fitness room had a treadmill and bike, but we weren't there to work out.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep and if old elevators scare you, ask for a room in the back and on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked our room through Hotwire and as we have found with other Hotwire bookings, you get the substandard room with issues. Our issues were the tiny size of the room, the rock hard bed and the steam heat which you could not turn off. We had to run the air conditioning on high just to have the room a tolerable temperature. The good thing with having the air conditioner on was that it covered the noise from the street, being in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The prices were jacked because the marathon was the next weekend I guess. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was clean and the location was great but I would not recommend this to anyone. We did not complain, I feel no one should have to complain to get treated properly and at almost $300 a night.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The picture in the ads do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a problem trying to decide on where to stay in New York for our whirlwind stop. Our priority was to be somewhere convenient to Times Square and the subway. In the end we took a last minute deal via tripwire and got a room at the Washington Jefferson.
We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at reception.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, at the back of the hotel which meant taking the very small (but quite functional) elevator. The room was small but clean and inviting. There were no bed side tables but there was a writing desk and about 2 yards of space at the end of the bed. The bathroom was also small but clean with pleasant decor. The towels were fairly new and fluffy, and there was a selection of toiletries available. The shower was good too. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep each night we stayed here. The free Wifi worked really well in our room.
The back of the hotel was definitely quieter than the front of the hotel, especially later in the evening when the 51st street restaurant and bar scene comes alive (as we discovered upon our return to the hotel).

It was an easy walk down to Times Square from the hotel and 8th Avenue is where we picked up the Hop On Hop Off bus. NYC is full of great eateries and you'll find no shortage of them near the Washington J.

We were kept pretty busy during the day and evening in NYC and the only time we actually spent in the hotel was to sleep, but considering the price of most hotels in NYC, we think we got a good deal and we certainly got a good nights sleep each night - so we were happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had two rooms over four nights. We got in late and got the noisiest rooms on the 2nd floor. We complained straight away and the staff were very helpful. While we were out the next day they moved us to the third and fourth floors, round the back.

We spent very little time in the hotel, so this was ideal for us. We booked via hotwire and got what we paid for - $100/night is a rarity this close to Times Square.

The accommodation was comfortable, the shower was meager compared to other hotels we have stayed at, but it was enough to have a quick shower and be out in the streets of Manhattan.

There are plenty of deli's and diners as well as some reasonable restaurants.

The staff really made this hotel - a really friendly and conscientious bunch. Their remit is limited but they do stretch to the extremes to make sure they help in whatever way possible.

If you want a clean place to stay at a very reasonable cost and close to all the attractions, this place is it. If however you are looking to spend time in your room and want the bells and whistles like room service etc, then you need to put your hand in your pocket...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LothianArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing