We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #279 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very good for the value! The brochure advertises queen size beds. By any standard, they were not queen size. The room was clean and efficient, but the lighting is a little low. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hard to beat the location. We loved the area and the restaurants near the hotel were all excellent. The first night I thought the bed was too hard but the second night we were so tired we didn't notice and slept great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in the "petit room" and it was just perfect for a person traveling alone. It felt like a well-appointed guest room in a friend's lovely home. The location can't be beat for midtown NYC -- right in the theatre district and a quick walk to the park for a morning run. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. I will stay at the WJ again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location of WJ was phenomenal for the Broadway shows we planned to see. I expected the lobby to be more palatial for the price. Looking back, the hotel reminds me of where I stayed in Rome. All amenities were of very high quality, packed into just enough space to get the job done. Street noise was present, but that's part of the NYC experience. It's not a low-budget hotel, but you will like the accommodations and location if you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before. Always clean, modern, friendly staff, good location, parking garage across the street, prompt room service. Last time no problems. This time ac in room 378 was terribly loud. Didn't have time for maintenance to get in there because I had to rush out for my meetings and didn't trust anyone with my belongs alone. Hotel was sold out so no other rooms avail. So had to sleep in humidity with ac off, or deal with the noise and be cool. But overall I do enjoy this hotel


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kaiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Found the staff helpful. The room had two double beds both very comfortable. Safe, TV, iron & hairdryer as you'd expect, paying this sort of money. Would have liked a fridge in the room.
Shower was quite small, but did it's purpose.
Location was ok, about 10-15 min walk to Times Square. I would recommend this hotel.
But would probably stay in another hotel if passing through NYC, just for variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murfieslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed here several times for business. Some of the rooms are small, but they are clean and the staff is helpful. Nice hotel for the money. I don't have more to say but they are requiring me to write at least 200 words! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a larger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#270 of 471 in New York City
1,269 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#348 of 471 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#197 of 471 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 471 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 471 in New York City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £74 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing