We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location in the greatest city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing location in the greatest city”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary. The service and hospitality at this hotel was comparable to our 5 diamond honeymoon. Upon walking into our room we there were rose pedals on the bed, champagne, and a nice card from the staff. My wife loved it!!

Jenn Reyes who helped me through the booking process was absolutely amazing. They really know how to take care of their guests.

The only thing I would change was the cold weather!! :)

Thanks Hilton Garden Inn!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,739
    2,430
    478
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,091
2,364
354
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was a great hotel. I crack UP at some of these negative reviews because they are all such petty gripes. The location was great, the staff was friendly and, as for me, and I know this is a personal preference---I LOVE the subway and yes, I could hear it every once in a while on the 5th floor, but I thought it was soothing and really made me appreciate NYC. It's NEW YORK, people, it's loud and it's great. Thank you, HGI, for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The customer experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is second to none. From the moment I walked in the front door, I was welcomed with a smile. The bellmen were exceptional. "It's very windy outside this morning, may I get you a cab so you don't have to walk?" It's those little touches that really set this place apart. Jared, whom I believe is one of the "Guest Experience" Managers, was awesome. I especially appreciated the pre-arrival survey they sent me via email; so considerate!

So, why didn't I give this hotel 5 stars? The walls are thin. Very thin. I could hear everything going on in the adjacent room (and I mean everything). Unfortunately, there's not much the staff can do about that. Turning on the a/c and some white noise seemed to do the trick for me. The bed was so incredibly comfortable, there was no way I was going to change rooms! For a hotel room in NYC, the rooms are surprisingly spacious. As far as cleanliness, I couldn't find a speck of dirt anywhere.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinainvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear tinainvirginia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square! Our entire staff is committed to providing great customer service! I am so happy to know that we succeeded. I will be sure to pass your amazing praises onto Jared and the bell staff.

I would like to apologize for the noise issues during your stay. We try and accommodate all of our guests in rooms that fit their preferences. Please contact us prior to your next visit so that we are able to place you in a room with less noise than your previous room.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cermele
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here from 4-9 January and absolutely loved both New York City and this hotel! The location is unbeatable, right near Times square and within walking distance to many attractions. Despite being so close to the action we didn't find it too noisy at night so still got some sleep!

The rooms are lovely and kept clean, someone came in each day we were there to clean the room. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

It was our first time in New York and we will definiitely be back again, I am sure there are many great hotels in the city but we won't be staying in any of them! Once you have found something that ticks all the boxes why go anywhere else??

I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to the action but still wants a nice hotel experience at an affordable price. The hotel is rated as a 3 star but I would say it should be at least a 4.

Once again - fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel so it was quiter than staying at the front I should think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My kids enjoy staying in Times Square when we go to NYC. This place was friendly (yes!! can you believe it???--from the inquiring phone call to the front desk, to the bell men), clean, convenient and affordable!!

I am definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Simply put, this hotel is awsome. Staff, location, rooms. Broadway shows within feet of your door. Great little diner a couple blocks south. If you're looking for a clean, safe hotel...this place is great. Our room actually had a view!

Room Tip: Our room was southeast, with a view of 48th
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have to begin by confessing that my wife and I like Hilton Garden Inns. We both travel for work and have stayed in many HGIs. The Times Square hotel measures up very well. First, the rooms are large by New York standards, and they have the customary HGI beds that we find the most comfortable of any hotel chain. Breakfast is very good at an adjoining restaurant, and I cannot forget to mention Larry, the concierge. Always cheerful and helpful. Every review of this hotel mentions the location, and I can only agree. Service, price, friendliness, location will bring us back next time we are in New York.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the hall (e.g., 301 or 302) will provide an extra measure of quiet and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear GregChapelHill,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. We are so excited to know that you and your wife really enjoyed your time with us and we love that you love Hilton Garden Inns!

We want our guests to feel right at home when they stay with us. Our rooms are a great size by New York City standards; all of them are about 300 square feet. I am so happy to hear that you both had a great night's rest in our Garden Sleep System beds and enjoyed a hot breakfast at Pigalle's.

I hope that we are now your favorite of all Hilton Garden Inns! Please feel free to call us directly whenever you find yourselves coming to New York City! We would love to have you.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cermele
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,312 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,975 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing