We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Jefferson Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Clean place to spent the night.
The room is basic, no mini bar, tiny desk no room for studies.no room service. No dining room. They do have a fitness room can be used to maintain your body, nothing more. The stuff members are very nice and Michael from guest services is extremely nice and helpfull. The location is apearently the best feature about this place. Close to to everywhere that matters . according NYC srandards LOCATION is all that matters

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Edanichou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    734
    296
    106
    71
See reviews for
249
628
274
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, the location can hardly be beat. If you are on your own, travel pretty light, and are in The City for theatre it's terrific. Rooms are small but clean. Mine had no closet but a wardrobe and two pieces of furniture with drawer space. If you travel with several suitcases you may not be happy here. Had a great bargain after getting an upgrade as a result of a reservation mixup. Staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheatreGeek53704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

location is super for moving around Manhattan if you want to be centrally located. This hotel has nice comfy beds, great restaurants in the area and is withing walking distance of just about everything!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tobi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taormina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I spent 8 nights at this hotel from the 16th to the 24 of December.

It is only a few minutes walk to Times Square and the Broadway musicals, and literally round the corner from the blue line 51st subway, and I got an excellent value for money offer: Eur98 per night including all taxes (you can get a refund for the taxes at the airport, I didn't have time to do that, but you may want to do so).

My room was very clean and tidy, the bathroom was brand new, with lovely lavender scented toiletries (new set every day) and plenty of fluffy towels.

I got a bit scared when I read the tripadvisor comments, so that I almost canceled my booking, but kept it because of the value for money, hoping they would be wrong.

I am happy to say that my experience was 100% positive:

_There were no residents in my corridor (my room number was 111)

_The bathroom was not too small, and the shower was not too small

_My room was not tiny, it was actually a good size

_They only charged my credit card once, not twice

_The hotel staff were professional, sweet and friendly

_The cleaners cleaned everything very well, every day

_My room had a cabinet for my clothes, an iron, and an iron board, a hairdrier

_I did not meet any bad people in this hotel, and I felt very safe

_The hotel asked me if I wanted somebody to turn the heating down,
but I prefered to open the windows when the heating was too high,
the window open and close easily, which is useful also to get some fresh air
in the room

I hope people are not put off by the negative comments as I was,because
it would be a shame to loose the opportunity to get a good price in such
a good location.

Good luck!

Room Tip: My room was very good, number 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aqueenonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Central to everything. This small hotel was very clean and convenient. Although some rooms are quite small, they are decorated beautifully, and even the compact bathrooms seem so elegant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We could not have asked for more. Without the upgrade we got, the first room we were given would have been good only if we had come in at night and gone to bed. The upgraded room was spacious and very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I booked through their website and got the "petite advance package" rate, which was $85 per night for two nights. Not cheap but certainly reasonable considering the location. Was also unexpectedly upgraded for free to a room meant for 2 people when I arrived :)

Location is definitely the biggest thing going for this hotel. It's just a couple of steps from a subway station and walking distance to major tourist spots like Central Park and Times Square.

Staff was very efficient and friendly. Check-in and check-out probably took less than 2 minutes each.

The room itself was pleasant... nothing remarkable about it.

Negatives (nothing major): Beds were kind of hard. Room would've been a tad on the small side for a couple or for larger guests. Wifi was very slow sometimes.

Overall, I would stay here again if I came to NYC in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing