We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome Accomodations”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Ideally located in Times Square, great ameneties across the street. Check out Restaurant Row nearby. Staff are very accommodating and helpful, rooms are second to none.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyandPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,820
    2,511
    500
    132
    90
See reviews for
2,175
2,424
360
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have stayed twice at the HGI Times Square both with my daughter for some shopping and business. Both visits to this Hotel have been great. We have enjoyed staying at the HGI and the staff has made us well very welcome. They even remembered us from last years stay. Great location, close to everything. The proximity to "restaurant row" made dining options a hard decision.I will definitely stay with this HGI again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenLRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared M, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear AllenLRDU,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. Every bit of feedback is greatly valued.

I am so glad to know our hotel exceeded your overall expectations for a second time! Our entire staff goes above and beyond each day to do so.

As for our location, it really can’t be beat. Like you mentioned, we are conveniently located within steps of "restaurant row" which boasts some of the best dining options in the city!

We very much look forward to your return. If you have any questions or comments pertaining to your next stay please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Jared Miners
Guest Experience Manager
jared.miners@hilton.com
(212) 581-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Very nice Hilton Garden in on 8th avenue in NYC close to theatres, dining, park etc...

THe hotel is very clean and quiet. Neat roof top bar. The room was quiet even though it faced 8th avenue. Bathroom very clean - in room coffee maker and refrigerator.

If you are staying in NYC for a show, this hotel is prime location - you can walk to just about any theatre. Multiple dining venues as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here for business travel in May 2011. The room was fine. Clean enough and comfortable enough. However, what made a fine experience disappointing was the service from certain staff at this hotel. The front desk was competent and friendly as was the cleaning staff. What really upset me was the pseudo security guy that makes you present your key every time you come in and out. I'm fine with having to present my key, but they don't need to be so aggressive about it.

I finally got over the rude key demands by the end of my stay but then... I had all my bags with me and was trying to get a taxi to the train. I asked the doorman to help me with a taxi and he rudely informed me it was not his job. I thought that was a basic service of hotel door people? The door was automatic, all he does is stand there. Maybe I'm expecting too much, but I don't need the attitude from the staff here.

My coworkers and I travel often for work and I always advise people not to stay here when we have business in the Times Square area. Too many other options...

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KateDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared M, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Dear KateDonovan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay with us in May of 2011. We value each and every guest’s opinion.

It disappoints me to hear that some of our staff did not deliver proper guest service. As a hotel our goal is to go above and beyond for every guest so that they are happy with their experience. Your experience will be brought to the to the attention of our entire management team to ensure these type of issue do not arise in the future.

I would love to further discuss your stay with us to gain more details and insight into your experience. Please feel free to email or call me at the email address or telephone number listed below.

I do hope that in the near future you choose our hotel again. We would love another chance to deliver a perfect experience! I look forward to speaking with you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Jared Miners
Guest Experience Manager
jared.miners@hilton.com
(212) 581-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Cant' say anything bad about this hotel. It was just a couple of minutes from Time Square. Price per night was slightly less than hotels in the area, and a lot less than Times Square. Rooms are a nice size, and not too small. We spent 6 nights here, and had no complaints. Be aware that while it does have free high-speed internet, it's only the lobby. This is the normal for NYC it appears.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreed012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We made a last minute family decision to visit NYC over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend and wanted to ensure we could find a hotel that could accomodate a family of 4. Most of the hotels seem to have 2 doubles, which make it difficult when you have 4 grown people. This hotel is one of the few that had 2 queens in the room and was in VERY close walking distance to Time Square. In addition, it was one of the best priced hotels...and you get the Hilton service that you would expect...from friendly front desk staff to a very accomodating concierge. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I've been staying here regularly for a number of years - for about 4 days every fall and another week in the spring. The location's good if you don't mind the level of activity being near Times Square. The front desk people here have always been professional and are among the more competent ones I've encountered. Rooms are "regular" sized (as opposed to many in NYC where you can stand on the bed and touch all four walls). It's relatively new, clean. Also, the HHonors breakfast at the attached restaurant is a pretty good one, too. Only negatives are no pool or self-service guest laundry (even though Hilton Garden Inns claim to have this at "every" location). Also, the workout facilities are limited. Never could figure out the "16th floor" thing they're advertising in the elevators... it's apparently a rooftop bar, but you can't get there from inside the hotel. I finally figured you need to go outside and around the corner to a separate entrance... which was locked. So I'm guessing that business up there isn't booming. Lately, their rates have been increasing - so much so that the discount rates over at the Hilton Times Square were actually lower (and the Doubletree T.S. was similar) when I was there this fall. As long as they don't raise their rates too much, this is still a nice value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty soundproof, but 8th Avenue can be noisy if you're in a lower room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,325 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,764 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#189 of 467 in New York City
9,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,968 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing