We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at WJ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #270 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
1 review
“My stay at WJ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay here for the few days i was in NYC. The staff was very helpful with requests and questions and i had. The only downside was the small size of the superior king room, small whirlpool jet tub, and lack of bathroom counter top space. But for the quality, price, and location of the hotel, it was a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    753
    302
    109
    74
See reviews for
259
641
281
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first stay at the Washington Jefferson Hotel and it was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Staying here for years on my business trips and look forward to the welcoming staff, great rates and convenient location. I always know i can depend on the helpful staff and the many great, affordable restaurants in the area. Maria Pia restaurant across the street is excellent and delivers to my room if i want to relax in my room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VermontMarvelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel's staff and management went beyond expectations to accommodate my need for higher bandwidth during one day when I had to work using a VPN and IP telephone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stéphane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our second stay at the WJ and the service was just as excellent as the first time! Very clean, great linens and good location!
Our only suggestion was a coffee machine in the lobby. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

good location, customer service was great, It would have been great to have a microwave. I appreciated the fridge that was provided. Defiantly will consider if I return to NY and will refer to anyone traveling to NY.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dahlia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjhotel, Director of Sales at Washington Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dahila,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the WJ on TripAdvisor.
We’re really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the WJ , thank you for sharing your experiences with us, we really appreciate it.

Please stay in touch with us via our website and Facebook for best rates and customer service experience. We hope to see you again soon, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The standard rooms are very small, one can hardly walk around the bed. We changed to a bigger room without problems! +60 $ / night!
Very friendly, clean room, good service. The japanese Restaurant is also very goo










































































































  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ute55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Midtown
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing