We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Relieved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #144 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel in mid August. I was a little nervous about staying here after reading previous rewiews about subway noise and the firehouse next door. If I was not for listening for the subway it probably would have went unnoticed, it was nothing that was annoying by any means. Our room had a view of 8th Ave and did not hear fire trucks or much street noise at all.
We did have a queen room which apparently did not have the sleep system beds as the king room do but were okay. Room was clean and came with fridge and microwave. Air conditioner worked great and could see a filter that looked like it was just changed recently, very clean looking.
Did have a roll in shower that was a little wierd, water flows all over the bathroom floor. Plus no lights in shower area so it was dark.
Complimentary coffee in lobby in the morning. Felt welcomed apon arrival but was not an overkill during stay which I like.
Would stay again if rates were good, sometimes rates seem a little high for this hotel.

Room Tip: Go with a king room for the better bed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cookieburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,183)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,121 - 4,127 of 7,183 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was like a honeymoon for me and my wife. The crazy thing is, we just sent our last of 4 to college. My wife has never gone to NYC before, so I wanted this trip to be special, and staying at this hotel helped make it that way. The rooms were clean, check in-out was great, the employees were the BEST. Charles and Ronald were wonderful in the lobby. They made us feel at home everyday. They went above and beyond to make our stay a great one. Thank you, also, to Larry. Larry gave us insite and directions for each day's activities. Without Larry, we would have waisted precious time. He is the BEST! The location is great, hotel is great, people are great...please everyone, trust me this place will not let you down! Can't wait to go back! Jim and Belinda from Florida

Room Tip: Just stay as high as possible because the NYC lights are amazing, but you will probably be out and a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn and were so impressed. The customer service was excellent and you can not beat the location. Right in the middle of everything. We grabbed the subway which is so clse and went to the Southport/Wall Street area and worked our way back. Plus, we have been to the Times Square area many times and this is perfect. Close to the action and not near the noise. We ate at the adjoining restaurant, Pigella; it had great food for very reasonable prices. Much better than our meal that cost double on restaurant Row. The room was very comfortable and the bedding just like home, except for the pillows, but we have very expensive pillow at home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happilyretirednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel in late Aug 2012. The location is great, 2 blocks off Times Square and perfect for the theater district. The staff were friendly and helpful. Did not eat at the restaurant on site, but there is a small grocery store and deli directly across the street which is convenient for grabbing a bite. Plus the room has a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel is clean and in good condition, no complaints. The nearest major subway station is several blocks away, requiring a bit of a walk but no problem. Central park is a few blocks away, easily walkable. Good value for Manhattan, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cateyesinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The service at this hotel is outstanding. The staff really understands what customer satisfaction is. The location is very convenient, close to many attractions with easy transportation access. And last but not least, after a busy day, nothing better than an excellent and super confortable bed to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Excellent service, great location, nice accommodations. Personal touches make this a 5-star recommendation! My wife celebrated her birthday during our stay here, and the hotel's customer experience manager arranged for a special treat for her on her birthday. Since a nice touch!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear BruceS

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. It is great to know that our team was able to exceed your expectations and provide great hospitality to you and your wife.

I am glad to know that your wife enjoyed her birthday treats! We work together to provide memorable experiences at the property. I hope you were able to take great pictures and may this have been a memorable birthday for her.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Estela Lopez | Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

L9cated in the heart of the tbeatre/restaurant district, the hotel was clean and the staff was quite helpful. When I asked for beverage condiments, they arrived within moments. When I asked about local churches, they promptly made me a list and provided me wth directions. I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the locations were quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houser2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,067 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 468 in New York City
6,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#163 of 468 in New York City
5,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £128 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing