We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Aware of the Hotel Residents; Great HK Location though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #270 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Be Aware of the Hotel Residents; Great HK Location though”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked this hotel over Christmas based on a sale price of $90 a night and the location.

THE GOOD
Location, Location, Location! I love staying in Hell's Kitchen and this hotel was just steps away from Atlas Social Club, Boxers, Stage 48, Industry, and Therapy.
The Room, even though it was small as advertised I found the room to be very clean and updated.
Free Wi-Fi that worked well most of the time however I did experience a few hiccups on my connection.
THE BAD
Residents, this is not just a hotel folks. There are actual residents that live in the hotel and their doors look different than the hotel guest doors (see picture). The residents were creepy in my opinion and apparently they share a bathroom so I saw one who was nearly naked as he entered the bathroom...strange encounter. Some of the residents leave their door open (see picture) and you can smell and hear noises from their rooms as you walk down the hall. Oh and did I mention the resident who was looking in my bathroom window from his room.

All in all this wasn't a bad hotel at all but please be aware of the stranger than strange mixed living situation of this hotel that made the whole experience not so great. I am not sure I can honestly recommend this hotel to other travelers based on my experience with the "locals" at WJ Hotel. Also I noticed that the normal prices are much higher and I definitely wouldn't pay the normal rates to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    768
    306
    112
    74
See reviews for
268
647
287
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is a real gem for those travelers on a budget. The property has a secure feeling with ever present front desk personnel in sight of all comings and goings. The furnishings are up-to-date and gave a luxury feel without the usually high NYC price. The proximity to Times Square and other NYC hot spots for both business and tourism can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great locacaton and wonderful and helpful staff! Also clean and efficient. Rooms were tidy and kept clean during our stay. We were very close to all of our destinations in NYC. Staff helpful with our questions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Washington Jefferson Hotel is a great option for the value. The bathrooms exceed the size and quality of most in NYC and the bath amenities are nice. It would be nice if they provided coffee and softer mattresses. Also, since the building is old and well insulated, it is actually slightly hot in the rooms in the winter. Many people might be comfortable with the temperature, but my husband and prefer cool sleeping temperatures and had some issues getting the room to cool off without opening the window in snowy weather. The staff are very friendly. I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for value over luxury. It seems some of the sister properties, though slighly higher priced, offer a bit more of a luxury experience. Although the room was not cheap, it was priced lower than most 3.5 star hotels for the time we were there, so I would say the match up of quality and luxury were fair.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HotelSnobonaBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This December was my second stay @ the Washington Jefferson. The first time we had a king, petite suite. The room was small but roomy enough for a short stay. This time we rented a queen. The room was very, very small; however, this hotel is a clean and economical choice for NYC. It is conveniently located to Time Square and the Theater district. Everything is within walking distance. Additionally, the staff members are very helpful and friendly.





  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

So the good things, the location is excellent, really close to the theatres and time square and subway stations, based mid town, it's perfect for any part of the island.

Bad points, don't expect to be able to make a drink in your room and the room is TINY!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sigainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The location is perfect. Trendy district, many small restaurants nearby, theaters, etc. WiFi is free in the room, I had a Petite Room and it is really petite - it doesn't have even single clothes rack and to dry an umbrella I had to put it in the bathroom. I was alone and stayed there for three nights and survived, but it was not very comfortable. However the price for such location definitely is good. Service, cleanness were fine, no problem with that. So if you do not mind small room, use hotel room only for sleep, then I would recommend this hotel. If you are going to spend some time in the room, then probably is better to look for something else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_L_F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#363 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,970 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 468 in New York City
3,153 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 468 in New York City
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing