We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #274 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Washington Jefferson is a clean, small, quiet hotel. Just what you need if you are gone all day in NYC and want a good rest at night. The prices are comparable to others in NY. The location is great to uptown, downtown, and midtown. Just a couple short blocks from Times Square.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
There are newer reviews for Washington Jefferson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I used this hotel as a day use utilization for a day in NYC in an airplane scale . In a small period of time I had 2 problems - the reservation was not found and the door card was not working after 4 hours that I checked in the the hotel . The room is not big , but compatible to other NYC hotels and the room was clean (acceptable , not perfect) . I would not repeat this experience but as I told I just spent one day and this was not enough to a good appraisal. The hotel is very well located , close to the subway station and in a walking distance of Central Park and Times Square.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EddieSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great Location between Central Park and Time Square. Near the subway.
Very attentive staff. The rooms are quiet and comfortable, though the space is small.the room has internet access. The rooms are very clean and very nice bathroom


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great price for NYC so I wasn't't expecting much. Very surprised to find a very comfortable bed, good shower, decent elevator, very friendly, helpful staff. I slept great and walked outside to shopping, theatre and public transportation. Would've been nice if the room were a bit bigger but at this price I'm certainly not complaining! There was even adequate storage space.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, after last minute preparations for a business trip meant hotels in that area were in the 270-290 USD price range. Found this gem for much less and was pleasantly surprised! Firstly, the location was just amazing, as it was just walking distance from lots of restaurants and just 9 blocks from 42nd Street!! Secondly the staff was great, especially front desk staff like Nady who had this contatgious laughter. I had been upgraded to the premium room on the 6th floor with 2 queen beds, however my business colleague suggested we stay on the same floor as him, so my room was changed. I was still given the option to go see both rooms to decide. The room on the 6th floor was road facing, but just beautiful, lovely upgrade!!! I finally chose room 104 which had a king sized bed, much quieter and very cozy. There was a jacuzzi tub, 2 sitting chairs, a desk, and basic amenities. Yes the Ac was noisy, and there were no coffee/tea facilities in the room, but for the location, clean room, nice staff and lovely bed it was all worth it in the end!! WJH will be my next choice of hotel for my next trip, both business and pleasure!!

Room Tip: If you wish to have a quiet room, ask for rooms not facing the road as the garbage trucks in NY run...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is my 3rd time to come to the Washington-Jefferson. It's a pleasant hotel where the staff is helpful. It's so conveniently located that I can walk from the Theater District! The rooms, though small, are comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and highly recommend the Washington Jefferson Hotel. Comfortable, clean, friendly, and in a good location. (It would be great if you could breakfast within the hotel though!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#263 of 468 in New York City
1,238 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,222 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#341 of 468 in New York City
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#205 of 468 in New York City
1,488 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#365 of 468 in New York City
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing