We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #147 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay here 20-23 May 2011. The room was very spacious, modern, clean and contained a comfortable king bed with couch, desk, fridge, microwave. Location is very central - one block away from the subway, close to the Broadway shows and a few blocks away from Times Square. The only sore point was the time share presentation we agreed to attend (West 57th Street by Hilton Club). They promised a no pressure, 90 minute presentation which it was not - there's pressure and its over 2 hours of your time. The Manager (George I believe was his name) at the end was insulting. Nevertheless, we were happy to get our free breakfast and take our $125 Amex Gift Card and get out of there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,739
    2,432
    478
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,093
2,364
354
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to NYC just before Christmas in 2010. I'm a little high-maintenance when it comes to cleanliness of hotels so I'm always a little nervous before staying at a new place. This hotel was EXTREMELY clean though and I felt relaxed about this right away! This might be my favorite hotel ever! Our room wasn't huge but who needs a huge room in NYC - we had enough room for everything and didn't feel cramped at all. Everything was great - the bed was comfortable, towels were comfy and bright white..loved it - can't wait to go back in a few months!
Oh, almost forgot - good location. We always walk and eat our way around the city and we were able to walk to Central Park, Chelsea, Soho, Little Italy, etc more than comfortably.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoleyoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Dear nicoleyoley,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us back in December. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable in the room. we understand the necessity of providing our guests a clean and comfy space to come back to after a long day out and about in New York City. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in every room and do their very best to make each room feel just like home for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. If there is anything that we can assist you with prior to your arrival, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly!

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cermele
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This is a great hotel. Their bar / restaurant is a nice setup. Love the double ground to ceiling double doors that can be opened give the bar that outside European feel. Very clean rooms and a great staff.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I would like to start of by saying that I usually stay at the Hampton Inn Times Square North which is a GREAT hotel, just up the block from the Garden Inn. However, the Hampton was booked so we tried this one, since I remember passing it several times during our stays in NYC. This hotel was very clean, the rooms were of adequate size (Hampton rooms are a bit larger) and the location is great, walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center. The attendants at the front desk were nice and courteous, however, the lady that was working the little gift/snack shop one night did have a bit of an attitude - not with me, but with another guest who was actually being very nice to her. Other than that my stay at the Garden Inn was a positve experience. If need be I would stay here again and I do recommend this hotel. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Paige76,

We would first like to say thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, and most of all for taking time to write a review about our property!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and the team and I would have to agree we are in a great location within walking distance of many theaters. However, we apologize for the fact that you witnessed poor service from the gift shop attendant to another guest. Your comments were discussed with the management team and we will provide additional service training to the staff. In the future please do not hesitate to contact the front desk; we will be glad to assist you and make sure that your experience with us is flawless.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Laura Maldonado
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed here based on reviews in TripAdvisor. Room was as advertiesed. The only drawback was there is a fire station a block away, but it didn't bother us one bit. Overall great value on a reasonably large room for NYC.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CINCYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel to celebrate a landmark birthday. The staff was wonderful, and delivered a birthday card to our room. We had a clean, comfortable king room with a microwave, small fridge and nice desk. The hotel has free wifi, an incredible bonus in NYC. The water temp in the shower varied on its own, so be careful of that.

This hotel is very convenient to several subway lines and is only two stops from Penn Station.

I picked this Hilton in part base on Tripadvisor reviews. I happily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResearcherMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Meant to write this review months ago..our first time in NYC and a long awaited one! We splashed out on a nice hotel, centrally located and it was worth every cent! Seconds from Times Square and Port authority. Never even had to use the Subway. Within walking distance of so many sights and tour buses and buses to outlet stores. the staff in the hotel were fantastic, the concierge gave great tips to us. We got a late check out with no fuss at all. right beside The Pride of Midtown fire station which was one of my personal highlights, gave me goosebumps. BTW, call in and they'll gladly let you get your photo taken with a hunky fireman!!
The coffee in the morning in the lobby was a lovely addition. Lovely clean rooms and perfectly spacious, to be honest, we were expecting a shoebox! Felt like we were in a really safe and secure location.
Fingers crossed we will be back to my favourite city and will stay in this hotel again. One of the best weeks of my life and my fave holiday EVER!!!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClioCooper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,313 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,980 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing