We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What a Great Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I are celebrating our 31st anniversary and were very lucky to have booked this incredible hotel. Not only did they spoil us with a top floor room and super skyline, but they sent Champagne and two days of a buffet breakfast too good to believe in a luxury setting. The entire staff is friendly and score a 10 on a scale of 5: I must mention Charles, Natalie, Naomi, Ennio and Tolbert who went out of the way to make our trip perfect. They have such a great sense of humor; where do they get such staff! Don't miss this dynamite hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from 8th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dslglfpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,713
    2,397
    474
    124
    83
See reviews for
2,071
2,341
347
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotish Highlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Having stayed at the Hilton Times Square on three previous occassions over the past two years, thought we would give the Hilton Garden Inn a try, due to the huge hike-up on prices at the previous property, and also because of the very positive posts on Trip Advisor, (although this property is by no means inexpensive, it was better priced). We were not disappointed! Rooms slighly smaller than previous property, but perfectly adequate, with 2 double beds, working desk, FREE WYFI, large TV, fridge, coffee/tea facilities and microwave.
The bathroom was fine with an excellent shower over the bathtub, and both the room and bathroom were kept spotlessly clean.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and I would certainly make this hotel my number 1 choice for a return visit.

Thanks to my Hilton Hhonors gold status, we were offered complimentary breakfast each morning in the Pigalle Restuarant, (which would appear to be run by a seperate operation from the hotel). There was always plenty to eat, but it could have been so much better if a few tomatoes and mushrooms were added to the buffet. The fruit selection was rather poor, constisiting of thee types of melon and pineapple chunks. Having said that, the orange juice and coffee were great, and there was a toatser for making your own toast. It would have been nice if we had been offered something else from the a la carte breakfast menu occasionally, as the buffet breakfast got a bit boring by the 11th day (our check-out).

All in all, we had a brilliant stay in a good location, (just round the corner form many of the theatres and restuarants) and felt perfectly safe during our whole trip. Well done to the entire team at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My 2 sisters stayed here for my birthday weekend. It is, like all Midtown decent hotels, expensive. We loved the location and easy access to the subway and to Broadway. No bedbugs! Service was 100% amazing! Kudos to Michael, our porter the night we arrived!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceBookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of November. Nothing special about this hotel, just average. Would rather have stayed at a trendier hotel near 5th Ave. However, if you love Starbucks they all basically surround the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Jared Miners met and exceeded our requests - room change, better pillows with a smile and an immediate attention. He personally helped us move our things across the hall to a " better view" room. He also provided us with breakfast vouchers for the very pleasant cafe attached to the hotel . His attentiveness as well as the friendliness of every staff member we met,gives this big city hotel a boutigue feeling. It was my wife's significant birthday and we hadn't been to NYC for 3 years. We shall eagerly return when we get the chance

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

although we were on the 9th floor we were sad to hear all the traffic - there is a Fire Departement on the previous block.
on top of that one night - at 3 am, the fire alarm went off, apparently something went wrong in the kitchen./ basement.
No staff came to check people got out of the building. The fire fighters didn't help either. The alarm went on for an hour.
No compensation, no sorry for the annoyance message, nothing ! We'd payed 220 € a night ! I know it's NY but still, I found that very bad service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMaldonado, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear 78N,

I would like to thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments give us an opportunity to improve and become the best hotel possible.

I am very disappointed to know that you experienced noise on the 9th floor, were your room was located. We have a great location right in the heart if New York City but unfortunately there is moments were you might be able to experience noise if you are not used to the city. Again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

In regards to the alarm noise you experienced, please let me explain how the alarm was handled and our alarm system. Once the general alarm sounded the FSD made additional announcements that the alarm was being investigated and for guests to stay in their rooms until further notice. The FDNY Battalion Chief had asked that we not evacuate the hotel.

The actual incident was contained in the garage 3rd cellar adjacent to the hotel. The alarms sounded at 2:56am; the Fire Department of New York (FDNY) arrived in less than 5 minutes and quickly extinguished the incident.

I want to reassure you that the hotel staff acted appropriately. That being said, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. If there is anything I can assist you with further please feel free to contact me and I will be glad to discuss in detail your experience.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Maldonado
laura.maldonado@hilton.com
212-581-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

In our opinion, the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a 5-star hotel property in every aspect from location to comfort to room size. What makes this hotel stand out, however, is the exceptional guest service from all staff from front desk personnel to housekeepers to bellmen to restaurant hostesses and waiters. Everyone seems to treat us as special guests to whom they are pledged to cater. While we don't demand or even expect special attention, we always feel as if we receive it. Although we have traveled to many countries and have stayed at many hotels, none can compare to the homey atmosphere we feel at this hotel. When we are in NYC, we plan extended, multi-night stays there because our room becomes our home. There may be more luxurious hotels in New York, but we cannot think of any reason to choose any other one. We strongly recommend booking the Bed and Breakfast package as the buffet breakfast at the Pigalle restaurant on the 1st floor of the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tclayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,464 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,181 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing